Attempting to analyze Happiness

Posted on September 12, 2007. Filed under: Musings, Philosophy, Science, Spirituality |

I just this minute returned from viewing the film Living Luminaries. It follows the quest of a young man wanting to discover if there are specific methods to create an ongoing acceptance of happiness. For me, the film was surreally beautiful. Similar to such recent films as The Secret, and What the bleep do we Know, as interviews with “experts” in spiritual and scientific fields were featured, it was also different in that we traveled from place to place with Sean, the protagonist. There was unsparing footage of both lovely and unsavory living conditions. There was a greater variety of “experts” than in the previously mentioned two films–some “famous” and some not. It left me in a moody and contemplative state…the movie moved me.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Attempting to analyze Happiness”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

I was fortunate enough to have worked on the collaboration, “LIVING LUMINARIES”, and feel quite satisfied that we all put our years of effort into a project that can trigger thought, reflection, insight, dialogue and hopefully the mindful state of happiness. I have watched the film countless times now and still find new pearls of wisdom offered in fresh ways, each time.

Reflector, thank you for finding my post. I was so affected by the intellectual honesty of the film, that I had to write a small piece about it before I went to sleep last night. Also, containing as it did, a most eclectic and unusual assortment of teachers, I’m still processing many gems of wisdom. I intend to explore some of these themes in a later post–when I’m awake! Shalom.

Hi there. Thanks so much for commenting on my blog. You’re my first comment. 🙂 So I thought I’d check out yours too. I watched the trailer for this movie you’re talking about. Sounds like it’s right up my alley. Is it in theaters? or on Dvd? Anyway, thanks again, and I look forward to reading more of your blogs. 🙂
Felipe

Hello Felipe, and thanks for dropping by. I’m honored to be your first guest. I regularly cruise the “music” “science” and “spirituality” tags on WordPress, since these are my interests, and found you there. As far as I know, this film has not gone mainstream yet. It’s part of ‘Spiritual Cinema Circle’ which distributes unusual films that are often hosted by groups in theatres, churches and community centres. Here is a link to a list of current screenings, and you can check out the movie’s website there too: http://ll.bravenewtheaters.com/film/groups/87 It is available on DVD. Happy blogging!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...