Mememememe

Posted on September 23, 2008. Filed under: Culture, Games, Musings |

I hadn’t noticed before that the Internet phenomenon known as a “meme” is two “me’s” put together. In my last post, I talked about how I’m selfish like a cat; that one was all about “Me”. The word meme, though, (as defined by Wikipedia) doesn’t mean “double me” or anything remotely like that. Here’s what they have to say:

Meme, or MEME, may mean:

  • Meme, a term coined by Richard Dawkins, referring to a unit of cultural information transferable from one mind to another. A derivation of either French mΓͺme (lit. “same”), or Greek mimeme (something imitated). See also Mimesis.
    • An Internet meme, a meme or fad that spreads quickly through the Internet.

I was only familiar with the first of these four definitions. I had not heard of Bioninformatics, which, in my brief skimming of the article I feel deserves further investigation. I find most kinds of science interesting, except for the boring kinds of science, of course. If Bioinformatics isn’t boring, it has the potential to be fascinating indeed! Computer models of the genome! Machine modeling the process of evolution!

I also had not heard of Milosh, who I find is a Canadian electronic musician whose training was started on ‘cello. Nice music. His Meme album has a track called “Playing with Yen”. What does that mean?

And then there’s the Japanese animated series called Ghost in the Shell. Have you heard of that one? I want to watch it now; it seems kind of science-fictiony/graphic novely; compelling and unique. The episode “Meme” appears to use that word in the “virus” sense of the meaning.

After writing last time about how I work mostly at home, I’ve been out for a couple of 14-hour days in a row, and I’m just settling back into my routine, such as it is. I guess I ought to be careful what I write about! So, I just planned to briefly address a meme sent me by the lovely Apar. In pondering once again why these Internet thingys are called “memes” though, I came across all of the above.

Just looking up the meaning of a word, I’m introduced to different worlds. Isn’t life just the most interesting thing?

So, without further digressions, I post the meme from Apar, as well as my disclaimers and equivocations:

The rules of the game:

RULE #1 : People who have been tagged must write their answers on their blogs and replace any question that they dislike with a new question formulated by themselves.

RULE #2 :Β  Tag 6 people to do this quiz and they cannot refuse. These people must state who they were tagged by and cannot tag the person whom they were tagged by continue this game by sending it to other people.

(I have not replaced any questions, because it’s hard to imagine not liking a question. After all, it’s just a question, right? However, seeing the “rules” above causes me to bristle, a bit. I don’t react well to rules, but have made an effort to at least…try to play nice! Also, some of these questions are rather personal, and do not necessarily evoke in me a direct answer. Nevertheless, if you’ve read this far, thank you!)

1. If your lover betrayed you, what will your reaction be?
Can’t relate.
2. If you can have a dream to come true, what would it be?
I dream my life into existence daily. Therefore it always comes true!
3. Whose butt would you like to kick?
Butts are really too nice to kick.
4. What would you do with a billion dollars?
First, I’d hire a security guard; next I’d pay off my mortgage; then some relatives’ mortgages; then start a fun foundation and conference center. After that, meet with a financial adviser to help me manage it all. (Not very imaginative; but I’m a simple soul). Take classes, play music, travel, and smile. πŸ™‚
5. Will you u fall in love with your best friend?
Um. Not anytime soon!
6. Which is more blessed, loving someone or being loved by someone?
Both, of course!
7. How long do you intend to wait for someone you really love?
Not good at waiting.
8. If the person you secretly like is already attached, what would you do?
I would continue to live a life of integrity, whatever that entailed.
9. If you like to act with someone, who will it be? your gf/bf or an actress/actor?
Hmmm. Not something I really think about.
10. What takes you down the fastest?
Criticism. But I’m good at getting past it.
11. How would you see yourself in ten years time?
‘Bout the same.
12. What’s your fear?
Forgetting to remember that there is no fear.
13. What kind of person do you think the person who tagged you is?
Sweet; finding herself; devoted; intellectually curious; getting stronger every day!
14. Would you rather be single and rich or married but poor?
Can’t really think of this in those terms
15. What’s the first thing you do when you wake up?
Recognize how amazing and fortunate I am. (Unless I’m waking up way too early because I’ve agreed to be somewhere at that unreasonable hour; then the first is to grumpily use the rest room.)
16. Would you give all in a relationship?
Nah!
17. If you fall in love with two people simultaneously, who would you pick?
Good heavens! Dunno.
18. Would you forgive and forget no matter how horrible a thing the someone has done?
No. But then, I’m not a “forgiver and forgetter” in the best of times. I’m more of an evaluator.
19. Do you prefer being single or having a relationship?
Yes, I do!
20. List 6 people to tag
Those would be the first six (or more) people who read this; think it sounds fun; and want to answer these questions!!!

Apar says this: “Would love to know their answers (esp the answer to q.13 πŸ™‚ ).” So, even though I don’t play fair, by the rules, or nicely, I have, at least, answered question 13, sincerely! πŸ˜€

Finally, to end this rather odd post (if I do say so myself) I acknowledge this, awarded me by the sultry sulz:

1

Thank you, sulz! πŸ™‚ Interestingly enough, in the same post she rewards my honesty, she also responds to the above meme, for which she was also tagged! I can certify my answers were, actually, honest, just, perhaps not as…complete as they might be. (On the other hand, look at hers, if you think mine were succinct.)

Good day everyone, from the honest muse. πŸ™‚

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

17 Responses to “Mememememe”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

can i steal that Meme?????

3. hmm, never pegged you as a butt type, i’d have thought you prefer brains. πŸ˜› well, i like shoulders & back, so each to his or her own fancy, huh? πŸ˜‰

7. same here. patience is not my virtue for sure, though i wish it were.

18. so what do you do after you evaluate? *curious*

me, sultry? more like sulky, haha. πŸ˜€

Wow! muse you made my day πŸ™‚ getting stronger by the day?! I really wish I could feel the strength if any though πŸ˜€
I love your answer to q.2 πŸ™‚ – “I dream my life into existence daily. Therefore it always comes true!” Will try that trick πŸ˜‰
Love the way you integrated the info on what a meme is and sulz’s award
Congrats..I do believe you deserve the award.

I haven’t even read past #2 but wanted to comment STRAIGHTAWAY!

==> I dream my life into existence daily. Therefore it always comes true!

LOVE THIS, I DO! You inspire me. πŸ™‚

I like your answer to #12, too. Have a great day! I may or not attempt this meme, someday…

“Mememememe” sounds like you’re about to start singing! πŸ™‚

Oh, I love Wikipedia’s disambiguation pages. They often have the most random things. Wikipedia says that bioinformatics is responsible for assembling the human genome, which is pretty interesting. I’d never heard of Milosh either, but I checked out his myspace after reading this, and he’s really good! I have heard of Ghost in the Shell, and I gather it’s a very influential franchise, particularly on movies like The Matrix, although I don’t know much about it myself.

Like Apar and CuriousC, I thought your answer to question 2 was especially good. Very wise.

Congratulations on the award! πŸ™‚

[…] “real” content of this post will be the meme which Muse posted on his (her?) blog today. Since I needed some filler content, and I genuinely thought it’d be […]

Great meme, Muse! The answers are so you!
I love how you answered #19 and #6
Take care πŸ™‚

Of course you can, kaylee! You’re the first one! πŸ™‚

sulz: #3, Teehee. Well, you just never know, do you? πŸ˜‰ #18, to elaborate, just a bit, I don’t really judge things other people do as “horrible” (to use the word from the meme) or not; people do what they do, and that’s not really my business. If I’m impacted by another person, though, I look at what it means in my life, see what changes I may wish to make regarding what is being shown, and then move on—either with or without the other person still in my life. I realize that’s still quite vague; but it would take pages to really discuss this thoroughly. Perhaps I will sometime. πŸ™‚ Thanks for asking! You could be sulky AND sultry! πŸ˜›

Thank you so much, Apar! I see strength in the way you write and the life situations you take on! I’m glad you tagged me for this. At first I thought, “Whoa, lots of questions about my love life!” but the more I answered the more insightful it was. I’ll say more about the “dream” answer in a bit… πŸ™‚

Wow, thanks, C!!! That’s so cool that you actually stopped in your tracks to comment! Hmmm, that dream one apparently has sparked some interest! I wish you WOULD attempt the meme, someday… πŸ™‚

B0bby: you, know, I never thought about a singing warmup! And here’s me just returning from a choral rehearsal. This is why it’s good to have blog friends; to point out things like that. Yes! There’s nothing like a random wiki to start the day. I’m pleased you followed up some of the information, there. I’m always interested to learn about these sorts of connections. I do like Milosh as well. Ah, so you have heard of that Ghost series. I really will have to check it out. As for the “dreaming” answer, I meant that quite literally, considering concepts in theoretical physics…have to do a post on that, I guess! (I have literature! studies! data! whee!) Thank you, I appreciate your congrats! πŸ™‚

It’s wonderful you did the meme, leap (“the 59 second minute”) I’m popping over to see what you wrote, thanks!

Haha, bead, the answers are so…mememe? Well, I’ll take that as a compliment, since you used the word “great” in the previous sentence! πŸ˜› Ah, you liked those answers? Thank you! One wants to keep it honest, after all. πŸ™‚

Nice post. I liked this answer: “Forgetting to remember that there is no fear.” Nice.

Regarding Ghost In The Shell I definitely recommend it to you. And if you like witty stuff, I’d recommend you Death Note.

15. What’s the first thing you do when you wake up?
Recognize how amazing and fortunate I am. (Unless I’m waking up way too early because I’ve agreed to be somewhere at that unreasonable hour; then the first is to grumpily use the rest room.)

LOL – The wife NEVER wakes me up early – last time she did that her only words the rest of the day was “Never again!” LOL πŸ˜‰

Thanks, Juan! So, you are a Ghost fan too! Where’ve I been? πŸ™‚ And, yes, the wittier the better! I’m suffering from Who deprivation at the moment, and I thought Red Dwarf was just the best. I shall check out your suggestion.

Will, I would not allow another person to awaken me unless there was a) prior agreement, or b) a dire emergency. I’m sure your wife has learned that’s best! πŸ˜€

[…] Meme From TVB More Meme September 25, 2008 I was sort of tagged by Muse…Β Β  Click here for some really thought-provoking answers to a few interesting […]

Ooh, Death Note is sinister! Extremely clever, but dark as anything.

Oh, dark is it B0bby? Well, there’s “dark”, and then again, there’s “dark”. I’m trepidatious, but I’ll have to try it out and see. Thanks for the warning!

Great answers! I especially like 2 & 12! I only knew of the internet meme definition. Always great to learn something new!

Thanks so much, Shane. I think I’d better do an entire post about #2! I didn’t know all that about the word “meme” either, until I looked it up; that was fun. I’ve been enjoying all your awesome trip photos! I’m off to look at more.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...