I don’t care!

Posted on February 10, 2009. Filed under: Health, HowTo, Musings, Philosophy |

I’m in one of those moods. It’s mostly because I’ve been horrendously busy, so haven’t blogged as much as usual. This is to be expected from time to time. But why, I want to know, do I also start to not care about writing so much during these busy times? And…horrifyingly…I don’t care as much about what YOU are saying, either! (Please, please, please, know this is just temporary!!! I cherish you, really!) I think busyness brings stress—most of us would agree—and I ALSO think that stress changes our brain chemistry! Perhaps “non-survival” behaviors (I guess blogging would fall into that category) take a backseat to the necessities at hand. Or at least the perceived necessities. I find this cumbersome, because I know myself, and I know I really do like to write and blog here. But there are times when I catch myself saying “I just…don’t CARE.”

song chart memes
more charts

I just had to include this from our friends at GraphJam. I laughed out loud in the spirit of total identification. These are exactly my reactions, in pretty much the same proportions shown here. In fact, I have a game of Solitaire up now! :) And three other tabs—busted! :D The graph found its way into this post, though, because it’s also (at least some of the time) a metaphor for life, dontchathink?

When my “connection” is being slow (read: connection with the Universe, or Source Energy, or the TOTD [“Term of the Day”]), I’ll sometimes “get offline” (“take a breather”); occasionally stop “loading” more activity and concern into an already over-stressed system; perhaps go “solitaire” (hibernate and avoid fellow humans for a while);  but more often might “open a new tab” because it seems, in those times, that I manage to find people and things who demand even more from me!

Well, blast! I know this is just a “thingy” I’m going through, because I’ve experienced that 80-94% of the time, I’m very grateful for my blog, for the opportunity to spew forth upon a variety of topics, and for YOU my reader and friend, who is the frosting on the blog-cake (hmmm, somehow the word “blog-cake” doesn’t sound as nice as I was imagining it, but I mean well, really). ;) The other few percents of the time make me wonder whassamattame? (as my uncle might have said). Evolution, if such it be, has given us some strange coping mechanisms. I do understand the need to focus intently when the body perceives that necessity. I understand the “fight or flight” response. It’s just that in modern society our bodies perceive things as “DANGER” when they may merely be distractions. I’ve read that many of us are under stress most of the time, and that our bodies weren’t designed to accommodate such a constant influx of stress hormones. So, what’s a body to do?

Take a deep breath, of course. Meditate, if that’s your fancy, or stretch, or go for a long walk. Do something both energizing and relaxing (there’s a paradox) that will change the focus from one of extreme engagement to gentle relaxation. I’ve been hugely busy, and only liking some of that. So, I shall go for my walk (it’s SNOWING here! It’s been eight years!). And I’ll return, and tell you all about it, and with good fortune, it will be something you and I will enjoy reading. Here’s wishing you a peaceful and joyful day!!! :)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

16 Responses to “I don’t care!”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

how does that graph read my internet browsing habits to a t??

i mostly don’t care when i’m angry. which is a mostly not so good form of stress. sometimes i don’t care when i’m too upset and tired too.

when you stop caring it’s not good – you start taking it for granted. as the wise joni mitchell sings, ‘you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone’.

and most of the time you end up regretting that you didn’t care because well, the truth is you do care!

ah, i don’t care if i sound so simple and not mature (as opposed to immature) in this comment now. :P

Hee hee. Thank you for that graph. :)

Uh oh….I never like those “i just don’t care moments” and I think you are right on the ball when you say being stressed leads to it. Like a self defense mechanism. I’m sorry you are in one of your moods, Muse and that you are so busy that it is becoming stressful. :(

Loving the graph! The few times I have had no internet, I find I enjoy it. At first I get upset, then go off and find something to do, and wonder why I don’t do other things more often. Internet comes back on and I am back in there right away. Sometimes I think the only thing that would get me off this darn computer is a forever long power failure! And though I would miss it I wonder if it wouldn’t be such a bad thing.

I am getting the ‘connection’ thing too. The spiritual part. We all need breathers and grounders. I wish I could meditate. If I could get my mind to shut off for more than a minute, ah…heaven! Whenever I try it, the silence only gets me thinking more. How do you do it? ommmmm ommmm ohhhmmmmm ohhhhmmmm did I leave the burner on? ommmmmmmmm what was that noise? hehehe….

It really is snowing? So much for global warming, huh? Is it kind of nice since you don’t often have it?

Hope you are feeling better after your walk. I even if you don’t care….((((hugs)))) ;)

Seems like just a case of Info Overload. I think I have the symptoms right now. lol

Oh…I can relate to the “I just don’t care” and the I do..I really do just not now thing!
Hope you are a bit de-stressed after the walk Muse :)
Love the graph…I don’t open extra tabs though. Just keep playing solitaire & hitting refresh or just go offline and keep playing solitaire, read an ebook…
Hope you are demands on time are eased up and we see your brilliant posts churned out often ;) :D

Muse, Muse, Muse…we are STILL on dial up, with an internet accelerator – and I STILL do the opening pages stuff – now why on this God’s earth would I do that?

I am nuts, that’s why. :P

Cool graph!

Hope you had a great walk Muse, and have been able to relax some. Very cool about the snow, hope you got more than we did last time it snowed here! ;)

Take it easy! :)

Ah, sulz, the people at GraphJam have spies everywhere! They know all your browsing habits! Muahahaha! :razz: You have a point about anger causing uncaring. I don’t get angry very much, but I do get anxious. I think that’s the one I was feeling when I wrote this; better now. :) I like what you said about taking it all for granted, and regrets about that. Perhaps it’s times like these that help us appreciate when we DO come out of them. I think your comments are VERY mature, actually! :D

You are welcome, Deirdra. :) Looks like you can relate, just a little. :D

Oh, you have those too, bead? :( Oh, yes, a self-defense mechanism. I hadn’t thought of that! Thanks! It’s better now. I’ll write what THAT was all about next time, when I have a little perspective. ;) I know, it’s so funny, isn’t it? I can be away from the computer for hours, hiking, traveling, even shopping (:!:), but the minute I get home I have to know if I’ve had any email or blog comments! :razz: Your description of your meditation cracked me up! I’m pretty much like that, too, in fact sometimes I’m laughing at myself DURING meditation. I find it helps to play soft music, or, if I’m really inundated with “mind-chatter” to count my breaths. Oh, the snow is so, so pretty. We usually get some frosting in the mountains that we can see, but it rarely sticks on the desert floor. It’s mostly gone now. Strictly a limited opportunity. Thanks for the hugs, and back to you {HUGS}. I’m lots better; things have calmed down.

That’s a great point, poch, about Info. Overload. With all the input from media we have these days…and then from those pesky PEOPLE as well! :D

Ah, Apar, I’m glad I’m not the only one! Not that I would wish this on you. I had a lovely walk! Snow and trees and birds. That is a fun graph, isn’t it? :) So it sounds like you are not quite as bad as some of us, if you don’t open lots of tabs. Thank you, I hope I can live up to your brilliant expectations. ;)

Will, Will, Will…I think we all ought to chip in for a satellite just for you! Although you’d have to make many more blog friends than the hundreds you already have for us to afford that! ;) If you are nuts, it’s in a good way. :)

Thank you, Shane. Yes, that graph spoke to me. I did have a nice walk. I’m not used to being cold around here—we whine a lot if the temperature dips below 72 F, let alone 40-something like it’s been, ;) but I bundled up and it was great! Appreciate the easy wishes. :)

For some reason, this computer doesn’t tend to respond well to multiple tabs. Open too many and the whole thing freezes!

Glad to hear you enjoyed your walk! I look forward to reading about it! I like walking. It’s a great way to spend time, and take a break from stress.

Seems like a lot of people are having snow lately! Glad you’re enjoying it! :)

Hello Muse,
Interestingly enough, I’ve also experienced the “IDCS” (I Don’t Care Syndrome) as of late. And, it’s probably not a coincidence that I have been very busy, too! I’ve stayed as far away as I could from my blog for the last week. Finally, tonight I was able to eke out a post. Part of the reason is because my brain pretty much felt like a block of wood. Not very condusive to writing! It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one.

By the way, I love Graph Jam. It’s a very entertaining website.

Hope you enjoyed your walk!

Really, B0bby? I’m sorry you are not able to experience the wonder of multiple tabs. I’ve had as many as 17 open at once, when I’ve been researching something! :eek: My Internet has been kinda slow, lately, though. I think I must upgrade my connection speed…again! Thank you so much for good walk wishes! I did, I did, enjoy it very much! The snow is all gone now :( but it’s still cold :( however, it makes me appreciate Spring, too! :) Yes, I understand you have been enjoying an unusual amount of snow yourself! :D

Ah, I commiserate with my fellow IDCS sufferer. Trust teeveebee to know the clinical term for it! :) And I also relate to the block of wood symptom; I’ve felt recently that if I wrote a blog post it would look like this: “I’m stressed; I’m stressed; I’m stressed”—not terribly interesting or informative. I am better now, though, and I am shortly to write about how nice my walk was, what I did to get out of the stress-cycle and why, and where I went to change the scenery! GraphJam is ubercool. :cool:

I am finally back to blogging. How about a “Banana Blog Cake”? That sounds a little better. I’ve been fortunate with my computer being fairly fast. I did nearly have a fit because when we moved because I didn’t have my computer for 4 days. OUCH! I used get the I don’t care syndrome a lot but I don’t seem to get it anymore. I know it was depression with me caused by stress. Music is a must for me. That always perks me up. I hope you get out of it quickly.

Welcome back, Joan! I know you’ve had a lot going on with moving and everything. Oooh, no computer for four whole days! That’s an eternity. ;) I’m glad you got past depression; that’s a challenging one. I can get a bit anxious and overwhelmed, but fortunately I know what to do! I agree, music is very healing. :)

Wow, I made a few grammatical errors in my last comment. Oh well, I will just say “Oh Well”. Sometimes you get it right and sometimes you don’t!!

Just teeeny little things, Joan! I think you were quite coherent, actually! :)


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers