Cats, why?

Posted on January 20, 2008. Filed under: Musings, Spirituality |

I’ve been taking care of a friend’s cat for the past week.  The friend lives only 10 minutes from me, so we left the cat in her own environment, and I’ve gone to visit her every other day.  The advantage of this for the cat is that she gets to stay home where she’s comfortable.  The disadvantage, from her point of view, is that she only gets an hour of interaction in 48.

Cats are funny little energy sensors.  The last few times my friend traveled, an “errand-doer” was hired to look after her.  This person did what I did:  came every other day and took care of the cat’s needs.  The errand-person had also agreed to stay for an hour and talk to, pet, and interact with the cat.

Cola is a shy cat, though.  Errand-person would come roaring up the drive in her car, radio blasting, wheels squealing, and crash into the house shouting “Hi, Cola! Hi Cola!”  During all the times Errand-person took care of Cola, she never saw Cola once.  In fact, she’s never met Cola face-to-cat.  The cat has hiding places undiscoverable by mere humans.

When I offered to give it a try, my friend jumped at the chance.  I’m much more low-key and mellow than Errand-person.  I drive sedately (usually).  I listen to classical music or a news magazine in the car, and park quietly on the street.

The first day I came, I sat in the living room for five minutes, then slowly walked through the house speaking softly to Cola, using her name.  The cat had met me briefly once before, but had decided to retire to her secret location soon after I arrived.

On this occasion, she did not honor me with her presence, but did speak to me a bit from her undisclosed location.  I still couldn’t discover where that was.

Shy Cat

During my second visit, I repeated my previous behaviour before feeding Cola, and began to hear her soft high-pitched voice agin.  This time I sat still on the floor for a while, and eventually a little cat-body emerged.  I stayed put while she kept her distance, checking me out.  Finally, she sniffed at my outstretched fingers, and deemed me worthy to feed and clean her litter box.  After eating, she even let me pet her and pick her up!  By the time I was ready to go, she didn’t want me to.

The third time I visited, Cola came out after two minutes, gave me a look as if to say: “Oh, you again”, and told me that eating soon was on her agenda.  We’ve gotten along fine ever since.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

27 Responses to “Cats, why?”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

cute cat with great taste in humans! who wouldn’t like muse? 😉

I agree..

I really enjoyed taking care of my cousin’s cat too a few weeks ago…Minette did not even hide once it was like she knew my place..She was bird watching in my window kitchen and she talked to me.. Well, I thought so as everytime I would talk to her she would miaow ..She was so cute and sweet and I missed her dearly..My cousin said that she gained weight leaving at my place..I am sugar mammy so once and while she would have a treat..means many treats…No wonder she liked me…loll!!

Gees,”sugar mammy” I might not have used the right term..lolll!! Hope u are not gonna take it the wrong way…loll!!

“a little cat-body emerged”

lol, I love that. I was thinking a day or so ago how much I’d love to have a cat. And it was kinda synchronous how I came upon your post right after reading another’s about pets. And he was saying that he’d never liked cats, their “arrogance” and all. Hey, I kinda like that aspect of them, can they help it if they know they’re “God”??LOL! 😉

Yeah, I love cats, little love buckets, they are…that wonderful purring, and their dignity, and wisdom to keep themselves clean.

Once when I was a newbie at “reading” people, I was at a friend’s apartment, reading a friend of hers. She had a few cats, and one that wasn’t very sociable. But, for some reason, this one came outta the woodwork for this reading 🙂 I was sitting on one couch and the girl I was reading was sitting on a couch directly across from me, maybe eight feet away. My eyes were closed, and I’m sitting there quietly for a moment, and all of sudden I hear right in front me this sort of other-worldly cat squawk, lol! It was anti-social cat. I kept my eyes closed, and she kept this little whiney-cat thing going for a bit. The girl and I both started laughing and tried to continue over it, haha

The only thing I can figure is she kinda felt the energy of the reading or something, maybe it unnerved her. As a totem, the Cat energy is very much about intuition. As I recall, this girl had some wicked circumstances going on with her boyfriend. And maybe the cat was feelin’ that too.

Actually, in reading this Cat totem interpretation that I just came upon, I can see why I love ’em so much. They’re very much about one of my passions, freedom. Geez, this must be one of my totems (and you too, Muse, and likely most who have posted here) too, I have so many! 🙂

=====
(interpretation from: http://www.crystalinks.com/totemanimals.html)

Cat: Independence

In Egypt cats were always given special privileges and were treated like royalty. In Scandinavia the cat stood for fertility, and in India it is a symbol of childbirth. In ancient times it was believed that witches took the form of their cats at night. Cats are fiercely independent. You can never own one: it allows you to take care of it and love it, but only on its terms. They come and go as they please, when they please. Cat’s medicine is independence, curiosity, many lives, cleverness, unpredictability, healing, the ability to fight when cornered, seeing the unseen, and protection. He also represents love and can assist us in meditation. If Cat is your Power Animal, then you have magic and mystery in your life. You are independent and a free thinker. You probably feel energized at night. You will stay with a person or situation until it bores you, and then you’re gone. You have a great talent for organizing things.
=======================

Thanks for sharing this great story, Muse 🙂

Hugs,
Dove

You seem to have a very good sense of “catness.” :o) Since cats keep people, rather than the other way around, it makes sense to move slowly and respectfully into *their* space. One of the reasons we don’t vacation more often is that we don’t have anyone as sensitive as you to visit with our cat while we’re gone.

I agree with Dove too that cats are very aware of energies. My husband and I can begin a channeling session and within minutes our cat will come out of a dead sleep and appear from her nest on the bed. She loves to soak up those higher vibrations!

sulz: Aw, what a nice thing to say! 😀 She is a nice cat, too.

CV, I think Minette did talk to you. I think that cats and other animals can understand our vibration and intent, even if not the actual words. Since you are such a nice and lovely person, no wonder Minette had conversations with you. I don’t think it’s only because of the treats. 🙂 Maybe you should get a cat of your own? And sugar mammy…oh, now I have a whole new vision of you, lol !

I’m glad you liked the story, Dove. It was a nice experience, and I may allow a cat to co-own me again sometime. I loved the information you shared about cat totems. The description sounds a lot like me, too. I knew about how cats were viewed in Egypt, but not about India and other countries.
Your description of the cat coming out during the reading matches with my experience. I think they are very sensitive to energy and like to be in the middle of good energy, and inquire when they sense something weird. Good and lovely thoughts to you, as always!

Very nice compliments, Joyful, I really appreciate them. I like having a good sense of “catness”. I would be happy to cat-sit (in my case literally!) for you if we actually knew each other and lived nearby! I’ve seen cats come out for book discussion groups, and healing work. They are the most selfish creatures in the world (in a good way, of course 😉 )and want all the energy input they can get.

So this is what you’re doing while your computer’s away eh, Muse? Cat-sitting? 😀 Thanks for the story, very sweet. And Cola is adorable. How did you take that photo? Whenever I try to take one of a cat they look away, I always thought it was because they don’t like the light. You sure you’re not a cat whisperer? 😉

You brought back memories of my cat Poppins, btw… she was crazy. She thought she was a dog; she’d chase her tail for hours and then hide in the chimney. 😉 I hope to have a cat again one day… they’re great company and beautiful animals.

Hi cj, Poppins sounds like a character! Yes cat-sitting is a nice low-tech way to spend some time while my beastie is AWOL. I’m glad you liked the story and the picture. Alas, I cannot take credit for the kitty-pic; it was taken by her owner, or housemate, or whatever cats think their humans are. 🙂

Cola is very lucky. And, of course, any fan of Pines of Rome would have the soul for cat-connecting moments.

As a friend likes to say, Dogs have owners. Cats have staff.

Ella, another “Pines” fan! I’d like to hear the other things of Rome, too, not just the Pines, but Pines is the most popular, so it comes up on the radio. Time to invest in another CD.
I saw my friend, Cola’s “staff”, today 🙂 and there is another week-long trip planned in February. I’m told that Cola asked for me specifically, so it looks like I’ll be temporary staff again next month. Thanks for visiting!

I often “cat-sit” for my neighbor who goes away for months at a time. During his absence, it’s not uncommon to see his cat, Sunshine, sitting on my windowsill. I’m like a second mom for that kitty. Sunshine, however, is somewhat of a cat anomoly. She has never met a human she didn’t like. Very friendly and outgoing.

I enjoyed your article. By the way, you recently visited my site. I appreciate it!

My cat sitter would sympathize with you alot. My two furballs in the beginning wouldn’t show up to her (she had to peek under the bed which was the hiding place I told her beforehand). After a few times they started to come out to check her out, though still keeping distance.

Cats don’t like unfamiliar environment or people, so considering that, you did a great job!! 🙂

Cats are awesome. It’s funny how they react well to some people, but hide from others.

You must be the cat master! It’s just like encouraging a wild animal out, isn’t it? We used to have a shy cat too. She would mysteriously vanish whenever guests came round!

Yep, love Respighi. I’ve got to dig out my Pines of Rome cd.

And I’m sure if Cola could talk, it would be “Empathee. U haz it.”

Hi Terrie! Your Sunshine reminds me of the cat next door when I was growing up. Mizzie used to hop the fence, and come to visit, even though she was devoted to the people she lived with. I liked your blog, too. You have a profound yet amusing slant on some things. Thanks for coming by.

Hello Walking, how’ve you been? You’re right. I feel lucky that Cola came out at all–must be my mag-cat-ic personality! 🙂 I love looking at your kitties on your blog. It feels like I’m visiting you and your friends.

Bobby, yes I think there are some cats that never would have come out, although I think part of it with Cola was she was starting to get lonley. She didn’t have her usual person there, so decided that since I didn’t seem to be a threat, I’d do. I do like and respect them as well, and they are able to sense that.

Aw, thanks, ella! Next time I take care of Cola, I’ll see if she likes Respighi or Queen best. There is something about these cat creatures. And I find LOLCats a guilty pleasure. (I admit nothing when questioned on the topic).

It’s so good to hear that you and Cola bonded. When we leave our pets they do grieve and you are obviously a cat person. She couldn’t have a better temporary companion. 🙂

You should check out what the Cat totem symbolizes. http://www.crystalinks.com/totemanimals.html

Thank you, brightfeather, very true about the grieving. I was concerned about Cola spending so much time alone, as my friend travels a lot. Cola has the radio and TV on timers for an hour a day in addition to my visits, and gets to listen to recordings of phone calls. She can hear and watch birds outside, too, but still…
I did read the totem info. on cats, and I find I embrace almost all of those characteristics!

muse, i’m so happy to hear that, my kitties said they love you too…

😀

Walkingbetween: 😀 It’s lovely to have more furry friends!

LIvely topic you’ve got going here. 🙂 So nice to read about other folks cat experiences. We’ve got two now and one has a heart condition and has to have pills twice a day for the rest of his life so I can never leave him. I’m the only one who is allowed to give him his medications so I have to stay. We have a routine worked out and I don’t get the claws – I get purrs. He’s my boy – Rico.

Always peace, always love.

Oh, Ruby, Rico sounds like a lovely kitty, and so lucky to have you. Cats are notorious for not liking to take pills (or anything else they didn’t choose!). Of course none of us really like pills, do we?
Still, you must have a real heart connection with your furry fellow. And, kudos to you for the care you give him.

Oh gosh what a sweety! I used to take care of the 11 cats that belonged to neighbors across the street when I was a young teen. One time these little devils managed to get the lid off their food can, which was actually a large green plastic trash can, and inhale all of their food. They were all huge, round balls when I arrived. The kitchen was a disaster. I cleaned the mess but I didn’t get asked to take care of those cats again after that. I’m allergic to cats and was quite glad how that turned out! 😆

diss! What a story! It’s hard to believe ALL 11 cats ate that much food! Most of them are fairly self-regulating creatures. They must have had emotional issues. 😉

well at least she is feeling better! good luck!

Hi, Missy. She did, she is. All is well. 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...