Coffee and Chocolate on a Sunday afternoon

Posted on November 25, 2007. Filed under: Culture, Games |

A lot has been published recently on the health benefits of tea, coffee, and chocolate.  I’m still not sure how to evaluate conflicting studies:  Are these substances good for us?  I use them all, occasionally–certainly not to the level of addiction.  That’s why, when I took the coffee addiction quiz below, I was surprised that I came up 52% addicted.  I don’t even have it every day!

I am 52% Addicted to Coffee

I figured if I’m going to use a substance, I should at least know something about it.  I received the following from the fine folks at Fine Living:

How much do you know about Coffee

And, I’ve always thought a little chocolate with the coffee is a wonderful taste sensation (along with all those yummy antioxidants–or not, depending on what studies I read), and they had a quiz for that, too:

How much do you know about Chocolate?

I’ll meet you at the coffee shop.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

11 Responses to “Coffee and Chocolate on a Sunday afternoon”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

i’m 50%, but i guess that’s cos i drink a cup every day. it has a laxative effect, you know… 😉 i think generally coffee, tea and chocolate do have health benefits, but only if you consume them over a long period of time continuously, though that could be offset by whatever bad health habits we might have… so far haven’t heard much bad stuff about caffeine, except maybe stained teeth if you drink coffee too black or something, haha.

Coffee puts the system under the strain of metabolizing a deadly acid-forming drug, depositing its insoluble cellulose, which cements the wall of the liver, causing this vital organ to swell to twice its proper size. In addition, coffee is heavily sprayed. (Ninety-two pesticides are applied to its leaves.) Diuretic properties of caffeine cause potassium and other minerals to be flushed from the body.

All this fear went away when I quit, and it was a book that inspired me to do it called The Truth About Caffeine by Marina Kushner. There are five things I liked about this book:

1) It details–thoroughly–the ways in which caffeine may damage your health.

2) It reveals the damage that coffee does to the environment. Specifically, coffee was once grown in the shade, so that trees were left in place. Then sun coffee was introduced, allowing greater yields but contributing to the destruction of rain forests. I haven’t seen this mentioned anywhere else.

3) It explains how best to go off coffee. This is important. If you try cold turkey, as most people probably do, the withdrawal symptoms will likely drive you right back to coffee.

4) Helped me find a great resource for the latest studies at CaffeineAwareness.org

5) Also, if you drink decaf you won’t want to miss this special free report on the dangers of decaf available at http://www.soyfee.com

50% for me too, though I wish the quiz was checkbox. I drink coffee primarily for the taste.

Apparently I’m 44% addicted to coffee. Not sure about that… I have the occasional coffee or tea but not that regularly. I drink diet cola every now and then, mainly for the caffeine, particularly on low days. Maybe I’m substituting one for the other?

I’m a big believer in the benefits of chocolate, though. I know it helps me with headaches and a lot of the research is pointing to something in chocolate that increases the release of endorphins in the brain that help to relieve pain. Maybe it has something of a placebo effect as well, but I usually keep the odd bar around for when I need it… lucky I have good self control! 🙂

Moon Muse, where is the link for the quiz?? I must be over 50, anyway..

sulz, you are cheeky, girl. 😀 This quiz does seem to assign an awfully high score to us “casual users”. If we take an all-things-in-moderation approach, I don’t think your cup a day is excessive. And, studies such as this one suggest there may be multitudinous health benefits.

Deirdra, I agree, I drink it for the taste. There’s something about a nice cuppa coffee. And, somehow, decaf doesn’t do it for me. I tend to think that most of the chemical prcessessing would outweigh the perceived benefit of not having the caffeine, but it doesn’t taste the same, either.

Wow, 44% is a pretty low score on this particular test, CJ! You must not be addicted. Although the soda is a whole other discussion… 😉 I agree with you about the benefits of chocolate. I do have trouble resisting it if it’s around the house. I will work on that, maybe make a conscious plan rather than just devouring it when it’s here. 😕

Colourful V, the link to the coffee test isn’t very clear. If you click on my results: “I am 52% addicted to coffee” on the picture of the coffee cup, it will take you to the test. Let us know how you do! BTW, I’m enjoying you calling me “Moon Muse” 🙂

Frisha Alto, thank you for coming by and sharing your perspective. You have provided important awareness and resources. It’s a good idea, and my own practice, to find as much information as possible about any substance we ingest, whether from food and drink, air quality, or lotions and soaps we use. I have looked at the website link you provided, and there is a lot of information there! Certainly any crop, depending how it’s grown, can have an effect on the environment, and that ought to be considered.

I do agree that caffeine is a drug. Many substances we all ingest are drugs or have medicinal qualities. With things like caffeine, there are so many conflicting studies, that I feel strongly that we each do our own research, draw our own conclusions, and make our best decisions, including following our internal guidance. Thanks for this!

I am 58% I just knew that I will be over 50..I like coffee and tea..I drink soda rarely and alcohol once and while..I just drink more water though but I really don’t like the taste of it…

Oups! I should drink more water..

C V, Oh, you have a few more percentage points than me! Yes, water is very important. I drink water if it’s in my favorite container, otherwise I’d rather drink something else. I don’t know what to make of that! 😕


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...