Quiet joy; Passionate peace. A time of Change.

Posted on November 5, 2008. Filed under: Culture, Philosophy |

Captured for your viewing pleasure is a map of presidential election trends in my state, Arizona. Although all ten of Arizona’s electoral votes went to Sen. McCain, as is required by our system, you will see that this wasn’t a definitive, statewide result. I live approximately where the green arrow is, north of Tucson, which lies in Pima County, the “blue” area at the bottom of the map. Right below us is Mexico. To the left (in more ways than one, hah!) is California, and east of us is New Mexico.Β  Prior to this, I lived in Coconino County, Arizona, at the very top of the state (another “blue” area), in the city of Flagstaff; home to Northern Arizona University and the Grand Canyon.

arizona-map1

I’ll leave you to draw your own conclusions about the relative “redness” and “blueness” of my state. The main, huge population center is Maricopa County, containing the city of Phoenix, and several other large cities. I’m not very politically involved, these days, and particularly not partisan, but I could not let this day go by without making some comment on this amazing and significant event in my nation’s and the world’s history.

I was raised on the tails of the Civil Rights Movement in the United States, by people who’d marched in the marches. I’d always attended integrated schools, with children of many backgrounds; not just the “black” and “white” extremes of the spectrum, but many others. To me, kids were just kids…I didn’t “get” the “racial” thing.

In my teens I learned there were areas of my hometown (San Francisco), my country, and the world, that put people into categories based on what they looked like, or what belief system they held, or what reproductive organs they were supposed to have. I still didn’t “get” it.

I voted on Tuesday. As far as possible, being only human, I did not consider race, gender, or religion when deciding who to vote for. I do tend to lean a particular way regarding policy, but I have been known to vote for candidates from the “other” party, too.

I voted the way I voted; my precinct closed. I was glued to the television, as were many of you. I heard the announcement; I heard the speeches. I found both Sen. McCain’s concession speech and President-elect Obama’s amazing speech moving and inspiring. It’s been apparent for a while that Sen. McCain will continue to represent my beautiful state in the U.S. Senate for another two years; longer if reelected. I’m content that he goes back to this work with the support of his home state. I’m also content with the overall result of the election.

I watched the close-up of the Rev. Jesse Jackson as tears formed in his eyes. I wept with him, and felt chills go up and down my spine. I have not always agreed with his politics, but here is a man who was with Dr. King the day he was assassinated; a man who, by attempting to open doors which had been closed to people who superficially resembled him, helped to make this day possible.

My joy is quiet; my peace, passionate. I’m ready for a time of Change.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “Quiet joy; Passionate peace. A time of Change.”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Let’s hope there will be actual change and Obama lives up to his billing.

In the meantime, we as human beings can be the change we want to happen – no waiting for a president to do it for us!

Excellent post, Muse!

I especially like this part:

My joy is quiet; my peace, passionate. I’m ready for a time of Change.

Indeed, this is a time of change and I’m glad I’m living it… we’re living it.

Wow Muse, πŸ™‚ I have a good feeling about this, hey.

What I love most is that President-elect Barack Obama has inspired many to be and feel more involved in their country’s development and affairs, making the people feel that they are the government.

This will install unity and a change of attitude to positive in many in the US nation/people.

Great article Muse, I love the title, very profound. πŸ˜‰

beautiful post. πŸ™‚

Beautifully written. Though, what else can we expect from you but such a post? My take on the elections, being an alien (not living in the US any more); I knew the democrats were definitely winning this after 2 terms of republican rule. History would have been made with either of the final democratic presidential candidates. It might be just me, but I would have liked Clinton to have contested finally. There is so much talk about the “otherness” of Obama; but read this post by Shefaly – just makes the right conclusions. The conceding speech of McCain & the victory speech of Obama were good. All we can hope for is that the change is real and not just a ticket to victory! πŸ™‚

It is a beautiful post and exactly what Juan said. That one sentence:

“My joy is quiet; my peace, passionate. I’m ready for a time of Change.”

It just sent shivers up me. I think that is how so many people in this world are thinking and feeling. Until he gets in and we see how things go, at least we have hope. πŸ™‚

aLL i can say is goo obama!

Did something happen?

Well you could have told me!

Great post, Muse. πŸ˜€

Excellent post.

I always tend to assume all groups in the USA are equal, so when I first heard the news, I was like “Democrats won. Fair enough. It’s over, then.” Then the significance of the result dawned on me, and I felt so moved, and so happy for America.

I hope Mr. Obama will be a good president. People deserve some hope for the future, and change for the better.

Thanks, leap. I would concur that it’s not wise policy to expect another—whether president or not—to change my life. I hope and trust he will be a good and inspiring president. This is, in any event a shining moment in time.

I appreciate that so much, Juan. I woke up the next morning, and those words were what I was feeling. Change is constant, but this does seem particularly new and fresh. Isn’t it exciting to be living in these times? πŸ™‚

Oh, Tazzy, I feel good about this, too! πŸ™‚ If this goes a little way towards fostering unity in my country and inspirting same in the world, I’ll be a pleased citizen! Thank you for those words.

Thank you, C. It all feels hopeful.

So very kind of you to say, Apar. Yes, I suppose many republicans would have preferred a different candidate, too. πŸ˜‰ As regards the “otherness” of President-elect Obama; certainly he has an unusual background by any standard, which makes him interesting. I don’t like to get TOO involved in politics, but I noted that it was reported on CNN yesterday that Mr. Obama’s campaign managers were asked how they dealt with the race of their candidate, and one replied “We had exactly zero meetings about that”. I don’t know how history will judge this presidency or world-wide race and/or gender issues; I just go by my feelings, and, for now, I’m excited to watch the drama unfold. πŸ™‚

Oh, BD! That puts a smile upon my face! Yes, we can’t know how this will go; and he has a huge job with huge repercussions for the US and the world. I have a feeling this will be one of those events we’ll always remember with awe, however.

goooooo indeed, kaylee! You will be able to tell your grandchildren about this!

I do apologize, Will, I should have told you. I just know how uninterested you are in politics; how you lead your sheltered life without any knowledge of or interest in current events. πŸ˜‰ Thanks! We rock, in all our countries. πŸ™‚

Thank you, B0bby. Interesting! By “groups” do you mean political parties? In that case, they are theoretically equal, but the pendulum tends to swing from right to left, as it were—much like British politics I imagine. Thanks for the good wishes for my country. I hope we will reach out more to the rest of the world; I see that as both desirable and necessary in these times. Loved your closing sentence! We do, we do.

Lovely post. It’s obvious I’ve been an Obama supporter from way back and I was just one big goose bump. Rabid partisans on both sides aside, I’m proud of us as a nation.

I thought McCain’s speech was gracious and classy, like the McCain of old. He must have been crushed that there’s not a single speck of red on the NH map. From talking to people who voted for him in 2000 and in January of this year, the nasty campaign and Palin turned them off for November.

Yes, it was just a teensy bit noticeable that you’ve been an Obama supporter, ella! πŸ˜‰ The more I see and hear, the more I like. I think inauguration day will be awesome!
I agree Sen. McCain’s speech was gracious. He says he’s ready to get back to work; I guess he’ll have to settle for being a Senator after all this time.
Thanks for sharing on my (usually) non-political blog! πŸ™‚

Great post. Thanks for the demographics.

I saw this election as a choice between optimism and fear. Also as a referendum on George Bush’s policies (unfortunately for John McCain). One can only admire and respect some of the things Sen. McCain represents, but his time is past. Had he been elected 8 years ago we might not be facing the challenges we are today. But it is what it is.

Leapsecond is dead on. Our new president elect cannot make our lives better for us. Only we can do that in the end. I do believe, though, that he is symbolic of a dramatic shift in the overall consciousness of the electorate. Let us all hope for, and work towards, the compassionate and successful society that is our potential.

Thank you very much, Eric! I appreciate your analysis about optimism and fear. Point well taken.
Also: “dramatic shift in the overall consciousness of the electorate”. Wow! Thanks for that! I had been sort of struggling with how much energy to put into this new president’s abilities, without relying on him to make my life better. You put it all into perspective. Shift indeed! πŸ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...