We can all celebrate!

Posted on January 26, 2009. Filed under: HowTo, Philosophy, Spirituality |

Happy Australia Day; Happy Chinese New Year; Happy Solar Eclipse & a new moon.

Australia Day commemorates the arrival of the First Fleet in 1788 and the unfurling of the British flag at Sydney Cove. It’s sometimes seen as politically sensitive.

This is the Chinese Year of the Earth Ox. While the years are named for one of twelve animals, and thus the the Ox, for instance, will occur every twelve years, the system also pairs the animal with one of five elements. The Year of the Earth Ox occurs once every 60 years. The last time we had an Earth Ox year was 29 January 1949 to 16 February 1950, and the one in front of us lasts from 26 January 2009 to 13 February 2010. Some qualities of the Earth Ox are these: Very practical and matter-of-fact; knows where they’re going and how to get there, if not with efficiency, then with determination. Here is a good summary of what we can expect from this Earth Ox year according to Chinese astrology.

The first Solar Eclipse of 2009 is also on January 25. Since ancient times, eclipses have been seen as signs of change and evolution as we release ties with the old and embrace the new. This map shows where the eclipse can be seen; those in South Africa and Western Australia will have the best view. πŸ™‚

There is obviously a lot going on in the Universe right now. πŸ˜‰ To all who celebrate today, I wish you well! If you’re not among those with a holiday—why not celebrate anyway! We can all use a little cheer! πŸ˜€

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “We can all celebrate!”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

it’s also republic day in india today. πŸ˜‰ what’s your chinese zodiac?

Yeah…as Sulz said we celebrate our Republic day today. So celebrations galore!! πŸ˜€ Nice post as usual!

It’s always great to celebrate! Great post Muse!

…And it was Burns Night in Scotland on the 25th.

So, belatedly, Happy Australia Day, Chinese New Year, solar eclipse, Indian Republic Day and Burns Night! πŸ™‚

Oh, thanks for the reminder, sulz! I can’t believe I neglected Republic Day, particularly when I just got finished watching The Story of India on TV…with apologies to my Indian friends… 😳
I’m not telling! At least not here! If I did, you all would know how old I am…well, within a dozen years, but I bet you could guess…although maybe you’d guess the older one rather than the younger one, and then how would I feel?..No, not telling! πŸ˜›

Thank you Apar. And I AM sorry I didn’t include Republic Day, which celebrates India’s constitution, for those who didn’t know. It’s an important holiday. Yet more worldly goings-on for this time of year!

You are so right, Shane. It’s great to be able to share these different celebrations from around the world. πŸ™‚

Ah, Rabbie, me lad! Thanks for all the greetings, B0bby. Another I didn’t mention, although I was aware of it. This is the 250th anniversary of the poet’s birth, and the chorus I sing in will perform some of his songs later this year. Here’s one of my favorites

[…] to discover that two holidays I celebrate every year occurred on the same day this year; namely Chinese New Year, and Valentine’s Day. I have participated in cultural activities in my area for Chinese New […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...