Monday under the knife!

Posted on November 11, 2008. Filed under: Health, Musings, Philosophy |

So, I went to sleep Sunday night, after attending a committee meeting and potluck dinner. I didn’t eat anything weird, so I wondered why I woke up about 4am with excruciating abdominal pain. At first I thought it was some kind of extraordinary indigestion, so I drank some ginger tea, but an hour later the pain was getting worse, rather than better. I had experienced a similar kind of pain before, but not this intense, and my doctor wanted me to be screened for appendix problems. I hadn’t gotten ’round to the tests yet.

Finally, I went to the Emergency Room. They requested from me the gifts of several samples of of bodily fluids; gave me some great pain killers (!) and sent me to get a sonogram. I had gotten to the Hospital at about 2:00, and I thought I’d be out of there in a couple of hours.

They told me my gall bladder was infected, and I should have it removed. There was a surgeon on staff who could do the operation that night. He came to see me.

“What if I don’t get the surgery?” I asked. He told me these things don’t heal themselves, the infection could spread, and then more extensive surgery could be needed. It was potentially dangerous.

OK. I decided to get the surgery. My friend (who was with me) concurred. So, it happened that instead of having two meetings and a rehearsal on Monday, I lost a little weight! I didn’t eat until Tuesday afternoon, so I went about a day and a half without food. I didn’t mind, though—they gave me great drugs in the hospital.๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m home, now, and have some pain at the incisions, but they let me take home some drugs for that, too. I can’t drive for two weeks (!) A couple of friends offered to drive me places, but I don’t like to be dependent. Oh, well, It’s really nice of them. Even being a passenger in a car will be challenging at first; it’s hard to get in and out of the car.

I can type for a short time, but I don’t think you’ll be seeing any long posts from me for a few days. Drat! I had a good one that I’d been doing research on, but, that will have to wait.

So, this post is anecdotal whining. It feels OK to be doing this, but, as the days go on, I will be reflecting on the meaning of this event in my life. Don’t worry, I won’t be posting my ruminations, like “Oh, my belly button still hurts!” There is enough of that kind of thing in this very post.๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll be here in bloggieland slowly and gradually, but when this thing heals, watch out! I’ll have a lot of pent up posting to do!!!

If you read all of this, I do thank you. I mostly wanted to have a little whine. I know it’s all good–ultimately.๐Ÿ˜€

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

30 Responses to “Monday under the knife!”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Get well soon.

oh muse, i’m sorry to read this but am very very glad you’re okay! *hugs* health is indeed wealth, huh? i should start taking better care of myself too…

and this post was not whiny at all. if you still think it is, well, you’re quite entitled to one. it’s your blog after all, and you’ve been quite good for the most part.๐Ÿ˜›

wishing you get well soon! don’t get addicted to those great drugs.๐Ÿ˜‰

Yikes! Glad to hear it got taken care of quickly. On the plus side, blogging on painkillers is HILARIOUS to your audience! Always good for hits.

Hey, I feel sad reading this. Sad that I made you work. But I admire the way you took decision for surgery on feet. I am a coward when it comes to physical pain, I would have perhaps hemmed and hawed for few days before arriving at the decision. Listen, dont try to be brave in face of your pain. Take rest, its question of your health of your body. Do not mind this temporary immobility (car driving problem), curl up in your bed: rest, eat and read books. Take care, may you heal soon. My prayers and best wishes!

I concur with raincoaster. Drug induced blogging = hilarity. Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything…

Do feel better soon and allow your body to heal. Allow your friends to help you and think of how nice they feel at being able to do nice things – it’s a gift you give back to them to appreciate their efforts. And yes, your whiney attempt to not whine is somewhat entertaining – don’t know why exactly but I do love all your posts…

If this were whining….
hope you get well soon and start blogging sans the drugs.

Yikes! I’m glad you’re okay now and I hope you’re fully recovered in record time. Will chocolate help?

I hope that you are up and well very soon – it is such a strange experience having an operation – at least it was for me…Good Luck!

Glad to hear that you went ahead and got it taken care of. It’d be awful to let it go and it become much worse. Hope you get to feeling better and have a full and speedy recovery!!๐Ÿ™‚

Blimey, poor you! I’m glad that you were able to have the operation quickly, but it sounds very nasty. Hope you get well soon!

I hope you better as fast as humanly possible. In the “count ones blessings” category, I think you have to agree that we live in amazing times when a condition such as yours can not only be diagnosed so quickly but also remedied.

As for whining, it sounds as if you’re in great spirits all things considered. Your a good example of the phrase “pain is mandatory, but suffering is optional”.

Again, get well soon and hey, enjoy the down time!

Muse,

I wish you a prompt recovery.

I understand that surgeries and hospitals are something not that pleasant but I’m glad you took the decision of getting it removed to avoid future complications, like the doctor said.

My best wishes to you, and looking forward to your upcoming posts!

((((big hugs)))) Muse. I’m glad that it has been taken care of. So sorry that it happened at all though.๐Ÿ˜ฆ

That was hardly whining. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and will send all the good vibes I can muster your way. Hoping you recover soon.

Do take care.

Hi Muse,
You must behave yourself and do what the doctor asks of you. No disco dancing, gymnastic competitions, or karate fighting over the next few days, okay?

In the mean time, you are in my prayers for a quick recovery.

Well, at least the surgery is over with. Now you just need to sit back and heal. I’ll light one of my healing candles for you tonight and I am sending healing energy your way. And to think I was whining about a little toothache. You have a right to whine about this. Feel better soon!!!

Deirdra, thank you. I am making every attempt.๐Ÿ™‚

OK, sulz, “It’s my bloggie and I’ll whine if I want to; whine if I want to…” Whoops, wrong song. Thanks for your good thoughts. And I am being very careful with the drugs. I think I will be fine. I don’t like other things controlling me, and that certainly includes substances!๐Ÿ˜‰

Thank you rain! Indeed, about the quickness. I don’t think I would have been as brave if I’d walked in as an out-patient for this, and it will take care of some very weird physical issues I’ve had for a while. I know you are no stranger to physical challenges; so I heed what you speak…I’m just not sure how hilarious I want to get on this blog, particularly at my own expense.๐Ÿ˜€

Poonam, don’t be sad! You didn’t make me work! I had most of the judging things done before this happened, and I wouldn’t have finished them if I didn’t feel up to it. I’m like you, usually, as I said to raincoaster above, I think I would have waffled and procrastinated if I’d had to make a decision without all that pain to encourage me! Thank you very much! Your good thoughts and prayers are appreciated. I’m following your advice, too! {Note to readers: Poonam is referring to an awards program going on at her blog; I’m honored to have been asked to be a judge.}

No, of course not, leap, you are innocent as a rose and would know nothing about such things!๐Ÿ˜‰ Perhaps WordPress should put in a “wasted filter” like GMail’s, so people under the influence wouldn’t be able to post until they answered some questions correctly?

You make an excellent point about allowing my friends to help me, C. (IdeaJump). Thank you for the reminder. And thanks for finding this a bit entertaining. I try to stay upbeat as much as I can.๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks, Apar. I am getting better. And, in spite of the encouragement of a couple of bloggers who shall re(raincoaster)main name(leap)less, I don’t think drug-induced blogging is my thing.๐Ÿ˜‰

Chocolate always helps, doesn’t it ella? I have been given some premium dark, my favorite! I can only eat a little bit at a time right now, but that’s probably for the best.๐Ÿ™‚ I do appreciate your gladness, thank you.

Thank you very much poetman. It is very strange having surgery, bordering on the surreal. I’m with you, there.

I do appreciate that, Shane. Indeed, one of the things that made my decision pretty easy was a description of some of the dire things that could happen if I blew this off. Apparently antibiotics are not effective for gall bladder situations, because the meds can’t get there. Or something.๐Ÿ™‚

Aw, thanks, B0bby. Yes it seemed as if all due haste was called for. It feels a bit nasty now. I feel (and my tummy looks) like I got into a knife fight, but as they say, “You should see the other guy!”๐Ÿ˜‰

Eric, I concur with your hopes! Much appreciated. Indeed medical tech is amazing these days. The incisions are much smaller than they used to be for this type of thing, and I’m held together with super-glue instead of stitches! (It’s really surgical adhesive)๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for the compliment! Even in the midst of it all, I was able, sometimes, to think: “Oh, how very interesting!” I’m doing my best to enjoy the downtime, too. I’m reading and sleeping a lot, and at least I get in a little blog time here and there.

Thank you much, Juan. Yes, I wouldn’t put “abdominal surgery” high on my list of pleasant experiences, but it seems it could have been worse down the road…I shall blog again!!!๐Ÿ™‚

BD, I’m feeling those vibes (and virtual hugs) coming at me over the border. I certainly appreciate them. I’m glad I didn’t sound too whiny! Thank you for the care and concern.๐Ÿ™‚

Alright, teeveebee, you obviously have cameras installed in my home, as you’ve accurately listed my usual activities. You do realize now you’ve blown your cover? So, who do you work for?๐Ÿ˜‰ I am taking it easy, and I very much appreciate your prayers. I look forward to healing. I’ve particularly missed the disco dancing (Stayin’ Alive…)๐Ÿ˜€

Yes, Joan, the icky part is over, yay! I just love the thought of your healing candles, thank you so much. Hey, and a toothache the magnitude of yours is nothing to sneeze at, either. I’m VERY glad you are better from that.

[…] take up more categories. I wrote back to Muse, who sat up the night to do the scores after having a gall bladder surgery! Muse, I am touched and indebted. Inside, I feel guilty to put you to that inconvenience. Nikhil […]

I hope youre okay

Sorry Musy, if u had to go thru this and, I am convince u will find profoundly why this happened to u…May be this is telling u it’s time to rest and contemplate….

Wish u well..

Just dropping by to say hi and hope you are doing well.

Kaylee, I’m getting better each day. You know what this is like, so I especially appreciate your wishes!๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you so much, CV. You know me well enough to know I will look for deeper meaning. One thing I’ve noticed already is the number of things and activities I’m easily able to let go of. This makes room for more wonderful things to come in!

Hi BD! I had a bit of a setback on Saturday, and slept virtually all day long. It’s better now, and I’m healing well. Thanks for checking in, my friend!

Hey Muse๐Ÿ˜‰

I love your spirit towards this, it’s nothing hectic like what most people would make it if they were in your shoes.

And that didn’t sound like whining at all, if you call that whining then I can marry you any day, Lol!๐Ÿ˜‰

Well you sound like you’re taken good care of by your friends, and I didn’t sense much fear in you over the operation, I admire that.

You just concerntrate on getting better, which shouldn’t be long with your great attitude, and we’ll still be right here when you’re back on full force again. I can’t wait for those posts you’ll be rolling our way, I’m sure your imagination is just rolling wild with you while you’re in bed, Lol!

Take care Muse, and I know you’ll have a speedy recovery as you have a beautiful mind.๐Ÿ˜‰

I am sure you will be up and at us soon enough, use – I do apologise coming late to this post, though – but I blame Bead for that, she normally tells me if something is wrong with someone – that’s my story and I am sticking to it!

Get well soon, my friend!

That is so funny, Will. I was thinking that very thing a few days ago. (Why you hadn’t posted here) Then I was going to say something at your site and then thought you two probably keep in touch by e-mail.

Then I thought what am I the blog police?๐Ÿ™‚ Telling people…hello…Muse is ailing!

Muse, I hope you are ok. (((hugs)))

Wow, Tazzy! I surely wasn’t currently thinking of myself as good marriage material, but, hey, that’s flattering. I am indeed blessed by good caretakers, and when I look at all the nice comments, here, I’m so grateful and appreciative. Oh, yes, my imagination is on overdrive! Now, I only have to make sense of all those scrawls on scraps of paper… Thank you!๐Ÿ™‚

Will, no apologies, necessary; I’m happy to see you NOW! That’s your story, hmmm? I see the person to whom you refer is not necessarily shouldering that particular responsibility!๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you very much for your good wishes; they help more than you can imagine.

Oh, certainly, BD, it’s up to you to be the blog caretaker! You mean you didn’t take that on?๐Ÿ˜ฎ Looks like you’re not going to take any guff from our friend Will, but we love him anyway! Thank you, I am doing very much better!๐Ÿ™‚

So glad to ‘see’ you, Muse!
LOL! I am not kidding when I said I wanted to point it out to Will. Do you now how many times I stopped myself from doing so? That’s why I laughed at what he wrote. I thought he might be offended… ๐Ÿ™‚

I think Will’s a good sport, aren’t ya mate? Thanks, BD, it’s good to be seen! Better every day.๐Ÿ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...