Independence and Updates from Space

Posted on July 4, 2008. Filed under: Culture, Musings, Science |

Not only is it a holiday week for those of us in North America, it’s also a slow-posting weekend. I’ve wished some of my Canadian friends a Happy Canada Day (July 1) and, to my fellow Statesians, a good Independence Day, too (July 4). Independence is a wonderful concept. I don’t think it can be achieved merely through establishing national borders, but my country’s “Declaration of Independence” was a good effort, at least. We live in changing times, though; our world is shrinking (just take a look at this blogosphere, for instance) and I’d rather focus on community and inter-communication than divisiveness and borders.

From Space, no one can hear you scre no one can perceive exact borders on the earth. No boundaries; no divisions. With that in mind for this weekend I’ll just give a few updates on spacey stories I’ve been monitoring…

I reported on our local Moonlight Collector most of a year ago. I had quite a time there, and was just getting ready to visit it again when I saw that the Mainstream Media has recently reported on this huge light array. I find the coverage to be pretty balanced, if a bit incredulous. It can be found at this link.

I was sent an email featuring the “top ten images ever captured by the Hubble telescope”. I link to the thumbnails on Space . com. I don’t know about you, but I find these images stunningly beautiful, and, in some way, they give me a sense of hope and contentment. If such beauty, amazement, and wonder can be found beyond our planet, we can find it here, too, can’t we?

Many of you saw the news articles proclaiming things like “The earth is crying!” or, “What a racket: planet earth” or, “The earth sounds really awful!”Β  You can hear for yourself, back on Space . com. (I love this website, but just be advised: if you watch their videos, you’ll get a movie or TV preview first.)Β  I don’t think our planet sounds awful at all, just busy! Some years ago it was thought that potential aliens on other planets might be receiving our television signals, which would explain why they haven’t wanted to visit us. πŸ˜‰ Now, it seems, they’d hear these magnetic disturbances first. Other planets emit these sounds, too. It would be wonderful if we could learn to interpret differences among them to yield useful information.

Finally, an update from our brave and wonderful Phoenix Mars Lander, which successfully landed earlier this year, and has been busy finding WATER, and, perhaps…LIFE? on Mars!!!Β  Is there life on Mars? I don’t know. Do I want there to be life on Mars? You betcha!

Here’s to a good, safe, heathy and joyful weekend. πŸ˜€

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “Independence and Updates from Space”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Happy 4th of July!

I find the images beautiful too. The planet sounds are very screechy, but I agree that they do sound more busy than awful.

Of course there’s Life on Mars! It’s a TV show with John Simm, isn’t it? But finding actual Martian lifeforms would be very interesting, even if they turned out to be only fossilised bacteria! πŸ˜‰

I am an amateur astronomer. I have a good telescope and can see the rings of Saturn with it. I go on Space.com all the time and also Spaceweather.com is great. I like spaceweather because they keep track of when there could be aurora in our area. I am always looking up at night. I met a man a few years back who had a huge Dobsonian telescope and he showed my sister and I stuff that I had only seen in books. My sister and I can name all the constellations in our hemisphere. I get extremely excited when there is a meteor shower. I look forward to the Perseid shower in August. Have a great weekend.

Thanks, B0bby! I appreciate it. Thanks for the reminder that we already do know about Life on Mars. πŸ˜‰ There’s so much more universe to study!

Oh, yes, joan, I remember that about you. It must be amazing to see those “live” in the night sky! I shall check out spaceweather, thanks for that. πŸ™‚

Those photographs are stunning! It’s hard to imagine that out there.
I couldn’t get any sound on the one link to hear the earth. I’ll try again.

I don’t know what to think about “life” out there. It would be something else though, wouldn’t it?

Thanks for sharing, Muse. An eye-opener for a protectionist like myself. πŸ™‚

Hope you enjoyed yours I did (even if it was in a hospital)!

As a person who is dire at maths I never really got around to the calculus of life out there – but it can be done pretty simple.

What I was taught was this:

Take the known stars and times that by 5. Then deduct the original figure – once you have done that you will have an approximation of the planets in known space. Now, life sustaining planets make up 1/9th of those planets – if you divide by 9 the planets you have TIMES that by the known species on Earth (a very average planet) you have the probability of life.

What I asked – because I am crap at maths, was:

“But, what is the possibility of life in our galaxy?” The professor I was speaking to said “Are you asking me to put it into layman’s terms? Life on other planets than Earth?”

I, of course, said “Yes!”

“Well” he said “Abso-f*%king-lutely guaranteed!”

I thought that was a clear enough answer. πŸ™‚

BD, I had to look up the word “protectionist”. Hmmm. Hadn’t heard it before—can you believe that? I’m glad you enjoyed the Hubble images, they really are spectacular, and I’m amazed by the colors. I hope the sound works for you next time you check. πŸ™‚

Thank you much, kaylee, I did! Dinner, movie, concert and fireworks! I liked them all. Did they do something special for all of you in the hospital? (They darn well should have!) πŸ˜€

Will, I may just need to sue you for causing bodily harm one of these days! My ribs hurt now. πŸ˜‰ I’d love to see evidence of ET life in my lifetime. Some people are frightened at the prospect, but I figure if what’s happening ON the planet doesn’t scare me; news from OFF the planet shouldn’t either.

LOL – Glad to make ya laugh, Muse. That really happened by the way lol.

Me too, I would love to meet an ET – but what would they be really like? I ask myself this question, if they were coming to earth to conquer they really wouldn’t have much opposition, if they can come billions of miles they can blow up a tank. So I can only see them coming in peace. WE on the other hand could probably start an intergalactic war because they came to say hello.

I do completely believe you, Will. You just have a way of telling a story… πŸ™‚
I shall hold you to your vision of peaceful aliens. Cheers to that!

I tried again with no luck, so I went to youtube and found a video. Is it high pitched frequency sounds? You’re right, it does sound busy!

NO but i had fun πŸ™‚

Glad you found a way to make it work, BD

Oh, good, kaylee. I watched some of the fireworks on TV and they were awesome. Especially the ones from Boston! πŸ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...