Water, water, everywhere…

Posted on November 1, 2007. Filed under: Musings, Science |

What if we, very easily from home, could participate in cleaning up currently contaminated water sources?  That’s the intention behind the latest “Intention Experiment” from science journalist Lynne McTaggart and friends.  This post had been wandering around my mind for a few days when I came across this article today.  In the US, we are seeing more and more news stories about regions running out of water, and the stories seem frightening–this southern town is O-U-T out!  The apparent water crisis is affecting many areas worldwide.

I’m not a person who believes in pointing at the news, and exclaiming and worrying about it, though.  As one of my wise teachers says, “It’s best not to focus on problems if you don’t intend to do anything about them.”

One thing I can do is bring my awareness to research and information that is intriguing or has potential.  I’ve always been fascinated with desalination, as we have plenty of ocean water to go around.  It is not safe or helpful to drink salt water, as it causes the body to excrete more water than it retains, so taking the salt from ocean water seems like a good option.  Until recently, this was prohibitively expensive, but this may change soon.

I discovered a wonderful blog all about water issues in various regions, and applaud the author for research and reporting.  I’ve already learned a lot there.

There are many causes and issues.  Air and water are primary substances for us carbon-based life entities.  I remember actually paying attention in school when I learned that our bodies are mostly water, and so is our planet.  I seem to be concerned about this.  Is there something I’m willing to do–some action I’m willing to take?  Yes. This is it.  The water intention experiment will take place on November 30 of this year.  Based on some previous research on how intention can possibly change the molecular structure of water (see the popular Emoto studies, for instance), it will use instrumentation to measure changes in the structure of water after certain experimental routines have been engaged in by participants.  The project is open to all, but one must be registered and agree to follow the procedures given.

This project may or may not be your cup of tea (or desalinated water)!  It is not for everyone, and participants must at least be able to suspend disbelief about “thoughts” affecting “things” for the duration of the experiment.  I’m not sure how I feel about it myself, but the parameters do fit my belief system, and I’m familiar with and respect Lynne McTaggart’s work, so I’m willing to give it a try.  It’s something I can do; I think it will be fun to participate; and if it gets results could be transformative for humankind.

If you are drawn to do this too, or want further information, go here.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Water, water, everywhere…”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Cleaning up contaminated water is all very well, but what’s needed is for we in the west to curb our profligate consumption of water in the first place.

And that includes encouraging or forcing Third World countries to use their scarce water supplies to grown food and make consumer goods for us.

We know all about water shortages here in NE Scotland – although people usually find that hard to believe.

Nope, don’t find that hard to believe, Stone, it’s a worldwide issue. I am conscious of my water usage rate, and attempt to be aware and respectful of that resource. In addition to that, when you say “we in the west” are you suggesting we do our best to elect politicians that will address this as a priority? That is an action I am also comfortable taking. And, I’m moved to reiterate that change takes place first in mind.

Mass intention experiments have gone on before, and are on-going, in the world of the paranormal. There have been some interesting results, though we’re far from understanding the processes involved.
As to water shortages, yes, answers will have to be found, but what is often not realised is that a major problem is supply of existing resources. All too often, population and availability do not coincide. If you take the UK, a demographic move to the south east has put strain on water resources, whilst in the north, it is plentiful.

Anthony, one of the things I like about this particular experiment is that it’s at least quasi-scientific. Not that I think (as you know!) that science has all the answers. But it’s attempting to achieve a measurable and repeatable protocol, and I’m interested to see if they can pull it off. Reminds me a bit of the transcendental meditation practitioners who claim they intentionally brought down the crime rate of Washington DC. I tend to believe this, but there’s no way really to “prove” the correlation. Perhaps many more trials would go a long way…As for water distribution, I’d agree. Are we able to create a notion of abundant supply for all?

[…] on November 29, 2007. I’m participating in a “water intention” experiment, taking place on Friday (in most time zones). This is in conjunction with […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...