Coffee and Pie

Posted on August 26, 2008. Filed under: Culture, Health, Music, Musings, Philosophy |

I received a very nice award from excellent ella of “From Scratch” fame. She’s sent me this:

A strong cup of coffee

I will admit to partaking of this brew several times a week, so it’s very much appreciated. Thanks ellaella! There’s nothing better with a (strong) cup of coffee than a nice refreshing piece of pie, so of course I went to get a link to ella’s blueberry pie post, and found this recipe for blueberry lemon biscuits on the front page. They looked so yummy I wanted to chew on my monitor. πŸ˜‰ She said that these would be the easiest biscuits I would ever make! I like that word “easy”. We’re not quite at the time of year when I’m willing to turn on the oven yet; it’s still too hot, but soon, ella, very soon!

However, after distracting me in that manner, her blog did disclose her amazing and wonderful blueberry pie—I knew it was there—which she doesn’t say is easy, but she does say, foolproof! That means I could make it!

So, with pie and coffee firmly in hand (or at least in blog), memories of a song my parents were fond of (as were their parents) began to surface. This is a depression-era song, written by Irving Berlin, and called Let’s Have Another Cup of Coffee (and Let’s Have Another Piece of Pie). I think people who didn’t live through the depression sometimes think everyone was, well, depressed during that time. This exuberant song disproves that, and makes the point that joy can always be found, even in simple things like coffee (or beverage of your choice) and pie. This song also contains the famous phrase “Let a smile be your umbrella.” Indeed.

I chose this recording of the song because the joy and fun comes through loud and clear. It evokes the era with it’s focus on the 78rpm record those of the times would have had. It’s a great recording, scratches and all!

There are also all kinds of pie metaphors: pie charts; “easy as pie” One actually called The Pie Metaphor, and this, which suggests that while I may be enjoying my blueberry pie, you may have your very own cherry pie; enough variety for everyone!

Enjoy! In every sense (Enjoy means to embody joy! Sounds good to me.) Thank you ellaella for leading me down this road. Yum.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “Coffee and Pie”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Wow, there’s nothing as classical and soothing as music played from a gramophone. I think it has a lot to do the music that was produced during it’s era, purely classics. I loved the song, I’d enjoy having a cup of coffee and a piece of pie to that tune. Hmmm…

It really is the simple things that brings real happiness. I love the line you quoted from the song “Let a smile be your umbrella”, it’s so true. A smile as your umbrella in rainy days, and also in sunny days for shade. Always wear a smile πŸ˜€

Good morning! I’ve got my coffee right here and sipped away while enjoying that delightful song. It could be a jingle, coulnd’t it? And I actually watched that record spin for 3 minutes. Maybe now I understand why people during the Depression (and before and after) gathered ’round the radio and looked at it during their favorite shows, the way we watch tv.

I’m glad you got a kick out of your cup of coffee and for heaven’s sake, you could have used my pie photo. It is easy, as pies go, since there’s only one crust.

Thanks for a lovely start to the day!

Catchy tune. Maybe everyone was depressed during the Depression, so they listened to songs like that to cheer themselves up.

Mmm… pie…

I LOVE PIE! and coffee…

I certainly do my best to wear a smile, Tazzy. It seems much easier these days than when I was a bit younger and a bit more “emo”. πŸ˜‰ Ah, yes, the simple things… One of the great things about YouTube is that so many “classic” items are getting posted, from film, television, lectures, and music. I’ve found many wonderful “‘Tubes” there. Thank you!

That is funny, I forgot about people gathering ’round the radio in the living room, ella. It had pride of place, as the TV does now. You can still see that in older movies. It is a great song, isn’t it? I can’t imagine feeling blue listening. Well, I didn’t want to steal your art! But, since you’ve given me permission, thank you! {Note to readers after ella’s comment: I have replaced my generic, not-very-luscious pie photo with ella’s blueberry pie. She has the best food photography on the web; I’m amazed my monitor has survived the assault. I’ve put up the thumbnail size, but really, go click on the blueberry pie recipe so you can see it in all its glory! The luscious berries are right in your face; mmm}

Thanks, B0bby! Well, certainly it was frightening to be out of a job, and not able to feed ones family. But, I still think people had fun—it’s just human nature. There are those who believe we are in an economic depression now, and some exhibit fear, which is understandable, but we still find time to blog, and visit theme parks, and enjoy nature. Glad you liked the pie! πŸ™‚

Great, C. ! I’m happy you found some here! πŸ˜› Thanks.

How funny!…I am from a region which is famous for its blueberries…We have a nickname Blueberry! (Les Bluets)…There is also a legend saying that u can find a blueberry as big as a pie..Ya, sure!..On another note there was a big fire in 1870 which destroyed the whole land and it has favoured the growth of blueberry bush..So, if u want some blueberry pie recipes..No problem, piece of cake..See this link for a piece of Canadian blueberry history..http://www.saguenaylacsaintjean.net/1082_an.html

Congrats on your award, Muse. Mmmmm…pie. Those lemon biscuits look so good!

My husbands Great Aunt lived through the depression as a child. She said they never even knew there was one at the time. They were too busy having fun.

Take care. πŸ™‚

My stealing that pie;) and how you been? I have been great πŸ™‚

That’s amazing, my Colourful Blueberry friend! I went to the link you shared, and I saw the blueberries! It’s so beautiful there, too—I must go someday. Interesting that the fire made the land good for blueberries. You should be getting lots of tourists there now because it’s in the news how good blueberries are for us (lots of antioxidants). Besides, they are GOOD! yum. I use pure Canadian Maple Syrup, too, but it’s getting kind of expensive…

Don’t they look scrumptious, BD? I’m a big fan of scones, but don’t eat them much because of the millions of calories! But these look manageable as well as delicious. Thank you! I think I’ve earned my strong cup of coffee, toiling away at my blog…LOL! Also, thank you for proving my point! I liked the story about your great Aunt-in-Law. I think the human spirit shines through! We’re having lots of politics in the US right now, and I’m hopeful. πŸ™‚

I’m very well, kaylee! What are you doing posting so soon after the surgery?!? You are remarkable; I’m so glad to hear you are great! πŸ˜€ Yes, when you get home, by all means make some of that pie.

I have a nice cup of coffee here…but my mouth is watering for the pie!! πŸ™‚ Congrats on the award.

Congrats on the award Muse! Those blueberry lemon biscuits do look very delicious as does the blackberry pie!! YUM! πŸ™‚

Congratulations on your award. I love the song. I have always loved the big Bands form the 40’s like Glen Miller. I remember the stories my father used to tell me of the Depression. They had no money but they had what they needed and were happy.

I’m glad you are enjoying the coffee, Apar! Thank you. πŸ™‚

Thank you, Shane! And yes, don’t they just? I recommend all of ella’s food…and even some of her political ideas, LOL. πŸ˜‰

Thanks for sharing your father’s story, Joan. I truly believe it’s the simple things that make us the happiest, as cliched as that may sound. I, too, love big band and swing; I’ve seen/heard the Glen Miller Orchestra in person (of course Mr. Miller was long gone, but the orchestra carried on in his name).


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...