Spirituality in a Nutshell

Posted on July 29, 2007. Filed under: Philosophy, Spirituality |

It would be wonderful indeed if a group of persons should arrive on earth who were for something and against nothing.”

“I do not believe there is single fact in human history, or a single manifestation in the universe, which is or could possibly be anything other than a manifestation of the One Divine Mind, the One Universal Presence, the One Infinite Spirit.”

“Find me someone whose song is really celestial, because it is the outburst of the cosmic urge to sing, and I shall hear the music of the spheres.”

The above are quotes from one of my favorite philosophers–way up on my top 10 list. (All from Sermon by the Sea by Ernest Holmes, 1959, (c) Science of Mind Publications). That’s it. That’s my spirituality in a nutshell.

I chose the title deliberately, as this sort of philosophy is often embraced by those the mainstream might consider “Nuts”. I’m pleased to be a Nut. Here are some definitions I found: [[but first…an aside: Upon my honor, although I was aware peripherally of these definitions while wandering along the road which is my life, I had not looked up the word “nut” before I chose my title or began my post!]]

Nut (n). An internally threaded fastener. A seed borne within a fruit having a hard shell. A device at the lower end of the bow for a stringed instrument, used for tightening the hairs. An Egyptian sky goddess, personifying the vault of heaven. A crazy or eccentric person.

Now, the fact that I can actually identify with all these definitions, at least metaphorically, surprises and delights me. I’ll write more about my thoughts on spiritual expression, but for now, I’ll just bask in my nuttiness. Blessed be.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Spirituality in a Nutshell”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

[…] out to end violence, and I applaud their efforts, I prefer to use a quote I first mentioned in my Spirituality in a Nutshell […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...