Intercultural concert

Posted on February 18, 2008. Filed under: Culture, Music, Spirituality |

I attended this concert last night:

“Four years ago, visits to Arab, Jewish, and Buddhist villages inspired a dream of breaking barriers between cultures in conflict. That dream is now a reality. Intercultural Journeys, an organization dedicated to promoting understanding among people of diverse cultures through dialogue and the presentation of world-class performances, in partnership with UApresents, has developed a unique concert event bridging cultures in an evening celebrating the universality of music.

Artistic Director Udi Bar-David, cellist for the Philadelphia Orchestra, leads a superb Arab-Jewish virtuoso ensemble: Hanna Khoury Arab-Israeli violinist Margo Levertt Klezmer clarinetist Kareem Roustom Syrian-born oud player Michel Mirhej Baklouk Jerusalem born, Lebanese resident on hand drums.”

Oud

The music was wonderful. The spirit was alive and free. The concert also included excerpts from a new film featuring dialog between Arab and Jewish families in Israel and the occupied territories who had lost family members to the ongoing conflict there. Many of these people just want to heal, move on, and allow peace. Very moving.

You may watch either a 4-minute or 7-minute trailer here: http://www.encounterpoint.com/trailer/index.php

The cellist for the group is also working on a project playing traditional Jewish music combined with traditional Native American Flute music. There’s a video on his site featuring flutist R. Carlos Nakai, in beautiful Sedona, which is near where I live: http://www.interculturaljourneys.org/

Enjoy! Peace. Salaam. Shalom.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “Intercultural concert”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Sounds fun, if fun is the right word. I think it is. A good thing about a project like this is that it’s not only about peace and other good political goals (which are really good in themselves) but the musical result is also interesting, and – hopefully – fun.

It was indeed fun, Rikard. I’m glad you used that word, because it reminds me to include that the audience was part of the percussion on the last piece. We were taught a clapping rhythm, and participated enthusiastically. We all became immediately and joyfully involved. We certainly couldn’t be mad at each other while that was going on! I love world music and unusual orchestrations. The more music, the better! Thanks much, Rikard.

Most people, anywhere, just want peace. It’s just a tiny minority who stir that damned pot!
By the way, apologies for not visiting for a while. I’ve been a bit of a learning curve, with a new me alongside the old one on my blog.

How interesting…No boundaries in Art..It is a good initiative to bring peace using music..In some countries kids grow up feeling hatred to everyone who has different beliefs..

“**Tony has a doppelganger**” I took a look at your blog, Anthony, and could not immediately discern your “other” you. However, I shall anticipate all being revealed. As for not coming by for a while, well I have the “Blogging Without Obligation” button here in my cyber-living-room—perhaps I should have “Commenting Without Obligation” as well. You are welcome whenever you visit. I so agree with you. The “NEWS” loves controversy and sensationalism. Those of us who just like each other and get along are boring to them.

Yes, CV, many children are taught many things at a very young age. But what if they just learn to sing together or play together instead, as we did at the concert? You remind me of a song that was popular some years back when my country had more racial issues than it does now: “Three kids in a Sandbox; Three kids in the Sand; Building the same Castle: Yellow, White and Black hands.” The song is a bit simplistic and dated, but reminds me just to engage with people who may have unfamiliar ways. Blogging has reinforced for me that we are more alike than different!

You mean you never noticed my poetry splattered all over it?

Oh, heck yes, Tony, I noticed your fine poetry. OK, so “Poet” is your other self! I missed that, thinking your poet self was another fascinating aspect of you. You wear so many hats on your blog as it is! It’s sometimes hard for me to comment on poetry, as I’m a bit metaphorically challenged, but I shall get there.

How did I miss this one?

I don’t know—the was posted a while back! I really hope the film gets shown. It’s amazing to see Israelis and Palestinians talking to each other this way. 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...