Overcoming Mental Paralysis

Posted on September 25, 2008. Filed under: Games, Health, HowTo, Musings, Philosophy |

I’m trying out a stream-of-consciousness kind of thing I have stolen from Curious C, as I’ve just not been in the mood to write, lately! I had a great time at the Mars lecture at the University last night, but that will have to wait for another sciency post, as I’m waiting for a specific thing to happen on Mars I want to include, and then I will stop talking about the red planet, at least for now.

I am doing fun things, and interesting things, such as going to the Greek Festival, snooping into an archaeological dig, traveling to the largest observatory in the northern hemisphere, and checking out the new projects and lectures at Biosphere II. Except for the Greek Festival (actually maybe even with that!), this probably sounds kind of boring to some of you, but it’s all stuff I really enjoy.

I think this economy thing the US is pouring its woebegone energy into is giving me some melancholy moments. It’s very hard to stay centered when people around one are vibrating with fear. I think it’s CRUCIAL though, otherwise mental paralysis can set in and it’s like living life in a fog, or slogging through syrup. One can always (!) find something to be grateful for, and the moment one does, ones mood is uplifted, and one can then contribute to the upliftment (if you will) of others.

Two of the organizations I work for are also in a bit of a chaotic state. Again, I feel my role is to look for the good; sometimes they spend so much time focusing on what needs aren’t being met, or how unpleasant people are being, that they forget why they are there in the first place.

OK, NOW, I must complain about my own whining, in the above!! Grrrrr. It’s quite tedious when I exhibit the very behavior I accuse others of. As I will do, I must ask myself what it is in all these things that has me not my usual chipper self? That elusive thing is keeping me from blogging as much as I would like—because I really do like it—but looking at the computer screen every day is currently not comforting.

Hmmm, the best thing to do in these circumstances is to re-write the news as I wish it to be. Here goes:

The Federal Government of the United States has discovered nineteen hundred and thirty billion dollars that somehow got stuck behind a sofa cushion at the White House. A gleeful soon-to-be former President said “Let’s give everyone in the world a few million each to pay off everything, and they can play with the rest!”

Soldiers everywhere suddenly forgot what the POINT is of all this shooting and bombing and stuff, and decided to melt down all their weapons and turn them into fountains and sculptures. They all had a nice line dance together before going home to their families.

All the people in the whole world have realized today that just because each of them, as an individual, believes something doesn’t mean that everyone else has to. People are stunned by how rewarding and entertaining diversity really is!

It was discovered that feeling good and having fun is possible, so it’s replaced all that other stuff we were doing.

For the first time in history there is enough grant money to support all the really good art! and music! and dance! and cuisine!

The Wordly News today reported that everyone is healthier than they’ve ever been. Also everyone is in love, and has fulfilling work.

Well, I could go on and on, of course. But for now, I’m feeling much better reading my own headlines than those other alternatives. Good day, all! πŸ™‚

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

23 Responses to “Overcoming Mental Paralysis”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Finally, some “news” I can actually read and listen, too. Whew. MUCH APPRECIATED.

Yesterday, I was showing one of my senior pupils in internet-class, that she could search, or get the news, or look up maps and she asked, “What do you mean, the news?” like, only the TV and newspapers can deliver ‘news’. Still, I took her question quite philosophically, and asked it right back to her, “you are so right! What DO we mean by ‘news’?!”

Does that make any sense? (She didn’t get it either. I so dislike the headlines…)

was there food in the greek festival? my college had a foreign languages festival once, and i got to eat russian pancakes, self-made sushi, kimchi and pizza. πŸ˜€

Well, I certainly like your news better than the news I read by mistake. I do my best not to listen to the news or read the news if I can. I skip all the news that has scary headlines. Am I hiding in the sand? YES!!

Going to the largest observatory in the Northern hemisphere is my kind of fun. Which observatory is that? Snooping into an archaeological dig, oh yes. I would love to do that and the Greek Festival sounds like fun too.

Keep having fun!! I’m certainly going to!!

Muse The Journalist…Personal Headlines for Smart People..I like ur headlines especially ur last one..as everyone deserve to be loved and recognized for the work they do…I agree with u that diversity is rewarding but to some degree cause people with different believes don’t have all the same (mΓͺme) perception how things should be..Different perception all come to resistance from which we are getting less positive outcomes…Harmony in all I don’t think we are gonna see it in this era…

Oh, I know what you’re talking about, having mental block/paralysis is something that has happened to me many times. Actually, I’m going through that again… until now. You gave me a (silly) idea, and with your permission, I’d like to expand one of your news headlines.

I bet you had a great time at the lecture. I’m sure they showed you data of what they’ve found and lots of pictures of the martian surface. Nice.

I much prefer your version of the news. Perhaps you could write the headlines from now on?

What’s a Greek Festival? A celebration of Greece, or a celebration of fraternities, or what?

You are welcome, C, I’m glad you appreciate my version of “news”. I actually think that is a great question; what DO we mean by news? A point to ponder, which I shall. πŸ™‚ I didn’t know you taught Internet classes! How very wonderful.

Mmmm, that sounds good, sulz! Yes, Greek food: Spanikopita; Moussaka; Souvlaki; Baklava! yum, yum. πŸ™‚

I’m right in that sand there with you, Joan. (Although I have “desert” sand, and you have “beach” sand, it’s still sand, right?) I think it’s important to know what’s going on (sort of) but to dwell and agonize over the news helps no one. So, I made up my own! Alright, I’m glad we share some notions of fun! (I knew we did). I’m not disclosing any more about the observatory, though, until my science post, sorry! πŸ˜‰ stay tuned…

Thank you so much, CV! I agree, love and a rewarding life are deserved by all. Well, I’d like to believe that harmony is possible. Perhaps if I try very hard to believe it, I can? πŸ™‚

Help yourself, Juan! I’d be interested in which thing inspires your post, and, of course to read it. Yes, the photos from Mars are amazing, just amazing. I shall say more about that soon. Thanks! πŸ™‚

I would be very pleased to write all the headlines, B0bby, thank you for the invitation. Shall I contact the BBC or CNN? Ah, yes, Greek Festival: celebration of all things Greek! Opa! Food; Dancing; Culture; Crafts—way fun! It happens all over the US at this time of year in areas where there is a large Greek-American population; one of many ethnic festivals to enjoy. πŸ˜€

Heh, we should form a news organization called “The Worldly News” — complete with your blatantly all-too optimistic headlines πŸ˜‰

mmm, gyros and feta too?
I do like your headlines better, Muse. One day…you never know. πŸ™‚
I have a feeling something good is going to come from this crisis. I really do. It might be a while to get there. Things have to hit rock bottom first, but then everyone will get back up again, and learn from it.
Take care. πŸ™‚

Great idea, leap; I’m a player! I would just change the tag line to “blatantly just-optimistic-enough headlines” (Sorry. I won’t claim I can’t help myself; but some days it’s really challenging) πŸ˜€

Oh, yes, BD, gyros and more! I just couldn’t eat everything, had to pick and choose.
You know I agree! These times of change could end up being revolutionary, like the 60s were. I don’t think people knew what was going on for sure then, either. πŸ™‚ Thank you.

I wish the news were exactly as you described. Thank you for an uplifting read!

You reminded me of the song “Beautiful News” by Jimmie Sheeris. Hadn’t heard it in ages so I put it on; I feel wonderful now.

u okay???????

you the very good at heart! optimistic πŸ™‚ Wish things were like this. Would love to get teeny weensy bit of the dough found in the couch πŸ˜‰
Hope you don’t get into the mood of not writing. Write away and make lives like mine brighter with your sunny attitude πŸ˜€

Well, if I had that nineteen hundred and thirty billion dollars that somehow got stuck behind a White House sofa cushion, one of the first things I’d do is buy you a newspaper that makes the news you write come true once published. (I’m sure with all that money scientists can create such a thing.) Oh, sure…I know that would be a lot of responsibility for you, but MusEditions, I believe you can handle it. πŸ˜‰

Ronnie Ann

I’ve been looking around for one piece of news that would make my…well…erm, decade(?) Ney – double-decade plus more – that news is that Maggie Thatcher never existed and that the UK still had all those jobs she destroyed.

I do think of that and smile – if only! Being a political junkie – there is no cure by the way – I look at the good things in politics, there are some, not many but some – The Daily Show for one, and when I think of that I can laugh once more. The rid-dic-u-larse-ness of politics and my insane love of it makes me smile – because then I can look in the mirror and really know that I am a nut-case. πŸ™‚

Thanks again for that mail, Muse! πŸ˜€

Me, too, absinthe! Thank you very much for coming by and saying so! πŸ™‚

Eric, I’m not familiar with the song or the artist, but I like the title! Is this the same song at this link? I’m glad wonderful feelings emerged! Thank you.

I’m just splendid, kaylee, thanks! πŸ™‚

Well, if they let me into the White House, and I find it Apar, I’ll make sure you get your share! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much! What a sweet thing to say! I’m writing a new post; back soon.

Ronnie Ann, I humbly take up your challenge, and very much appreciate your faith in me. I shall endeavor to discover and implement the necessary technology. (Actually, I mean this in some seriousness—do stay tuned) (!) I really loved this comment, and, you got me a job! See how good you are? πŸ˜€

You’re very welcome, Will. I’m tellin’ you, make up your own news!!! Don’t read that other stuff! Alright, since you’re a junkie, you can wait ’til after all the elections in Canada and the US—for this year—then, write your own, you’ll like it; trust me. πŸ˜›

When I am not so busy, I want to try that. Writing my own news. Wouldn’t that be fun? Maybe turn it into a once a week thing and just see what happens…
What a great idea! πŸ™‚

Sorry Muse, I forgot to proofread. The artist’s name is Jimmie Spheeris. The song comes from his 2nd album “The Original Tap Dancing Kid” from around ’73. I think his first “Isle of View” out in ’71/’72 was his best. Sadly, he was hit by a drunk driver one night in Santa Monica sometime in the 80’s while going home from a recording session.

The last I knew no label has carried him in their catalog for a long time. You may be able to find some used cd’s on Amazon. His first album, digitized for cd, goes for about $100. If I didn’t already have it I’d probably pay it!

I sort of think that’s the way the world works, anyhow, BD; we write our own lives, and that includes the news we focus on… πŸ™‚

I appreciate your checking back in, Eric. This artist sounds amazing. I’ll see if I can find some of his work. We can use all the positivity we can muster these days! (Actually, all days.) πŸ˜‰

i swear i made a second comment on this WTF?

Love your headlines, Muse. Can I subscribe to your newspaper? πŸ™‚

Hmmm, kaylee, I honestly don’t know! Checked my spam; checked you weren’t being moderated; seems you blinked out of this dimension for a little while. You didn’t go to Mars without me, did you? πŸ™‚

You may indeed, tee! Seems I might have several subscribers; I may have to give this some thought! πŸ˜‰ Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed them.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...