Do you have 5 minutes for the Moon?

Posted on November 20, 2007. Filed under: Science, Spirituality, Travel |

I experienced a “moonlight collector” a few months ago, and I still don’t know what to make of it. So, I thought I’d put the details here to see if you might offer some insight. Some friends invited me to visit this array. I live a couple of hours away from the site, and it’s become something of a local phenomenon, so I thought I’d get my moonbath in before the world came to their door. I’ve met the founders of Interstellar Light Applications, and I know some of the people involved. For the most part, these are reasonable business people and scientists, seeing an opportunity to do some research. My experience was much like that portrayed in this 5 minute video report by a local news station. In the video, I particularly enjoy the fellow at the end who “wants to sing”. He wasn’t there the night I was.

Moonlight Collector

To get to the interstellar array one must drive down a long country road, and make a few unexpected turns. The instrument is in an out-of-the way location, way out in the desert, to minimize distractions from city lights. It would be VERY dark out there if the moon wasn’t full. The moonbathing takes place during the 3 or 4 days when the moon is most full, and sometimes weather interferes with a clear moon view, so the days open to the public are limited. My little group each took numbers, and waited in a long line sitting on bales of hay. The hosts gave us bottled water, and lots of encouragement. Only two, or at most three people can go into the moon chamber at a time, and we’re each given two minutes once we’re in. The array is adjusted every few minutes to follow the path of the full moon, in order to give the experiencer as much light as possible:

…The ILA collector is a parabolic non-imaging optical collector composed of 8 mirrored collection panels. At 52 feet high, 60 feet across and weighing 25 tons, this breathtaking device is colossal, yet has the maneuvering capability and precision of a Swiss watch.

I didn’t think of this at the time, but I remember watching re-runs of The Addams Family. Some of the episodes included scenes of the family out “moonbathing” in the evening. I used to love these scenes, with everyone wearing their moon suits, and the adults warning the children against moonburn. I always wanted (well, just a little) to be an Addams, so this adventure proves I have something in common with them. But I digress.

The thing about the moonlight collector is that I probably wouldn’t get a moonburn, given our understanding of moonlight. But…do we really understand moonlight?

Light cast by the moon is 500,000 times less bright than the sun. This light, reflected from the sun, presents a distinctive spectrum composed of more reds and yellows, and possesses a different frequency than sunlight. This specific light spectrum has never been artificially duplicated.

So, as the video explains, scientists have not done a lot about collecting and analysing this kind of light. There has been much research done with sunlight, solar collectors, and solar energy. Moonlight, however, has been considered the “little sister” of the sun, in spite of its place in mythology, science, and religion. An article in Popular Science discusses some of the research.

Here’s what happened to me: My turn came. I walked inside a small metal trailer which had been adapted so that its entire side was open to the air. We were told to take off as much of our clothing as we felt comfortable with, in order to expose as much skin as possible. I was there during one of the few really cool months we have in the desert, and though chilly, I did strip down to a t-shirt. I had brought some stones with me, and took them out of my pocket to hold them in the light. I stood there. I waited. It was very bright and somewhat eerie. I felt a mild tingling sensation, but I’m not sure if that was due to “suggestion”. It was a bit hypnotic–after all, who of us has not gazed at the moon from time to time, and wondered at its beauty? This was sort of a combination of moongazing and being on a spaceship. Or what I imagine being on a spaceship would be like.

The Moon

My two minutes were over quickly, and as quickly, I put my sweater back on. Brrrr. I felt pleasantly peaceful, but not dramatically changed or healed. I hadn’t picked a particular physical condition to concentrate upon while in the chamber, but some of those I was with said they’d had muscle aches before they went in, and no longer had them.

Since then, I have shrugged my shoulders, waited, and wondered.

Look how the pale Queen of the silent night
doth cause the ocean to attend upon her,
and he, as long as she is in sight,
with his full tide is ready hee to honor
– Charles Best, 1608

Another local 5-minute video* * *ILA’s website

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “Do you have 5 minutes for the Moon?”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

[…] can read the full story here Der Beitrag wurde am Tuesday, den 20. November 2007 um 01:22 Uhr veröffentlicht und wurde […]

Sounds like quite an experience, Muse! I watched the video and I’m not sure what to make of it myself… I hadn’t heard of a moonbeam collector before but it looks very stimulating, for both mind and spirit. There’s almost some ancient symmetry as well, stripping off one’s clothing and bathing in moonlight… reminded me of some of the rites of passage in pagan times.

I’m usually a little skeptical, but I like how this studies the medical and spiritual benefits… we know so little about the way our bodies react under moonlight, particularly as we’re now such a diurnal society. What it actually reminded me of was when we had the blood moon eclipse a couple of months ago. I was lucky enough to see it without a lot of artificial obstruction (for once!) and it was spectacular; you could really see the whole sphere of the moon, and it was very peaceful.

Just makes you think that there’s a whole other world out there that most of us rarely see because of our daytime routines. I’ll have to pay more attention when I’m up late. ;)

I’d like to try this sometime although I might go into overload. I have a couple places around where I live that I sometimes go to around the full moon and just lay out and gaze at it, and it has always been very calming, and almost hypnotizing to me. I think I need one of these in my yard (the neighbors already think I’m nuts when I go out and greet the sunrise with my rattle). It gives them something to talk about at least.

CJ, thank you so much for your reasoned, thoughtful and balanced comment. We humanoids have indeed been feeling the effects of the moon as long as we’ve been aware of it. Interesting that you made a connection with pagan rituals. I hadn’t consciously thought of that, even though I was a bit of a pagan in my wayward youth ;)

Beautiful pic you included with the blood red moon sitting in one of the “V’s” of that amazing opera house. Thank you. And you saw that eclipse with your very own eyes? In my hometown, San Francisco, they had people called “sidewalk astronomers” who were astronomers who wanted to bring their telescopes and expertise to the public. They’d hang around the Embarcadero (the foot of the financial district) and give little talks and answer questions and let people look through their scopes. I saw an eclipse for the first time with their assistance.

I’m very interested to see what kind of research these moonlight collector folks do. I’ll be watching. Or gazing.

Richard, I think you should get your very own lunar collector right away! The founders may give you schematics if you ask nicely. It takes only several million dollars to put one together. I’ve always been a bit of a “creature of the night”. I like being out at night, and on full moon nights the moon shines directly into my bedroom through a well-placed high window. I’m tempted to howl, and sometimes do–usually just when on a retreat though.
If you ever want to come on over to Arizona and experience the array, let me know, and I’ll meet you. Peace & moonlight.

[…] reported on our local Moonlight Collector most of a year ago. I had quite a time there, and was just getting ready to visit it again when I […]

[…] granted, I’m a bit of a Space Nut, as you’ll know if you read this post about how I collected moonlight on my body (shameless attempt to drive traffic to a prior post; I really did that, though). I like science in […]

This is so cool! Thanks for linking back to this post. What a wonderful idea to amplify moonlight.

You are very welcome, David. It was a strange and rewarding experience. I haven’t heard much about them lately, but it looks like the research and media coverage continues.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers