If you can’t laugh at the economy, what CAN you laugh at?

Posted on October 2, 2008. Filed under: Culture, Games, Musings |

As someone who’s easily amused by rather silly things, I felt it was timely to share these. They’ve been around in emails, so you may have seen them; if not, enjoy! πŸ˜€

For all of you with any money left, be aware of the next expected mergers so that you can get in on the ground floor and make some BIG bucks. Watch for these consolidations in 2009:

1.) Hale Business Systems, Mary Kay Cosmetics, Fuller Brush, and W. R. Grace Co. will merge and become: Hale, Mary, Fuller, Grace.

2.) PolygramRecords, Warner Bros., and ZestaCrackers join forces and become: Poly, Warner, Cracker.

3.) 3M will merge with Goodyear and become: MMMGood.

4.) ZippoManufacturing, AudiMotors, Dofasco, and Dakota Mining will merge and become:ZipAudiDoDa.

5.) FedEx is expected to join its competitor, UPS, and become: FedUP.

6.) Fairchild Electronics and Honeywell Computers will become: Fairwell Honeychild.

7.) Grey Poupon and Docker Pants are expected to become: PouponPants.

8.) Knotts Berry Farm and the National Organization of Women will become: Knott NOW!

OK, that last one may be a little far-fetched. πŸ˜‰ As I write this, the US Vice Presidential Debate has concluded, the US Stock Market has tanked again, and the US Congress is still wrestling to balance politics with a useful spending plan. Given all these challenges to our equanimity (and, as a US citizen, I feel for you, rest-of-the-world, as your markets tend to dance with ours), I can have but one response: Join the Silly Party.

The following British election results clearly show the Silly Party in the lead; however for all us non-Brits, I’m told that the Silly Party is now world-wide, and seems the sensible party to join.

Convinced yet? I know it seems the Silly Party will only succeed in Britain, which, admittedly, is a very silly place, but as these next two documentary videos prove, Silliness has come to the USA, nay, to the world, indeed, to the entire galaxy!

For those of you who do not appreciate the seriously sophisticated, finely nuanced style that is Monty Python—and/or Star Trek—(and I know you’re out there) please just skip the next one and be my friend anyway, ‘K? πŸ™‚

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “If you can’t laugh at the economy, what CAN you laugh at?”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Heelarious! Monty Python always brings me back to my childhood – it’s funny no matter how many times I see it.

And those two Star Trek / Python mashups? I don’t usually broadcast links, but I’ve sent this post to a few people via email. Thanks!

It took me moment to get (1) and (4). Then I read them aloud. *facepalm* OK, very funny Muse.

Yes, Britain is a fairly silly place, and that video is certainly a welcome relief after all the sensible election talk lately. Good old Monty Python. πŸ™‚

I’ve seen Star Trek music videos before, but that’s certainly the funniest I’ve seen. And that last video was strange. In an amusing way! That was one of the funnier scenes from The Holy Grail.

Too funny Muse! πŸ˜† I needed a good laugh this morning, thank you!

Thank you πŸ™‚

I loved the mergers, Muse! I wonder what clever mind made those up?
As for the videos…I’ll just be your friend anyway. πŸ™‚

The hilarity of politics is played out on a daily basis – and people STILL take me serious! I will have to find a way that lets people know that “This particular post is a piss-take” but I thought that people were more sofistykated than that – oh well.

Will Rhodes – cynicism as a fine art! πŸ˜€

Link away, link away, Ian, and thanks! These all just seemed quite pertinent. You must get a whole different perspective than I do watching this drama in Europe. πŸ™‚

Well, I didn’t write them myself, B0bby, I’m just the messenger. πŸ™‚ Yep, good ol’ MP, yeah? I hadn’t seen those Trek/Python vids until I looked up the “Silly Party” on YouTube—I’d remembered it well—and there they were along the side.

Hey, any day I can add a bit of hilarity to your day, Shane, is a good day! πŸ˜€

You are welcome, kaylee. πŸ™‚

I’ve been unable to trace their source, BD, one of those floating-around-on-email things. Whew! I’m glad being a Python and/or Trek fan was not a deal breaker! πŸ˜›

sofistykated, hmmm, I don’t know, Will…Perhaps you could design your own irony/sarcasm/cynical smilie, and post it as a warning. Kind of like the little chili peppers they put on menu items if they’re spicy? πŸ˜‰

Muse – now you have me thinking – something like

I read this article in an English daily here which explained the economic situation beautifully; but I needed a laugh and this entry provided just that!! πŸ˜€ Thank you!

Got you thinking, then, Will? Excellent. πŸ™‚

That is a good article, Apar. I would get depressed over this…but then I look at some silly videos and feel better! πŸ™‚

LOL! The last one was my favorite of these. too funny

Happy to help you laugh, C. !!! πŸ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...