7 more things about me.

Posted on December 1, 2007. Filed under: Musings |

I did this meme relatively recently, but it’s come around to Richard, a person I respect. He was kind enough to tag me, so I am happy to play.

Here are the rules:

1) Link to the person that tagged you, and post the rules on your blog. 2) Share 7 facts about yourself. 3) Tag 7 random people at the end of your post, and include links to their blogs. 4) Let each person know that they have been tagged.

7 more things:

1. I’ve lived in two major cities: San Francisco and Honolulu. Don’t live in either one now.

2. I was a juvenile delinquent. I went to the beach, or walked downtown, instead of attending high school; …however:

3. When I did decide to go to college, I loved it, and did very well (honor roll, dean’s list, etc.)

4. I was a budding scientist as a child, a dropout in high school (see above) and a music major in college. Now I combine all these things (particularly the drop-out ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

5. When I was a vegetarian, I was a rampant vegetarian. Not only did I not eat meat, I did not consume eggs, dairy, or added oils or fats in my food. And, I thought anyone who didn’t do the same was wrong.

6. Now, I’m a “moderate” vegetarian, adjusting and flowing with life and times. A Buddhist monk I met at a Franciscan retreat center told me something that changed forever the way I look at things. He said he generally was a vegetarian, but when someone was kind enough to offer him food, it was better to be thankful and eat what was offered than to refuse a dish in order to adhere to a self-imposed principal.

7. I now attempt to remain in a state of thankfulness and appreciation, and, at this point, I don’t think anyone is “wrong” or “bad”. For any reason.

I will tag just three people because I tagged some others recently, and don’t want to wear out my welcome. Will they participate? I wait. and wonder. They are: Colourful Vision, duskman, and mrgnome.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

11 Responses to “7 more things about me.”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

if i met you when you were still no.5, i’d really be dead (not literally) then! (remember my bit about dying before i’d go vegetarian?) haha…

Thanks for tagging me Muse..I really like what the Buddhist Monk has said to u….What a good philosophy!

sulz, I do indeed remember that one of your 7 things was being ready to *die* rather that be a vegetarian! I’m glad I didn’t know you when I was one, too. I much prefer you being alive, in the present time. Although eventually when we are both in the ethereal realms, I’m sure I’ll like you there, too!

You are welcome, CV. I only knew the Monk for 4 hours one day, but he still has an impact on my life now. Amazing what influence a person can have! I’ll look forward to reading what you post, if you decide to participate ๐Ÿ™‚

Ah, always nice to know a little bit more about people. I’m thankful you didn’t choose me for a meme, I can’t sing that well. (smiling)

Peace, love and understanding.

~ RS ~

Hiya’ Muse ๐Ÿ™‚

==================
1. Iโ€™ve lived in two major cities: San Francisco and Honolulu. Donโ€™t live in either one now.
==================
I’ve lived in one in the South, otherwise I’m just a small-town lil red-haired girl ๐Ÿ™‚

==================
2. I was a juvenile delinquent. I went to the beach, or walked downtown, instead of attending high school; โ€ฆhowever:
====================
Wow, I never woulda thought that. You’re an intriguing fella’ ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ve been all over the map with extremes, mostly shy and quiet (always sat at the back of the class) as a kid, a brief stint in grade school as a little hellion (cussed like a sailor, lol), then bible-poundin’ kid, then party-girl in my teens and on into college…anorexic for the next ten years (lucky to have survived both party-girl and anorexic-girl), and then life began to lighten up a bit into my thirties ๐Ÿ™‚ …

===========================
3. When I did decide to go to college, I loved it, and did very well (honor roll, deanโ€™s list, etc.)
===========================
I liked college much better than high school, but my anorexic thing put big damper on it. Home life was, well, kind of a living hell (a challege to study while dodging fists and chairs…), so I was lucky I managed a “B” average.

============================
4. I was a budding scientist as a child, a dropout in high school (see above) and a music major in college. Now I combine all these things (particularly the drop-out ).
====================
Science and music is a highly interesting combination ๐Ÿ™‚ Yep, I would imagine the dropout experience would contribute most to your being well “seasoned” ๐Ÿ˜‰

==========================
5. When I was a vegetarian, I was a rampant vegetarian. Not only did I not eat meat, I did not consume eggs, dairy, or added oils or fats in my food. And, I thought anyone who didnโ€™t do the same was wrong.
===========================
I was a vegetarian for a few years, then vegan for awhile. Then up unil recently, I referenced to myself as “almost vegetarian.” I ate fish, but rarely any other meat or dairy. Maybe ten years with the whole experience. Now I strongly advocate healthy meat-eating, and I have strong opinions against vegetarianism/veganism.

========================
6. Now, Iโ€™m a โ€œmoderateโ€ vegetarian, adjusting and flowing with life and times. A Buddhist monk I met at a Franciscan retreat center told me something that changed forever the way I look at things. He said he generally was a vegetarian, but when someone was kind enough to offer him food, it was better to be thankful and eat what was offered than to refuse a dish in order to adhere to a self-imposed principal.
=================================
I look to Nature. The challenge to get proper nutrients in a veggie diet (coq10, b12…), and many veteran vegetarians are discovering this via health issues, suggests to me, that this type of diet is going against Nature…

========================
7. I now attempt to remain in a state of thankfulness and appreciation, and, at this point, I donโ€™t think anyone is โ€œwrongโ€ or โ€œbadโ€. For any reason.
==========================
Thankfulness/gratitude is very powerful. I think maybe the only thing that is “bad” is when we feel/intuit that we should take some action to stop something that is harming others and we don’t do it. I think that’s bad, allowing others to be harmed per some extreme religious dogma. Labeling it someone’s “karma” or something. If I see a child or other of lesser strength being harmed, I deem that “bad” in this reality. And, even worse, would be doing nothing about it, when I feel that I should.

Peace,
Dove

Hi RS, well, we all have some kind of music in our souls. Thanks for finding me somewhat interesting. And, I’ll get you next time! ๐Ÿ˜€ All good thoughts.

dove, my dear: I am quite overwhelmed by your comments (in a good way). Looks like you had quite the childhood/adolescence/young adulthood. Whew. A lot to overcome. I’m so glad you have found your spiritual center, and that you are able to continue to grow, and learn, and love as you do.

I have seen more disagreement about diet online than about religion, or politics, or almost anything! I think most any diet can be healthy for some, not so much for others. One of my teachers says we could drink cyanide and be just fine if we are truly in tune with our expanded selves. I’m not ready to experiment with that yet (!) but I do believe that one diet does not fit all. That’s one of the reasons I backed off from my extremism. Another is I just felt better eating some things more than others.

I pretty much agree with your last point. If I could truly walk away while watching another being harmed and not have it “bother” me, then I *might* be able to believe that it’s their karma, and therefore none of my business. However, I don’t think I am that person who could do that. So, again, in seeking my guidance, I would do what feels right. I still don’t believe there are universal standards, though. I’m too much of a relativist for that, therefore, I make every attempt not to judge another’s behavior. Peace to you always!

Hey, Muse ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t argue the point about cyanide, because I totally believe that “all things are possible.” Even so, it would take some powerful belief in one’s own “magic” to go against Nature in that way and live to talk about it ๐Ÿ™‚ For me, it’s clear that I did a lot of things in the past that reflected my subconscious desire to leave this world. I think so many of us do this in varying degrees (overeating, smoking, drinking, and other dangerous behaviors, and simply not taking proper care of ourselves) — a reflection of self-hatred that is so common in our world.

Indeed, I endured some horrible things in growing up, and sometimes I wonder if I’m ever going to overcome the effects of it all… I haven’t, but I have grown and have healed to some degree. But right now I’m really at the doorway of beginning to truly love myself. Reflections of that are caring less what others think of me, having less of a desire for material things, and also this wonderful way I’m beginning to feel about my body. I truly think of it as, well, separate from me. I’ve begun to have such compassion for it, what it’s endured for so many years per the health issues brought about at least in part, I believe, by the traumas experienced in my younger years. So much it has endured… I see it sort of like a child, it lives only for me — reacting in ways to ensure my safety, doing the best it can to keep me healthy with what I feed it, the way I care for it, it does the best it can to keep me alive.

There’s just something about that, that is so precious. I now want to make sure I do everything I can to feed and care for it well. Somehow it helps me to love myself more by thinking of it like a child, a child that depends on me, so that it in turn can take good care of me, it’s sole desire/purpose.

I would never intentionally feed it poison (nor foods I consider in the same way), the body (the “temple of god” as one book puts it) is too precious to take such a risk. I starved my body for years in seemingly trying to be perfect, and I starved it again with the vegetarianism and veganism.

I believe people should live as they please, so if that type of diet makes them and their bodies happy ๐Ÿ™‚ then that’s a good thing. I’m just very grateful that I have and continue to discover that it very much wasn’t good for me or my precious body. And in the past year, I have been miraculously guided to some amazing discoveries for the health of my body. It would seem that this happens once we truly move toward real self-love. That’s the real key to healing ๐Ÿ™‚ Ya’ start there and then you’re guided from that to what your body needs. And your energy ceases to block these discoveries…

As for the judging whether something is good or bad, no, I don’t think we should judge (hate) someone for doing a certain thing. But we do have to discern as to what is “bad” or “good” in this life experience. If you feel compelled to stop someone from harming a child, then that’s an indicator that what you are wishing to eliminate is not a good thing. Whether or not you wish to label it as “bad,” ya’ still have to call it something for the purpose of communication, no? ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess you could call it “something I wish to stop because I don’t want this child to be harmed” — but that’s kinda long, lol ๐Ÿ˜‰ Nah, don’t judge/hate the person doing the harming, but there’s no way around the need to discern on a daily basis what is, per this reality, “wrong” and “right” (or bad or good). Again, call it whatever ya’ like, but there are things that you discern as being more acceptable (“good”) than others (“bad”) — you just seem to have an aversion to those words, because they supposedly hold in them judgment/hatred. But I say they don’t, I say they are simply the words in this reality to label as per our necessary discernment. The energy is not in those words, but in the heart of the person doing the judging or discerning ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay? Okay ๐Ÿ˜‰

dovelove, I was so touched by your comment. Your (and anyone’s) body is indeed precious, and it’s very moving to read about your evolving relationship with it. I understand completely your wish to want to treat it, and yourself, with respect and compassion.
As for the other thing, I very much like your word “discernment”. I know I can get semantically obsessed at times, but I believe our words, and the energy we put into them, are important gauges of our spiritual congruency. So, I do prefer to see that “all is well”. I truly believe that is so. This is a bit sticky, though. I see in my first response to your lovely comment that I referred to someone “being harmed”–when in fact I don’t believe that to be possible if all is well. But, I have proved your point for you, as you have observed that we need the words to convey–anything. Again, I do like your word, discernment. A dear one often tells me I’m making judgments all the time! That we can’t live in physical reality without! I grudgingly admit this is true, and that I still prefer another word such as yours. I guess we all have our “buttons”–I’m working on this one, dove. ๐Ÿ˜• I love your last line “the energy is not in those words, but in the heart of the person…” Amen, sister ๐Ÿ™‚

[…] I’m interested in participating, but my social life is not on the ‘net as I live in a face2face format. So I’m just gonna squeak by tag-free [I told you I was a closet anarchist], and a single pingback to MusEditions. […]

It was a surprise to see I’d been tagged for this meme — I wouldn’t have believed I’d ever warrant such interest.

The best thing that memes provide, aside from light entertainment and a chance for bit of introspection, is further evidence that One Size Will Never Fit All.

Thanks for the tag — ๐Ÿ™‚

R. and mindful meanderings,

I find it fascinating to find out some of the choices we make along the way. You are interesting blog mates as you open your minds and spill out the contents for all the world to see. Thanks for sharing the fun.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...