The saga of a Pillow

Posted on January 6, 2009. Filed under: Health, Musings, Travel |

untitled Alright, I know this isn’t the most profound topic to write about, but, currently, my PILLOW is permeating every aspect of my life! If that sounds a bit dramatic, well, just listen to (or read) my story!

A few weeks ago, some friends returned home from a short trip. Along the way they stayed at a very nice hotel, whose name would be known to you. This couple expressed the opinion that they had just slept upon the most comfortable pillows they had every experienced in their lives! One of them liked the hotel pillows just a bit better than the other, but both were very enthusiastic.

I don’t know if you are like me, but my search for the perfect bed pillow has taken me to the ends of the earth a lot of stores. I’ve tried feather pillows, down pillows, foam pillows, and visco-elastic pillows. I’ve slept on plump pillows, firm pillows, soft pillows and pillows which are supposed to melt around my head!

I’ve never found that elusive item: The Perfect Pillow. There was always something which caused a sore neck, or a numb shoulder, or something.

So, when these good friends of mine, known for their taste as well as for valuing a high level of comfort, recited their pillow talk to me, I began to hope that perhaps, at last…

The friends had gone so far as to ask at the front desk of the hotel where they stayed. The desk clerk whipped out a card with a web address upon it. “You must get a lot of inquiries about your pillows!” they said. “We do, we do!” she enthusiastically replied.

My traveling friends graciously shared the web address with me. It led to a company which supplies pillows and bed linens to the finest hotels around the world. The particular pillow at the particular hotel was highlighted, but I didn’t just jump in and order. I looked at every kind of pillow they offered. I read the descriptions. I viewed the “customer feedback”. I determined, with some trepidation, that these were obviously quality products, still at a reasonable price.

I took a deep breath. I ordered two. They arrived on January 2nd. “New year, new pillows!” I exclaimed.

I surely hope the pillows are not representative of my entire year. Here is what I experienced:

Night #1: The order must be wrong! This pillow can’t possibly be the object of laud and praise my delusional dear friends had mentioned. “Shall I compare thee (you pillow, you) to a summer day?” I can, and here’s how: Had I gathered oak leaves and stuffed them into a pillow case I believe I’d have had a more comfortable rest than this. I was tired. I was cranky. (You don’t want to know me when I’m cranky; trust me on this.) Where was the support? What happened to the object which promised to “cradle me in comfort”? I wanted to be cradled in comfort, dangit!

Night #2: Human vs. Pillow. I’m not going to let this thing get the best of me. Plump; plump; plump. Fluff; fluff; fluff. Punch; punch; punch. Lay down; put head on pillow and wiggle until it feels just right. It felt, actually, kind of OK. Fell into a blissful sleep. Awoke feeling foolish…and puzzled.

Night #3: OK, I know how to handle this so-called PILLOW now. Plump; fluff; etc. Scrunch; wiggle; settle in. I’m not asleep yet! I’m probably thinking about work; I have a big project at the moment. I have to do laundry tomorrow. And vacuum the carpet. What about my poor, neglected blog? “See, I have a lot on my mind.” The next morning I described my flattened-out so-called PILLOW (it has a 5-year warranty, by the way) as feeling like several paper grocery sacks placed gently inside a pillow case. Ow. Uh-oh, cranky again! …I thought I kinda liked the pillow the night before. Am I going nuts? {Note to blog readers: please don’t answer that question. Or, if you do, don’t post your answer here. thankyouverymuch.}

Night #4: I’m really tired. I could probably fall asleep on a rock! In the morning: The pillow was just OK. I’m sort of starting to get over my emotional reaction to this whole pillow thing (except for being cranky, for which I reserve the right). I spent $XX.XX on these…PILLOWS; they MAY be “just OK” once I get used to them, but they do NOT cradle me in comfort, dangit! I’m sending them back.

pillow-wig

I finally worked up the nerve to consult the friends who’d recommended the burlap sacks wrapped around old socks pillows. Friendships, you know, are precarious things, and some have faded for less important reasons than pillow incompatibility.

Wife of couple: “I’m sure we got the wrong ones! These aren’t ANYTHING like what we experienced in the hotel!!!” Husband of couple: “The pillow is OK, I guess. I don’t really remember…”

I refrained from asking them how much they’d drunk at dinner the night they stayed at the hoity-toity hotel.

Tonight, I shall lay upon my good-old squishy foam pillow. It’s not ideal, but maybe the next one…

Goodnight from my cranky, sore-necky self. :D

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “The saga of a Pillow”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

oh yes! I can relate. The number of pillows I have tried! The perfect one is still elusive! I have been recommended by my 4 year old not to use pillows :)

{Note to blog readers: please don’t answer that question. Or, if you do, don’t post your answer here. thankyouverymuch.}

lol!!! :D

lol, all over a pillow. as for me, haven’t found a good pillow too, but i suspect it’s more of the way i angle myself when i sleep! i often have a numb head which i don’t think is a good thing… i like fluffy, squashy pillows and prefer them surrounding me from the sides too. do you use a bolster?

and i have a smelly pillow which i like to touch! as a child i have one and the habit stuck ever since, like a security blanket. but it’s not really smelly. not to me at least. :D

Pillow troubles– I finally have a decent pillow. I take it wherever I am going to sleep because I can’t sleep without it. I like to scrunch a pillow, actually fold it so it can’t be one of those foam things. I have to have it perfectly situated to sleep. I also sleep with a body pillow which now I can’t sleep without. Funny post–not that I want to laugh at your pillow woes but it was funny. ;-)

Oh.. hows your sore neck now? I have one myself, from bad pillows and lack of sleep. Sigh! Good luck on the next pillow hunting journey—mine is due as well :)

What a disappointment! Realistically no pillows could have lived up to that kind of hype, although I’m sure that’s no consolation.

I’ve never known a pillow to be all that comfy, although some were definitely better than others, and any pillow is better than no pillows! I usually prefer to have 2 pillows. It feels easier on the neck.

But do not give up hope! The perfect pillow may be out there, and if you keep searching you may find it! :)

Ah, the proverbial search for the perfect pillow…

I actually use two pillows. Pillow #1 lies flat and a little above pillow #2. That way I can sort of angle pillow #2 against pillow #1. I’ve had both pillows for at least ten years. I refuse to give them up and I bring them with me whenever we travel away from home, too. I just have to have MY pillows!

Good luck on your perfect pillow search, Muse!

Tee-hee, Apar! I’m glad I’m not the only one! So, your son wants you to sleep with no pillow? Just flat on the bed? I don’t think I could do that. If I ever meet him, I’ll have to be sure not to discuss my sleeping habits! :D

I know, I know, sulz, all this about a pillow! But, you know, we spend one third of our lives in bed! We ought to have a good time while we’re there, one way or another, don’t you think? ;) I remember your smelly pillow. I don’t believe you mean smelly as in “malodorous” but more a comforting smell? You remind me of my aunt, from Germany. She once gave me scented bubble bath. She said it would make me “stink good”. :)

Joan, you have my permission to laugh at me all you like. Even though I’m grumpy about it, I do find humor in the situation. It does sound like a foam pillow would not do for you. I’m quite pleased you’ve found one that works for you–you give me hope!

OK, let’s compare notes, then Kiran. My neck is better now, I’ve spent two nights back on my OLD pillow. I still need a new one though, so thanks for wishing me luck!

Oh, whew! At first your comment made me sad, B0bby, as you said that no pillow could live up to the hype. You’re probably right, but I want to believe in a perfect world with perfect pillows in it! ;) But then, you have told me the tale of your two pillows, and have, in fact expressed hope for my quest! Thank you! :razz:

Wow, ten years, tee?!? That’s a LONG time for a pillow. Or two. But, if you’ve found the perfect combination in a perfect configuration, I can easily see why you wouldn’t want to give that up. And you’re another who brings her pillows with her. I’ve never done that, but I haven’t found one I liked well enough. I had the BEST blanket when I was a child (somewhat like Linus’s from Peanuts) but it finally disintegrated or I might still have it today! Thanks for the wishes! :)

A great pillow is just as elusive as thin thighs. I’m starting to think neither can be bought at any price.

rotfl, ellaella! (not even lipo? :P )

Hotel pillows to me, are too stuffed, or at least the ones that I’ve slept on have been. Right now I have a Ralph Lauren pillow, and to me it’s perfect. Prior to it, I spent the majority of my life w/ a feather pillow and loved it. I can’t remember the reason for changing to the Ralph Lauren now though, but as long as I’m sleepy, I’m out. I’ve never tried a foam pillow though, but I think they’re made for those that sleep on their sides?

Finding a nice pillow is important though; nothing like having a sore neck throughout the day, ugh!

Best of luck Muse :)

{Snicker} ella, you are too much! You’ve got me imagining a device that you sleep on at night, and that turns into a thigh-exerciser in the morning. I don’t think we want to go there… :D

sulz: ditto. eek, lipo. :eek: I guess there is a price to pay for that, for sure. One must be highly motivated. :razz:

Ralph Lauren, Shane? Yes, I’ve seen them. Wonder what he puts in there that other people don’t? I’m kind of a “combo-sleeper”, I think. I start off on my back, then after a while scrunch up on my side. I’m currently looking at “down alternative spiral-spun fiber” pillows. Can you believe how complicated this is? Thanks for the wishes! :D

OK. I have had the EXACT same experience.
Therefore, when I returned to the hotel where I had experience this luxury pillow, I unraveled the pillowcase, and thus the mystery of the pillow. Here’s what they do.
The pillowcase is actually about 3 inches narrower than a regular pillowcase. Therefore, in order to insert the pillow into the case, the pillow has to have one third of it rolled over. This creates at once a soft, but fluffy pillow. What I am looking for is a source for these narrower pillowcases. Any ideas???

Wow, this pillow story has legs! :) Thanks for coming by, Marci, and adding to the information. So, it would seem the websites selling hotel pillows ought also to sell the pillowcases, and give us the method for stuffing them! In my continuing quest, the best I’ve found so far is this one. But, no, I don’t know a source for the narrower cases. Perhaps the easiest thing would be to just sew a seam in standard ones? Good luck to you in your search.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers