Blogosophy

Posted on August 18, 2008. Filed under: Health, Musings, Philosophy |

I’ve been doing a fair amount of thinking about what it means to blog, lately, for a variety of reasons. I’ve said many times that an unexpected benefit has been finding new friends in this community. In a way, online friends are the ideal kind of friend for me. With the time delay inherent in writing a post, publishing a post, making comments, and responding to comments, it fits the way I think and react. πŸ™‚

Of course there is no ultimate reality to the concept of “time” at all. We tend to think of it as a constant, but, for someone researching theoretical physics, it is simply a mental construct we’ve invented to interact as beings in physical reality. Time, in essence, “keeps everything from happening at once.”

I tend to feel most “me” when I have a role to play in a group, or, at the opposite side of the spectrum in one-on-one conversations. (I’ve always liked playing basketball one-on-one best as well.)Β  πŸ˜‰ Additionally, I don’t much like to discuss current events (unless they have something to do with science) or politics (unless it has something to do with science), so “party talk” is not my thing. I’m here on this planet to explore ideas, keeping in mind that “thoughts are things”.

So, blogging has felt like a good community for me as we’re interacting almost totally at the idea level, even within the friendships I’ve found. No good friendship sustains itself, however, without emotions getting involved at some point. I’ve watched a lot of emotion flung about online, and while I’m all for people having an outlet; a place to explore and deal with feelings, it seems prudent to take a step back and allow that time-delay element to come into play before posting a reaction.

Most people online, and locally, want to be heard, (or in online’s case, “read”) not advised. It is human nature to try to “fix” things for people, to make them “all better”. While this can sometimes be problematic in “real life”, in the online world it feels even more precarious. No matter how much we’ve read another’s blog, or emailed them, or IM’d them, there is still a lot of background in their personal lives we may not know, and haven’t been able to observe.

It seems that some, myself included, can rush to judgment, or advice, or to emoting themselves, based on the content of one post! While it’s fine to respond to a particular post, if the poster is encouraging comments, it’s not as fine, at least to me, to read into a post or an email things that just aren’t there, that may be emotional triggers for us. If we were with the person, in person, it might be a good idea to offer advice (and in my opinion, only if asked, even then), but I would hope this would come from some knowledge of the individual, or careful questioning of a newer acquaintance—much of which there simply hasn’t been time for in blog relationships.

I’m the first to say that online friendships are as real as local ones. Maybe it’s just me (probably is, in fact), but it takes me a good deal of time to consider someone a friend in my personal life. It may take even longer online, because we are exposed to just some aspects of a person, not the totality that is them. Every person and every relationship has its own individual pattern, but, generally speaking, I’m coming to think it may take approximately twice as long to see an online friend as a whole and complete entity; to imagine them having a full and complete life even when they’re not here with me in bloggieland! πŸ˜‰

And, ironically, the online life seems to move much faster; to have its own compressed rate of interaction. When someone who generally posts regularly doesn’t post for three days, I sometimes wonder if they are OK; if something has happened to them. With a real life friend I wouldn’t dream of thinking such a thing after not hearing from them in three days, or eight, or two months…I just figure they’re off “doing their life”, as I am “doing mine”.

Time, again.

The weird thing about online acquaintances is, when I turn off my computer, you all go away. It’s not that I don’t think about you; I do. I’ll remember that blog friend X is going to a concert, or starting a new job, or just got a new pet. I’ll wonder how all that is going, just as I would with a local friend. I jut don’t have the same “gone away” feeling about people I know in person, even if I don’t see them for a long time. They leave whatever space we’ve occupied together for a length of time, but their consciousness is not shut off from my perception. This apparent dichotomy actually bothers me a little bit, and therefore I want to give it a “deep think”.

On the other hand, in another way, I’m much more aware, daily, even hourly sometimes, of online buddies, than I am of those I know in flesh and bone, and I’ve caught myself saying “I want to turn the computer on and see how everyone’s doing.” As if you all live in there—the CPU, or the monitor, or where? (You don’t, do you? Live in my computer, I mean?) And, what if I don’t have access to the Internet for a while? Do you cease to exist? Do I? We have no other way to communicate (in most cases), so how long would it take for you and I to start losing a sense of the reality of the other? πŸ˜•

I realize this may all sound melancholy (I’m in a pensive mood), and I don’t want to give offense. To anyone reading this I’ve called my friend, or said you were important to me, I want you to know I meant that, sincerely. If I turned on the computer one day, and you weren’t in there, I’d miss you terribly! And of course I know you are real people, with real lives, somewhere. It’s a physical act to type on a keyboard, or speak into a microphone, or however else we may compose these posts. All I have, to know you are there, and that I have been here (in cyberspace) is code; pixels; the words and images of an intangible web. It doesn’t make you or I any the less valuable for that.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

29 Responses to “Blogosophy”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

To quote Richard Nixon: What?

Just kidding. ‘Bout time I’ve found your blog after your comments on Will’s blog. I like it. Cheers!

How true, Muse. I have mixed feelings about the internet vs “real life.” Of course all of us are real here but still…

While I may talk on-line to some people and like them on-line. In the real world, it could be a different story. When I can look into someones eyes. I can get a sense of what the person is about. Typing something, it’s easy to portray any image you want.
Same thing, not to offend anyone, but I tend to regard on-line people more as a pen-pal type thing. Even though I don’t actually have any. LOL! I don’t even use my IM unless it’s with my husband. E-mail…I rarely send them. I’d make a horrible pen friend.

I’m generally a wary person. And the internet seems a little less “real” for me. But, then again, I have met people on-line too. Something I never thought I would do.

So, you are a science person. What kind of science? GMO’s?

I know what you mean about online friendships. Sometimes I’ve heard people say that it’s not “real” interaction and it doesn’t matter what you say to someone online, but that’s never made sense to me – you’re still talking to a real person!

I can understand why it would seem like everyone has “gone away” when you switch off the computer, because people you know online are a long way away, so in a way, they have gone away. Or you’ve gone away from them. It’s a strange thought.

very thoughtful post with an unusual melancholic slant to your otherwise mostly cheery sort. what i enjoyed a lot about online interaction is that everything depends on me alone. i’m not recognised by the company i keep or the job i do, but what i say. what goes on in my blog you might say is a reflection of the commitment i put into it, content and relationship-wise.

i don’t do party talk either. in person, i have one of the worst conversational skills because i’m shy and i don’t know what to say and if i have something to say i’m too shy to say it. online, shyness isn’t an issue because i get to form my words properly, or read a bit about the blogger that i may comment upon. i won’t have such clues to go upon in person.

you are spot on about wanting to be read and not advised. if i wanted advice, i know how to ask for it (i have several posts asking for advice). that’s why i have the tendency to write cryptic posts full of angst or sadness. in my mind, it’s purely for me to express them and nor to seek response from my readers, the way my usual posts do.

it’s human nature to judge, but sometimes we may not realise if we are jumping to conclusions with our judgements. i have certainly been guilty of that many times. and it’s also easier to see online personalities as non-entities, especially when you disagree with them. it’s easier to feel your own hurt than it is to understand their reasons, which may be the reason people fall out online. that’s why diplomacy to me is so important in online communication. so many things can be lost in text (tone, context, clarity), but diplomacy can make up for that. a diplomatic response shows that the writer is thinking about your feelings and does not want to hurt you any more than it might, even though s/he feels the need to express his/her opinion.

i also shut off from my online life when i’m away. i don’t think what my online buddies are doing when i’m bored the way i might with say, angel or 9. i do think if something is blog-worthy though, when an interesting incident happens in my life! πŸ˜› i wrote the brick-throwing incident about an hour after it happened, haha.

and i do miss blog buddies, especially regular commenters. the ones who are most consistent in their online activities, i feel closer to because there are more chances to connect with them. i try to detach myself from erratic posters because i don’t want to invest myself in someone who think their online life is secondary to their real lives, because to me my online life holds equal importance to my actual life. half of my life is online!

phew, that’s almost a mini-post from me, but you provoked me this time with this musing! πŸ™‚

Sulz: I, like you, have terrible social skills in large group settings, partly because so much of my conversation is relative to my experiences with people I know. It also doesn’t help that I have pretty awful social anxiety (fear of being judged), so those in combination pretty much shut me down at parties on the like. The good news is that, online, those anxieties vanish.

I’ll check out your blog though, and will probably become a regular commenter, because that’s just what I do.

leapsecond: i have the same social anxiety myself! which is why i hate doing presentations or anything requiring me to be in the centre of attention in front of a group of people, however long i know them. it must be all those eyes, i think!

i do hope you’ll be! πŸ™‚

Very interesting… I’m the opposite of Sulz & leapsecond in that I’m very gregarious and talk all the time, love parties, love to talk to strangers. and yet online, I feel like I’m a horrible commenter and can never think of a thing to type! and yet I’m anonymous – go figure and yet the fact that it can be read and re-read feels so PERMANENT but what I say at a party vanished unless heard by someone (and they’re drinking – what will they remember?) This is strange; I’ll have to think some more on this. Great post musE, really.

I’ve made alot of friends online over the years, either over instant messenger or from online forums. Some of these friendships I still have and communicate with the people pretty regularly. Some of them I guess have vanished, because something in life has changed, interests, or whatnot. But I do still catch myself wondering how some of these people are doing at times.

In all honesty, I think my replies, comments, and posts online, reflect the true me more than maybe if I were to try to say the same thing in person. Online I get to think and reread things, and make sure what I’m truly trying to say is there. In person, well you only get one shot to say it right. I’ve always been a bit more on the shy side, so second guessing myself has always been a pretty common occurance.

One thing that I’m sure is common for alot of people, and I even catch myself doing this at times, is trying to figure out the tone or emotions behind the text that someone has typed. Plain ole text can be read so many different ways that you can begin to wonder, are they mad, sad, happy, being smart, etc. Smileys help out a tremendous amount though, which is why I use them alot.

Great post Muse!

You wouldn’t think it – but I am the argumentative one at a party, Muse – I know UNBELIEVABLE!

No really – I stink at parties but other people tell me I don’t, often remembering “Oh – The English guy!” Opinionated shite I am, must be – but I still attend.

I would love, just LOVE to be a party wallflower, this is true, but I can’t. I really do like talking to people.

And Bobby is right – online friendships are real friendships!

When I first did the Pakistani Spectator thing, I thought of you all before the e-mail “Please recommend others” – I will mail them to get Leap (Brett) interviewed. He is going to be a real handful but a bloody good blogger to boot!

You guys! I’m going to have to rewrite my whole post now, because you all are just the most real and awesome people!!! [Note to future readers: I didn’t change a thing. But I have been changed by these comments.] πŸ™‚

Hi, leapsecond, and welcome to my world! Re: your first comment—that is not an inappropriate reaction to this post. I had a similar one myself after I wrote it. πŸ˜‰ Re: second comment—do, indeed, indulge in sulz’s blog; it’s a fun place to be. That’s interesting about the parties. Our social conditioning would imply that “everyone” likes parties, but there seem to be a fair number of us that don’t. Thanks for the visit, and it’s great you came here from Will’s place. {Wonder what I said there. I don’t comment that much on his, even though I’m crazy about the bloke, as I’m not very politically motivated, but I “use” him (sorry, Will) to get bits and pieces of interesting information I feel I should know.}

BD, I can’t for a moment imagine meeting someone in the flesh that I’ve only known online! Wooooh, scary! I did have a pen pal for eight whole years when I was 10. We kept at it pretty regularly; I was impressed at our dedication. She stopped writing when she got married! I mean, where were her priorities??? πŸ˜‰ GMO’s, you mean Genetically Modified Organisms? I don’t focus particularly on them, but there’s interesting research going on there, most of which I have mixed feelings about. I like archeology, and, particularly, theoretical physics! If you can read quantum theory and not get very excited and deeply apprehensive, then…well it’s just hard to imagine! πŸ˜€

It is a strange thought, isn’t it B0bby? We all are very real here, I have no trouble with that. I think, because we read the blogs of people who write on topics that interest us, we feel we may know them more quickly. We often find kindred spirits through particular posts, and imagine that we must have many, many things in common. That’s why I said that bit about it taking longer to get to “really” know an online friend. It’s harder to see the nuances. But, certainly I agree that we ought to have decent manners online and off. πŸ™‚

Wow, sulz! You are more than usually verbose, here! Thank you, that’s so cool! Yes, this is a less-than-bubbly post for me. I almost didn’t want to write it, but it wanted to be written by me. If that makes any sense. I’ve been thinking and thinking and thinking a lot, and now my brain hurts; I’d better give it a rest. πŸ™‚ You start off with a thoughtful point. With a blog, you are in total control of how information is presented. Of course you don’t control the comments (if you allow free commenting) but you can walk away and consider how to respond before you do; something that’s not usual in physical life. Yeah, that advice thing is a sticky issue for me. I do remember you asking for advice sometimes, and I respect that. But, if you’re like me, a lot of posts are: “here’s my opinion”. I don’t expect to be told how I can improve on that, LOL πŸ˜‰ Again, I agree about the diplomacy aspect. I don’t always react diplomatically; I sometimes form judgments based on nothing but mood. But what I try to do, most of the time, is walk away from the blog if something has happened there which causes me to become upset. It’s better to come back later when some of the initial emotion has calmed down. So, you have that dichotomy thing going on, too. Blogging is equally important to the rest of your life. For me too! I think I wrote elsewhere that I live my life in a series of “communities” (with also a lot of necessary alone time) and the blog life is certainly an important community to me. It’s kind of amazing to think I didn’t even know what it was like two years ago, though!!! Thank you for such an extensive comment that added much to this discussion. I’m glad I provoked you! πŸ˜›

Interesting point, o curious one, about the permanence of blog posts and comments. They tend to exist “out there” even if we delete them after they’re published. One does want to consider carefully before hitting that “submit” button! Well, I experience you as a terrific writer and commenter, C., but you can be very thoughtful and serious (which I like!) Perhaps your blog is your alter-ego. It’s great that you are gregarious at parties. I will picture you that way now! πŸ˜‰

Have you Shane? That’s interesting to read. I haven’t been at this very long. Oh, you touched on a point I forgot to mention, thank you! I do very much feel, as you have expressed, that much of what I write here is more “me” than things I may say in person. You are right, we have that time-delay to think about and edit the words we write, and most of what I write here comes from that deeper more authentic part of me. Yay, a good thing! πŸ™‚ So, you try to match moods or tones with people’s words! Interesting! I use the smileys, too, although their overuse (by me or others) can make a post look a little cluttered. They can really help clarify whether something is “tongue-in-cheek” so people won’t think we’re being too stern, or whatever. Hey, there ought to be a “tongue-in-cheek” smiley! πŸ˜› Thank you!

No, Will!!! YOU??? Argumentative? Opinionated? Give me a mo’ while I recover from the shock!!! πŸ˜‰ If you indeed “stink” at parties, that’s hard to reconcile with liking to talk to people. Usually people love to be listened to, and enjoy attention. B0bby is right, and you are real times 10, my friend. Well, I might remember you as “the Yorkshire guy”, tee hee. πŸ™‚ Oh, yes. If Leap does that interview, I’ll be very interested in reading it.

I agree with you that online friends are as real as local ones. I seem to think they are on different levels – while I lament the fact I don’t have friends (I mean local ones) who share the same interest, I stick to them and we generally hang out and just talk about life together. Whereas my online acquaintances usually share the same interests, be it blogging, cooking, photography … I’m always part of a forum here and there.
Anyway, I guess when you don’t feel the “gone away” feeling for local friends, perhaps they are not the ones you hang out with everyday? Say if a classmate or co-worker whom you meet and interact with everyday goes away for a week or two, you’d miss her, right?
No matter what, friends are defined only by how much we cherish them, not by who they are, or where they are. πŸ™‚

word to your last line, lovelyloey. but also, it’s important to let those people know you feel that way! πŸ™‚

I just finished reading lovelyloey’s comment and thought: that’s it! I’m from a small town and through work I’m around all sorts of people with many interests and from all cultures. I talk to as many people as I can because I find listening to their stories, about where they have been, how they lived, their past, their “old countries” fascinating.
I get home to my small town, tired, and filled with people just like me. And not much to do here either.
I think that is why I usually connect with elderly people. Now they have stories to tell and things to teach you!
Here, on-line, I can seek out interesting people. I can talk to people who have the same interests as me. An added bonus, I can be sitting in my PJ’s all comfy, and talk with some of the most interesting people. Can you beat that?
Even better: I can come here, to Muse, and never know what will be here, but I know it will have my mind going off into who knows what. Two minutes later I can be posting politics at Will’s. Then go for a laugh at Joan’s to calm down from whatever made me mad at Will’s. LOL!
I just created the perfect night and in my Pj’s!

What is so great is that from what Muse does for a living in and what I do. Unless I was doing a job for her, I would never get to meet someone like her. Say, let’s go for coffee and talk about this. It would probably never happen. I get to talk to someone I think is brilliant and who makes me think…really think. To me that is the greatest thing about blogging.
It is so true, we can take our time with commenting, or I can look up a word that I have no idea what it meant! LOL! In person, you don’t have that. I would be scared to meet you, Muse, in person for that same reason! πŸ™‚
Oh but, I’d love to pick your brain! And wish that you were my neighbor. πŸ™‚

Such an interesting read, after an interesting experience in another blogging community. A fellow there took off for vacation in July, and simply disappeared. He was a beloved blogger, although he commented more than he posted himself. He also had some health problems, and after he didn’t surface for a while, people began to become concerned.

After a month, things went into full gear. People from his state contacted his last employer, the police, hospitals – everyone. After days of anxiety-turning-into-anger, he popped up, and is now being alternately chastised and hugged. As it turns out, he did have some health problems, and was with his biological family.

All of us on the site learned something about the depth of connections that develop on the web, even when we’re not aware of them. The one who “disappeared” never considered the fact that others might miss him and be concerned. Those who DID become concerned were amazed at the depth of their own feelings.

Everyone involved has made the pledge now: even if we don’t want to make details of our comings and goings in the “real” world public, a simple note like “I’ll be gone for a bit – will check in from time to time” can prevent a lot of anxiety. And a few bloggers I know have arranged for family or trusted friends to post on their behalf if necessary.

It’s a whole new world out here!

As far as my own blog is concerned I just blog about myself and my family. My family are my best friends. I have two other friends but i rarely see them. It’s all family with me. i really enjoy my time alone.

Blogging has been great for me. A way of meeting new people, getting new ideas, having great friendships but not actually having to clean up the house or cook for them because they are visiting. I still get to be alone, yet still have all these friends who I believe really care about me as I do them. I get to voice my opinion and respect theirs.

This was a great post, Muse. It got everyone thinking but you are good at that.

thebeadden: you know, you are so right! i never thought of it that way (having a good time in my home and my rattiest clothes being my pjs). and it’s true that i’d never have met people like you or muse or even lovelyloey without blogging, not even a local version of you people because i always feel awkward around people socially, older people especially. and even then, it would a long time before we could get to that level of closeness that would facilitate discussion of topics like this! another great thing about blogging – you don’t have to be somebody’s best friend to access a person’s personal side. personal not necessarily being private secrets, but just a private side you wouldn’t normally reveal to just anybody.

shoreacres: wow, what an interesting blogger’s story! he must be very loved in his blogging community. hmm, this could be good blog fodder… *brain wheels spinning furiously*

I love you πŸ™‚ Thats all!

What an interesting post. And such thoughtful replies! I think YOU are well loved, Muse!

Getting to know others through blogging is different that getting to know someone in person, and yet I do think you really can get a good idea of who a person is by what he or she writes and how that person responds to others online. Most people’s “true selves” shine through eventually.

Although I would not consider myself shy, I do find it much easier to express myself in writing compared to doing so verbally. Not to mention that one of the biggest blessings in life for me is to know that I have made someone smile or laugh after reading one of my posts.

One of the things I appreciate most about blogging is the kind encouragement I receive from my blogging pals. I am always amazed that people take the time to leave a comment on my blog. It spurs me on to think and write and grow and then write some more.

And so, I’ll return the favor and encourage you, Muse. Keep up the good work! You are much appreciated.

Oops, lots of typos in my comment. But, I still meant every word of it! πŸ™‚

Hi, lovelyloey. I agree with what you say about finding people of similar interests online. It is easier here, isn’t it? We can search the WordPress tags, for instance, whereas I wouldn’t be likely to go up to a person at a party with my checklist: “OK, are you interested in science? What about music? philosophy?” πŸ˜‰ Still, I’ve found good friends here that really don’t share that many of my interests. We’ve seen each other in a forum, or in comments on other blogs. So, really it’s the best of both worlds! I like your questions about whether I miss local friends when they’ve been gone. Kinda yes, kinda no. I’m a bit of a loner, so I’m happy in my own company and with my blog friends and those few I see frequently. But, my choral group started rehearsing this week, after being off all summer, and I did tell several people “I missed you!” So, you’ve got me there. I was glad to see them, but I don’t always notice that just going along every day. And your last line (I agree with sulz, there) is particularly pertinent. If I look into my heart, I know that I value people, whether they are online, or off. Thank you for this wonderful comment! πŸ™‚

sulz, I’ll second that, and thanks for the reminder. I sometimes forget… 😳

Interesting about the small town/big city differences, BD. And I love your perfect night in your PJs! So true! Most of you would not want to see me first thing in the morning when I roll out of bed, seriously—but I can still turn on the computer and check in with you all, and that late night time is when I do most of my commenting. Great insight! I appreciate another point you made, too: we might not cross paths in our professional lives, but you have such a fabulous mind and point of view in addition to your work! Well, if we were neighbors I’ll bet we’d get along really well! Hmmm, you never know… πŸ˜€

Thank you shoreacres, I so appreciate your story! I’ve actually left written instructions with my password and such in case I am unable to blog for some reason. I addressed this in a previous post after reading about this issue in some other blogs. You add to the discussion with your recommendation that we all leave a brief message if we’ll be away for a while. If a blogger I read regularly posts that s/he will be on vacation or otherwise away, then I’m not concerned when they don’t post as often. In fact, thebeadden, the above commenter recently came back from a trip and I commented that I’d missed her—I really did! Thank you for demonstrating the real and heartfelt connections we can have in this community. I’m convinced! And I took a look at your blog and it’s beautiful visually and in its content. I’m looking forward to reading more.

Joan, you are blessed with a great family. Some of mine are, too, but I don’t live near them. I love that you said about blogging that you get to be alone, yet still be with your friends! I know, with me, that it sometimes seems a large effort to plan a meeting with a RL friend, but I can be all by myself, turn on the computer, and there you are! Thank you for your last sentence. πŸ™‚ The ideas and comments here are just phenomenal!

I agree with you about Bead’s PJ’s, sulz. Now I’m imagining all of us having one big international pajama party! πŸ˜› You bring up another issue to consider in all this. Many of us spend time with people close to our age, or social status, or relationship status, but with blogs I’ve been gratified at how many people of different ages and backgrounds will get into conversations. Hah, so you’re going to use shoreacres‘ story, found on my blogpost! Well, OK πŸ˜‰

That’s ALL, kaylee?!?! Sweetie, that’s a lot! πŸ˜€ YOU are lovely to say so!

Oh, teeveebee, thank you so much. I’m basking in the glow of these amazing comments. Yes, if we take the time to read and consider the writing in blogs, we really can learn much about each other. Writing is easier for me too, but it takes a long time. πŸ™‚ Well, I’ve said to you that you make me laugh, and you make me think, and that is true. I agree, even after all these months I’m so appreciative of every single comment. Each represents an investment in time, care, and energy, and I’m quite cognizant of that! Thank you for appreciating me {{hugs}}. As for typos, I fixed the only one I found, but it’s late, forgive me if I missed any. πŸ˜‰

[…] on a less obnoxious note, Muse’s latest post, in particular this comment, has got my brain wheels […]

AWWW no you are great πŸ™‚

Oh, yeah kaylee? It takes one to know one. πŸ™‚

Hey Muse, I haven’t been online for quite a while now. I’ve been working on a huge web project that has sucked all my time, Lol. This post of yours couldn’t have come at any better time than now. Well I haven’t been able to post anything for the past two weeks because I kind of hit a “mental block”, I guess I’ve always regarded my posts as just thoughts, as I try to keep away from emotions as possible. But then again, every emotion is expressed as a thought.

I have to say that I have been feeling some emptiness from not being online, I’ve been spending a lot of time with friends and family , but I still felt like there’s a major gap created by missing my online friends. I think at some level, we tend to be more sincere and bold to express ourselves online than we are face to face. So that’s what makes the blogshere so real, people boldly expressing themselves without any limits.

So I think we all tap into each others in-depth thoughts, than we’d possibly can in the physical world. And the good thing is, there are no strings attached, so we can not hurt each other in the end too, because we don’t owe anything to each other and therefore have nothing to lose.

It’s great being back online, you inspire me to be better blogger Muse!!! πŸ˜‰

Your blogosophy is so true… Mind provoking

Oh, so that’s what you were up to, Tazzy! I’ve been popping over now and then to see if you were around. I think we all get “bloggers block” at times—I know I do. It can be frustrating when I know I want to post something…but what?
I’m taking in what you’re saying here: “every emotion is expressed as a thought”. I hadn’t really, well, “thought” about it that way. Even little babies, who haven’t acquired language yet, still have thoughts about the emotions they’re having. That’s how we know we’re emo ?!? πŸ˜• πŸ™‚
I find very fascinating what you say about being more sincere and bold online (you’ve certainly got me thinking!). I’ve read that some invent artificial personalities as a sort of game, and while that can be entertaining for them, I guess, I don’t believe it’s true of most bloggers I meet. Many of us are thrilled to have this creative and philosophical outlet, and, I think in my case, I do say things here that I might not as much off line. For one thing, there’s no one around to interrupt me, when my thoughts are flowing, as there would be in a conversation., πŸ˜‰ but also, this venue does seem to invite candidness, maybe partly because of the anonymity.
If someone doesn’t like what I’m saying, they can “turn me off” πŸ˜‰ and go elsewhere, as can I. If it’s my neighbor two doors down, with that DOG…well, it’s not as easy. πŸ™‚
Your paragraph about no strings attached is quite provocative as well. I feel I have an emotional investment in some of my blogging buddies, and feel the full range of emotions I would in some real life relationships…BUT that is my own doing and responsibility. Hmmm. Let me think about that one some more. There are some risks we might take here in blogworld that we might not elsewhere.
Tazzy, yours has been a truly wonderful comment. I’m thrilled to see you back online, and very grateful you chose to share this here. Thank you, thank you!

[…] Author: Pavan Heinous Misinterpretation Author: Kartz An Artisitic Awakening Author: Museditions Blogosophy Author: […]

[…] Author: Ringchen Lonely..I am So Lonely Author: Pavan Heinous Misinterpretation Author: Kartz Blogosophy Author: Museditions My Reviews Author: […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...