Melancholy Moon: A Quiz, A Song, and a Poem

Posted on November 23, 2007. Filed under: Musings, Spirituality |

I seem to have “moon on the brain” lately, since I keep posting about it.  This is the third in a row, but this one also stemmed from brooding about a fellow blogger’s post from a couple weeks ago.  BlogBud cjwriter had one titled  “Is the glass half empty or half full?”  He was trying to make the point that we don’t need to choose either optimism or pessimism, but that we are unique individuals comprised of different combinations and points of view.  We tend towards extremes of identification in our culture, and one wonders how that came to be.  Most responders to cjwriter’s post agreed that the question is not helpful, and we refused to be judged on how we might answer the question in any given moment.

My response included an observation that I often found myself melancholy, and that I didn’t see this word melancholy as either optimistic or pessimistic, or good or bad.  More as “deeply feeling”, I think.  When I am feeling melancholy–which is far from all the time–I get quite introspective.  I wonder why things are, and if they need to be that way.  I’m in no mood to change anything.  I’m just taking a look at what is, without bubbles and frills, but also without doom and gloom.  And it seems many falsely equate melancholy with gloom, or even depression.  It is far from that, in my view.

Having been haunted by this contemplation for over a week now, I began to feel it was time to move on to a frothier state of mind, for a change.  Than I began to get “moony” and started to contemplate the moon instead of melancholy.  Now here I am with both.

A few days ago I was clicking around in the blogthings quizzes.  Sometimes other bloggers will refer to one, and they’re a bit like candy.  When I finish one, I have a few more.  I came upon one called “What Temperament are You?”  I had just finished posting on a quiz about ones “musical personality”.  Since “temperament” is a musical term (one I’ll have a lot to say about in a future post) as well as a psychological one, I of course clicked on it right away.   Below are my results:


You Have a Melancholic Temperament


Introspective and reflective, you think about everything and anything.You are a soft-hearted daydreamer. You long for your ideal life.You love silence and solitude. Everyday life is usually too chaotic for you.Given enough time alone, it’s easy for you to find inner peace.You tend to be spiritual, having found your own meaning of life.Wise and patient, you can help people through difficult times.At your worst, you brood and sulk. Your negative thoughts can trap you.You are reserved and withdrawn. This makes it hard to connect to others.You tend to over think small things, making decisions difficult.

What Temperament Are You?

The quizzes sometimes amaze me.  A topic will show itself, and then the results synchronistically fit my current mental state.  I think most of the things it says about me are true, although it makes me seem more of a loner than I really am.  It is true that I delight in my own company and can spend hours or days alone, but I really do seek out others, particularly to share my musical interests.  The last bit of the description doesn’t strike me as very fun, but oh well, at least I’m “wise and patient” according to the gods of quiz.

After the quiz, in fact, just today, I found a poem and a song.  The song is more poignant than aching.  I quite liked it.  The lyrics and the recording are both online.

The Song, in part:

melancholy moon
rising by the hill
that’s where we used to
waste our time
when keeping up with you
was all I could do
and now I’m living my own life

The poem, the work of a fellow blogger, seems to come from a much darker place.  I put myself in the place of the optimist the poet is addressing, and although it appears the poet predicts great disappointment for me in my unrelenting optimism, there is just a crumb of hope near the end.

From the poem, entitled–I am not making this up–Through a Glass Half Full:

You lick your lips to whistle an uplifting tune
Perhaps taking your medicine a little too soon
And find yourself breathing dust from the melancholy moon

When a lot, or a little synchronicity gets my attention, I sit and contemplate its meaning.  These past couple of weeks have seemed to be a time of deep introspection.  I have been feeling good about my life, AND I have feeling that things will soon change dramatically (in a good way, of course).  I think these moods are to calm me down, to get ready for the change.  I always want to honor moods and feelings, without allowing them to overtake me.  Peace to you.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “Melancholy Moon: A Quiz, A Song, and a Poem”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Soon after I finished writing the above, I received the following in an email. (I must have signed up for astrology updates sometime or other). However one feels about astrology, to me this email is yet another synchronistic event!

“Uranus turns direct on November 24, triggering a powerful time known for change and surprising events. With Uranus, planet of liberation and freedom from earthly bonds, straightening out its course just hours before the full Moon, your need for independence and freedom will be heightened. Remember to honor your emotions, but keep the feelings of others in mind as well. While change is in the air, remain flexible as you ride out this roller coaster of a transit. Now is the time to break free of routines and patterns that no longer fit, trusting that the new pieces of your life will settle later.”

You Have a Choleric Temperament
You are a person of great enthusiasm – easily excited by many things.
Unsatisfied by the ordinary, you are reaching for an epic, extraordinary life.
You want the best. The best life. The best love. The best reputation.

You posses a sharp and keen intellect. Your mind is your primary weapon.
Strong willed, nothing can keep you down. Your energy can break down any wall.
You’re an instantly passionate person – and this passion gives you an intoxicating power over others.

At your worst, you are a narcissist. Full of yourself and even proud of your faults.
Stubborn and opinionated, you know what you think is right. End of discussion.
A bit of a misanthrope, you often see others as weak, ignorant, and inferior.

oh dear, i’m narcissistic! just because i like to look at a good picture of myself… :mrgreen:

perhaps what the word melancholy is usually associated is a bit like what the word fat is usually associated with. fat describes a physical shape, yet it is a word that can conjure lots of negative associations.

Jung argued that the well balanced person had an equal measure of the introvert and extrovert. Hence, we can like our own company AND the company of others. Maybe when overly introverted we do become melancholy, but I think you’re right that it is because we are looking within ourselves rather than others, and do not need the social skills at that point. Hence, it isn’t depression, or anything like that. It’s withdrawal from any influence that requires us to give any outside sign of communication.

***You Have a Phlegmatic Temperament***

Mild mannered and laid back, you take life at a slow pace.
You are very consistent – both in emotions and actions.
You tend to absorb set backs easily. You are cool and collected.

It is difficult to offend you. You can remain composed and unemotional.
You are a great friend and lover. You don’t demand much of others.
While you are quiet, you have a subtle wit that your friends know well.

At your worst, you are lazy and unwilling to work at anything.
You often get stuck in a rut, without aspirations or dreams.
You can get too dependent on others, setting yourself up for abandonment.

What Temperment Are You?
http://www.blogthings.com/whattempermentareyouquiz/

I don’t quiet see myself in it..May be a bit but in real life I don’t have a phlematic temper..I am pretty much outgoing,warm and enthusiastic..

Thanks for ur interesting post Moon Muse..

It’s getting strange how often we get the same results on these quizzes, lol 😉

That quiz has been on my myspace profile for ages, and I got the “melancholy” result also. That elaboration describes me very well, although in public I’m generally very upbeat and playful, and I don’t really get depressed that often. But I love –gotta have — my quiet time. Silence, nothin’ better 🙂

I do tend to think about things too much, and sometimes things can grab my heart in an instant and make me sad in a heartbeat — but my melancholy thing is usually a private “ritual” I do…

Your moon energy is also intriguing me. A while back I just kept getting the Moon card. I know now what it was — it pointed to the Tower experience I recently had…

But the Moon card is a very interesting card. It represents us being in the dark, like walking in the moonlight — you can see, but not that clearly. It’s frightening being in the dark, and so the Moon card can represent a lot of fear, fear of the unknown. It can also represent deception, maybe someone isn’t being honest with you, or maybe we’re not being honest with ourselves. The Moon is also about our potent intuition.

And often the Moon represents being very emotional. The other day I was waiting for an important phone call regarding that Tower experience. As I waited, I pulled cards, of course, lol 😉 I drew a card for the near future (referencing the phone call) that seemed to show that I would get what I wanted. I continued to draw and drew a potent fear card, and then another, the Moon card. The Moon card concerned me, because I thought it might have meant the person calling might try to deceive me. But then the call came, and the news was so much better than I could have imagined it would be. I began to cry while still on the phone, and continued crying after hanging up. I felt overwhelmed with joy and relief. And in that moment it dawned on me, that was the Moon card’s message. Being overwhelmed with emotion.

Hope all of that helps you, Muse, to better understand your Moony-ness 😉

Hugs,
Dove

sulz, this does sound a lot like you…or what I imagine you are like. You would focus on the 2 sentences that appear negative, wouldn’t you? 🙂 As you pointed out in your recent post, we all have our little faults–I just didn’t realize you are proud of yours! 8) Really, these are (mostly) great qualities.

What a fabulous perspective, Anthony, thanks for that! I like the idea of being balanced. I never thought of being introspective as not needing the social skills, but that makes so much sense. I’ve read of people who have been voluntary contemplative hermits who then return to society, and have very nearly forgotten how to talk! They sort of just grunt for a while. They’re perfectly happy, however.

Well, I certainly wouldn’t have described you as phlegmatic, CV. I’m not sure how those particular results attached themselves to you. There are a few qualities there I can feel though: “You are a great friend…While you are quiet, you have a subtle wit that your friends know well…” That sounds like you!

dovelove, your moon analysis is helpful, thank you. I can very much relate to the “deception” part of it, although it my case it feels like what had been hidden is coming to the surface. And overwhelming emotion, oh, my yes. But, as you know, we live in interesting times. 8)

yeah, actually kind of agree with the results – even the narcissistic bit. 😉 but to call me choleric?? is that like cholera or something? haha…

yeap, i’m not me if i don’t pick out the bad bits first! just like you’re not you if you don’t pick out the good bits! 😀

Why call you choleric? Is it like cholera? I wondered, too. Apparently, there are four kinds of temperaments, three of which are represented in the comments so far. I vaguely remember something about this from psychology class: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Four_Temperaments (more than you want to know about it, sulz) 😉 I forgot to thank you for your earlier comment about word association re such things as “melancholy” and “fat”. Good insights! 😉

I’ve often thought there’s something off about the way people describe melancholy as well… I tend to think of melancholy as an emotion, rather than a definition of how we’re feeling. I can feel melancholic about something, but usually I’m reflecting on something, and that doesn’t necessarily mean I’m sad or depressed. Like a mournful poem; I can appreciate its beauty without it becoming a lament. As a noun it actually does have two meanings (1. a feeling of thoughtful sadness; 2. a tendency to be gloomy and depressed), so I wonder if people confuse them together sometimes?

That’s spooky that you got that result in the quiz, though, Muse! And then found those beautiful poems (love the second one; wish I’d seen it for my post). I think our mental state can lead our lives (and hearts) in a certain direction, but not everybody recognizes the cues, or passes them off as coincidences. To me it represents that you’re thinking things through ahead of a possible change, much as you said… being aware of that happening is a wonderful thing.

I took the quiz twice and changed the “something hurtful” answer because I was torn between two of them. So I got two different results; one Melancholic, the other Phlegmatic. I think the two together are quite a good match, actually! Thanks for the link back, btw. And sorry if my post caused all this! 😉

Hey, don’t be sorry, CJ! I’m not. Thank you, instead, for the inspiration! I appreciate you posting the two definitions of melancholy. “Thoughtful Sadness”. Hmm. I resonate with that one. So many of us think sadness is something “bad” and must be gotten over quickly. But put the word “thoughtful” with it, and I, at least get another perspective. If one is thoughtful, one can appreciate the sadness, and the contrast, and the beauty.
Thanks for the kind words about the state of change. They do my heart good.
One of the “temperament” links I found indicates that many of us are combinations of two of the four types. That combo, for you, seems right. 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...