Singing DNA and the B-flat in space

Posted on September 3, 2007. Filed under: Music, Science |

If all matter is really vibration, and vibration is sound, then we are sound.  I received some additional information regarding two articles I posted recently:  Are we music?  and  Crickets Sing…As if.

I like it when I post something, and then people I know who don’t want to write about it send me stuff.  I get to take credit for posting the information, but others have done the work.  Thanks!

We may indeed be music.  A researcher and musician has derived a way to listen to the sound of our DNA.  Or at least what DNA would sound like if we could hear it.  This is speculative, because it attempts to translate one sort of information (light waves) to another (audible sound), but I find it a fascinating inquiry.

At the end of my “Crickets” post, I included a link to an article reporting the sound made by a black hole in space.  This sound was actually measurable.  Well, here is an article explaining how that sound was measured, and how sound travels through space.  If you are like me, you thought sound did not travel in the vacuum of space, right?

I like to update and add to the discussion.  Let me know what you think, too!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Singing DNA and the B-flat in space”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Delightful blog…….!
I’ll be back……
Om peace.

Namasté, yogini. I appreciate your lovely comments, and I look forward to visiting you, too.

Hmm, sound implies that there is air(or a gas), without air there can be no sound. To that extent vibration is not sound, but sound is an effect of vibration in air, perceived by our auditory system. The sound experience is just created by our brain if we really think about it. It’s just our perception of changes in air pressure. If we try to play tuba in space nothing is heard. 🙂

True, waves from any vibration can be transformed into air-waves (within some limits), and hence give us the perception of sound. But the matter->vibration->sound=”we are sound” isn’t really true in that direct sense.

Do you see where I’m coming from here?

[…] things occur, I received a thoughtful and thought-provoking comment from reader mrgnome on my post Singing DNA and the B-flat in Space.  By the time I’d answered his comment with one of my own, I had enough material for a whole […]

mrgnome, I do see where you are coming from. In fact, you have so provoked me (in a good way) that I wrote a whole new post about it! Please see my latest, “Can we hear Music in Space”. Thank you so much for this comment!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...