The expansionist meme

Posted on June 5, 2008. Filed under: Culture, Games, Philosophy, Travel |

I’m working on one of my “serious posts”, and in the meantime I was tagged for this by The Unknown Blogger, and found it intriguing and a bit different. I’m not sure if it’s Serious, Semi-Serious, or Not Serious. Here goes:

The Expansionist Meme:
Please thoughtfully consider the following, and choose one item for each of the categories below. (Be sure to describe your reasons for choosing)
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
One religious work from a non-familiar tradition you’ll read:
I’ve read from many of the world’s religious texts, so it was kind of hard to pick one that’s both unfamiliar and intriguing. I guess the closest I can come is the Bhagavad Gita, as I haven’t read extensively in it as yet, and there is much I find interesting.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
One music video–that you like–from your “least likely to listen to” genre:
This was hard! I went to YouTube and typed “punk rock” and felt extremely geeky doing that. Then I had to listen, eek. I finally found this one which is pretty funny, if rather cynical. I liked the last 2/3 best: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_HKns1XEFM&feature=related Then I found this version, which I like even better: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cxc7AGaABWw Will this do?
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
A book from a genre you almost never read, that you have read, or you will read (promise!):
The genre(s) I’m least likely to seek out are tied between “Horror” and “Romance”. So, which shall I pick? Would it be cheating to choose Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier (which I’ve read four times)? I think it meets the criteria for both “Horror” and “Romance” pretty well…
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Somewhere you’d never thought to go on holiday/vacation, and why it might be fun to go there:
Wow, there are lots of places. I will choose Estonia, because there are places in Europe I’d most likely visit first, but I’ve read that this former Soviet bloc nation has more in common with Scandinavia than with the Russian Federation, has been modernizing like crazy, has one of the highest literacy rates in the world, has beautiful and ancient architecture, much of it wonderfully preserved, and a lovely and temperate climate.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
A specific food you’ve never tried, but will because of this meme, honest!:
All right, I’ll admit it. When I visited Scotland some years back, I could not bring myself to sample one of it’s national dishes, Haggis, even though I’m partly of Scottish origin. I probably shouldn’t go to my grave without trying this oatmeal-and-onion, cooked-in-a-sheep’s-stomach yummy dish, now should I?
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
A sport or game you really hate, or haven’t tried yet, but are willing to give one more go:
I dislike most games where there is a “winner” and a “loser” because I tend to be the “loser”, and who needs that, right? I’ve played chess, which I admire, but hurts my brain, and checkers, which is less demanding, but for this item I’ll choose Go! (Give it one more “go”, get it? Haha.) The reason I don’t like Go the most, (although it’s strategy eludes me and that’s reason enough), is it’s lack of neatness. A board game should be neat. The Go stones don’t even fit properly within each square on the game board. This drives me nuts!
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
A style of dance you probably won’t try (we won’t make you promise on this one):
Wow, a lot to choose from as there’re only about 3 kinds of dance I’m actually willing to do in public. I’ll go out on a limb and say, Tango.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
A career or job you don’t feel you’re suited for, and why:
This one’s easy, because back in the days when I was taking career placement, personality assessment, and other such tests, one career path always stood out on the absolute bottom of my “most suited for” lists: Army Officer. There are probably a lot of reasons for this, but, in imagining myself in such a job, I can’t get my imagination past “basic training” without words like “insubordination”, “AWOL”, or “Section-8” coming up.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
An item that’s “thinking out of the box” for this meme, that hadn’t been included:
So, this means that no one who does this meme after looking at my answers gets to choose my item, right? OK, this fits, doesn’t it? “What is the one class/course that you never could; never would; never should take or have taken in high school?” My answer: Calculus. I love science, and I love physics, but I can’t begin to figure what these Calculus people are on about. I know, limited thinking on my part.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
To proceed with “thinking out of the box” here, I won’t tag specific individuals, because some of you don’t like that; nor will I open it up to “anyone who wants to participate” because hardly anyone does when that’s said. Instead I’ll request a response from at least one person in each of the following categories (more are welcome):
—-an atheist
—-a follower of a particular religion
—-a person who believes science will eventually be able to answer our questions
—-an artist
—-a musician
—-a writer.
Of course, you may fit into more than one of these categories, as I do myself. You don’t have to tell us which you are, either, just please let me know in the comment, here, if you do the meme. I found this meme challenging and insightful. Hope you enjoy it!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

19 Responses to “The expansionist meme”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

I’ll do the meme. Lemme lemme!

Guess I’m an expansionist then. Hehe.

Yella, please do, please do! I’ll look forward to what you write. πŸ™‚

Um, travelnooks, is that a good thing? Hope so! πŸ˜‰

Hurray!

be honest, how many are you going to do? πŸ˜‰

four I think…

I love memes. I’m on it. It may take me a few days. I look forward to a busy weekend because we are having a large cookout on Sunday for my Birthday but I will do this one. It looks very interesting.

Yella, yippee! And if you do four, I’ll read them all. πŸ™‚

sulz, I assume your question was for Yella? πŸ˜‰ As for me, I absolutely refuse to do more than two in one week. πŸ˜€

joanharvest, I’m pleased you’re a taker. I will look forward to your (because I already know you are) fascinating answers, thanks! And a very, very happy birthday to you! I hope you have a blast!

Now, you’re getting my head spin. I thought sulz ‘how many’ meant how many categories. And you said you ‘refuse to do more than two in a week’.

I’m an (stage) artist, musician, and since I blog I’m a writer too (though I know I’m not good at it). And I believe that science eventually will be able to answer my questions.

Please explain to me how to do this meme as clear as possible (heheh… I think I’m irritating for this…)

I’m fine with 4 times a week. I just don’t want to do any mistake.

Joanharvest, happy birthday! You don’t invite me??

Great meme, Muse. Haggis. That’s brave! If you do get around to trying it, let me know. I enjoyed both video’s as well.

Hi Yella, maybe sulz saw somewhere that you had decided to do several different people’s memes? Anyway, I don’t find you irritating. πŸ™‚ When I said I’d only do two a week, I meant I would only do two separate memes, or two lists of questions. I would usually answer all the questions on each meme. So, all you have to do is copy the questions to your own blog, and then answer them honestly. That way, we get to find out more about you. From what you’ve said here so far, you sound very interesting! πŸ™‚ (we can all celebrate Joan’s birthday from wherever we are!)

BD, when I DO try Haggis (and I’ve said I would here, so there’s no going back!) I bet the experience will be good for a post! πŸ™‚

i’m so enigmatic i confuse people! πŸ˜› what i meant to ask is how many in that meme muse will do (for the stuff she has yet to do, that is). please excuse me for the confusion!

That means I don’t have to do 4 memes a week. Okay. I’ll be doing it in a few minutes.

Ow, sulz I’m sorry too. It’s not all your fault, you know.

nah, it’s just a simple misunderstanding, yella. πŸ™‚ we’ll all do the meme then, just in case! πŸ˜‰ the more the merrier anyway, right?

[…] got this from begging museditions. Just click the link to read muse’s answers, or… to see how I begged this meme in the […]

I’ve done the meme! Yay!

sulz, oh, my mistake! It looked like the way the comment stream was going you were addressing Yella, but I wasn’t sure. So, to answer your question, honestly I will try “Go” one more time…[gritting teeth], and I’ve said I’d eat Haggis…(just didn’t say when), Some of these I’ve already done, and I don’t know when or if I’ll visit Europe again, but if I do I’m actually curious about Estonia. And it’s in a part of the world I haven’t been to before. So, where does that leave me? I don’t have any reason to Tango or become an Army Officer. Or be an Army Officer that does the Tango. On or off duty. πŸ˜‰

Yella, Yay! I’m coming right over to read it. I agree with sulz, the more the merrier. And, this confusion was good for more hits from both sulz and Yella! Maybe I’ll try being confused again in the future. πŸ™‚

[…] needed to record this momentous event here, on this very blog, because a question on this meme asked me to name a food I hadn’t tried yet, but would, now I’d been asked. I named […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...