Update on “Intention”

Posted on October 24, 2007. Filed under: Spirituality |

I’ve attended two sessions of my book group now, and I’m starting to think I and others engage more in talking about reaching a level of satisfaction rather than just being satisfied. Our book is The Power of Intention by Wayne Dyer, and in my first post on this book, I talked about why I don’t understand Dr. Dyer’s use of the word “intention” to mean a ‘creative force’ or ‘connection with the divine’. I think the book has some great suggestions and techniques, but I’m beginning to understand that whenever I read a book like this, that the techniques belong to the author, and are what he’s found works best for him.

In books such as Intention the author distills wisdom found in his research, and parcels it out to us in neat lists of practices and anecdotes. There’s nothing wrong with this at all–I’ve learned from them and added to whatever wisdom I’ve been able to accumulate. But I have yet to find even one that has a recipe for life that I would follow even, say, 80% of the time. And yet, because of marketing practices, or because the authors really believe the things they write about, they produce the book as “the answer”.

The above probably sounds like I disapprove of such books. I don’t. While I bristle at being told, “…This is the way…at last you have found it!” these topics generate discussion. What I do like about my group is that they are willing to hear me say that a particular technique doesn’t feel congruent for me-and then they’ll let me describe what resonates better.

This is different that a class or workshop in which the absorption of a practice is a given, and it’s all about how to learn the practice and use it “better”. If I’m not feeling in harmony with an aspect of a practice, it doesn’t always feel appropriate to challenge the assumptions of the host. Even some book groups are like that. There’s a feeling of “we’re here to learn this, the latest, greatest thing, and we only want to know how to ‘get it’ better.”

I’m thankful that my group is about finding and facilitating the most authentic congruent experience for each of us. Namasté

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “Update on “Intention””

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

You are doing what everyone should do. We’re not taught as a society that you should find your own path. We’re taught that we need to be as skinny as, as pretty as, as smart as, as funny as…the list goes on and on. When you sit back and acknowledge that something is not for you, then you’re that much closer to what DOES work for you. How cool that you found a group who’s open like that. I’d never done a group book reading thing. How does one get involved in something like that?

Hi Muse,

I believe that no one has the ultimate truth, belief, and/or practice, etc. It all depend on perception.. U have yours and u will take from the book what suits to u the most…

C.V.

stm: Thanks, I appreciate the support! I heard about this group through a friend who’s involved in a fall “spiritual renewal” program. Sometimes large bookstores or New Thought/Non-Denominational churches have them too. I don’t usually join them, but this is only for a few weeks, so I thought I’d give it a try, and I’m glad I did.

CV: Thank you for that. These days I look at professions of wisdom in that way: “Does this resonate with my inner reality?”
I’m with you that there’s no ultimate truth. What fun would that be? There would be no journey, just a destination.

This kind of book and group is fine to experience other ideas, but finding your own road is what counts. I’ve said elsewhere about self-help books, if we indulge in self-help, why do we need a book to help us?

Muse,

Everyone is looking for their own truth..means that there are many…

To answer to Anthony, why would I need a book to help myself find my road?? Each book with their own view and belief gives me an opportunity to look at life from many different angles…

Colourful Vision

I belonged to 2 bookclubs that I eventually left simply because those who attended treated the host and every book we read as “authorities”. Attempts to beg to differ with the host and book author’s opinions were not well received. The lesson I learned is that there are many “sheep” out there who will follow the bellweather goat on her path, rather than uncovering their own.

Anthony, I agree with you. In a group, there is the added element of community discussion. If it’s open and honest–like the blogging community here–I find it can help me to articulate my beliefs. Sometimes, while writing a post for this blog I find out what my opinion really is about something–and the book group can work the same way.

CV, I can’t imagine a finite, ultimate truth, so I’m happy to take in what you say about looking at life from different angles. As said above, a point of view can be advanced I may not have thought of on my own! Thank you.

timethief, Exactly. This is why I usually don’t get involved in the groups. Contrary to what I just said above, I usually prefer reading on my own and drawing my own conclusions. I’m fortunate with this group, however, that since they are open, and don’t require me to accept the author as authority, that I can relax and learn.

Ha! Muse…U made my day again…I really like the ”blogging without obligation”logo and I am putting it on my blog now..

Thank u

C.V.

Thanks, CV! I first saw the button on RubyShooZ blog, then I found a post on one of Sanjida‘s blogs that seemed to demand it. I then decided I liked the concept and put it on mine. There’s also some great artwork on the BWO’s blog, and the owner is kind enough to share it.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...