Natural Highs

Posted on January 5, 2008. Filed under: Health, Musings, Spirituality |

These were sent to me by a friend. I like them because they are reminders of simple things that can add joy to our days. Here are some we can self-initiate: #s 2,3,7,10,11,12,13,17,21,31,33,35,40,41,&44.

That’s 14 things just from this list that I can try, all by myself, if I find I need cheering up! There are lots of others, but the list is a great start. It’s said that if things aren’t going well, do something, or think a thought that makes you feel just a little better. Once you’ve gotten used to that, then choose something that’ll feel a little better than that. It’s not necessary to take a big leap into feeling GREAT, when we don’t, quite.

I wouldn’t want to do all of these every day, like #1 or #8, for instance. Some of them can’t happen too often, such as #27, or #43. There are a couple I’m not sure would be a “high” for me, like #29—not everyone relishes that sort of thing.

My very favorites are 33, and the last item on the list. When I can convince myself of that one, I know I’m going to have a good day!

Natural Highs

1. Falling in love.
2. Laughing so hard your face hurts.
3. A hot shower.
4. No lines at the supermarket.
5. A special glance.
6. Getting mail.
7. Taking a drive on a pretty road.
8. Hearing your favorite song on the radio.
9. Lying in bed listening to the rain outside.
10. Hot towels fresh out of the dryer.
11. Chocolate milkshake (or vanilla or strawberry).
12. A bubble bath.
13. Giggling.
14. A good conversation.
15. The beach.
16. Finding a 20 dollar bill in your coat from last winter.
17. Laughing at yourself.
18. Looking into their eyes and knowing they Love you
19. Midnight phone calls that last for hours.
20. Running through sprinklers.
21. Laughing for absolutely no reason at all.
22. Having someone tell you that you’re beautiful.
23. Laughing at an inside joke with FRIENDS
24. Accidentally overhearing someone say something nice about you.
25. Waking up and realizing you still have a few hours left to sleep.
26. Your first kiss (the very first).
27. Making new friends or spending time with old ones.
28. Playing with a new puppy.
29. Having someone play with your hair.
30. Sweet dreams.
31. Hot chocolate.
32. Road trips with friends.
33. Swinging on swings.
34. Making eye contact with a cute stranger.
35. Making chocolate chip cookies.
36. Having your friends send you homemade cookies.
37. Holding hands with someone you care about.
38. Running into an old friend and realizing that some things (good
or bad) never change.
39. Watching the expression on someone’s face as they open a much
desired present from you.
40. Watching the sunrise.
41. Getting out of bed every morning and being grateful for another
beautiful day.
42. Knowing that somebody misses you.
43. Getting a hug from someone you care about deeply.
44. Knowing you’ve done the right thing, no matter what other people think.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “Natural Highs”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

i love all of it, honestly. ironically, i feel wistful reading through the list because it seems to me that those stuff are better done with a special someone.

loll!! I can understand why, Muse, u are not crazy about number 29, especially if ur are still using gel on ur hair..loll!! But, I am like u on this one don’t touch my hair gel or not…

Here the ones would make me feel better:
#1 It’s always a good feeling…
#2 Laughter is the best thing ever to release tension…
#12 Gees, I miss that I can only have showers as I don’t have a bath in my apartment..
#14 Like that always, need to be intellectually stimulated..
#19 I can spend hours talking over the phone I did it last nite with a good friend..
#16 Surprise!! I just love surprises..Getting unexpected things happening to me it’s always a good feeling and this is my wish for 2008..Having miracles, luck all around..The same for u too!!..
#28 I am babysitting my cousin’s cat right now and it is such a joy..
And finally #41 ”Being grateful” That’s my motto…

Peace my friend, Muse…

I absolutely love this list. πŸ™‚
In fact I may also steal it with a link back, of course. Please give your friend a big {{{HUG}}} from me.

I identify with all of them but these are the ones that particularly resonate with me today: 1,2,12,15,17,21,22,30, 40-44

Haha! 33 sounds good to me too, Muse πŸ™‚ Whheeeeee! lol πŸ˜‰ What did ya’ expect from the cartwheel girl, heh

Well, I’ve only done 1 once, not that long ago, and some of it (14, 18, 19, 22, 37, 42, 43) was highly yummy (26, actually not that great, but follow-ups were incredibly amazing, lol), but the bad part hurt like hell…so I’ll prolly be gun shy for a while on that 1. On second thought, I’m open to 34, lol πŸ˜‰

But I looove me some 2 and 13, lol πŸ˜‰ Ahh, 7 with 8 and 40…and 9 sounds nice.

But right now, I think I would very much go for some 31 and 28 (paws outta the chocolate, please! lol), then 44 and some wonderful, peaceful 30 πŸ™‚

Hugs,
Dove

Awww, sulz! I know, a lot of them do look like things to share with your sweetheart. However, (and this is a great metaphysical truth πŸ™‚ )if we start doing them for ourselves, then the potential sweetheart will be attracted to all that joy going on, and want some too! πŸ˜€

“still using gel on ur hair..lol” –Gosh, CV, I’m going to have to watch the comments I make on other people’s blogs. Looks like they can come back to haunt me on mine! πŸ˜‰ Your list looks wonderful! I think it’s so important that we nurture ourselves. And, yes, it’s perfectly acceptable to substitute a kitty for a puppy. I’m glad you are enjoying.

Burgle away, brightfeather, there’s plenty of love to go around! I will indeed share your hug with my friend. She’ll be pleased. I appreciate the items you chose very much! They seem to revolve around love, laughter, and bubbles–a great mix, if you ask me. πŸ™‚

Yes, how often do we serious, mature adults allow ourselves to swing on swings? πŸ˜€ I like how you prioritized your list–you sort of grouped them by sensual experiences! And one never knows where #34 may lead… πŸ˜‰ I wish you many #30s, dove.

The only thing that’s missing for me is #45 Blogging. It has saved me. I am disabled and when I owned my own business ( small health food store) I talked to every one of my customers and most became friends with me (small town). I miss that so much but blogging has given it back to me in a way. I really loved that list. I love # 41.

You know, joanharvest, I agree, #45 really belongs on the list, particularly since it appears in a blog! πŸ˜‰ We do have a wonderful community here, and if you’re not able to interact the way you used to, I see why you find blogging a happy discovery. Yes, #41 is just the best! Thanks for dropping by this post and reminding me to revisit it.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...