To the Internet Muses of Speed: “It was just a joke!”

Posted on February 18, 2009. Filed under: Culture, Health, HowTo, Musings, Philosophy, Spirituality, Travel |

This is a four-part post.

Part one: Rant

Is this retribution? I hope not, because that concept does not fit my belief system. I would have to COMPLETELY re-evaluate how I THINK ABOUT THE MEANING OF LIFE! Ah, sorry for the shouting, folks. “We live in interesting times.” (I have heard there is a curse like this: “May you live in interesting times.” I must have been cursed by several people—in fact, I can think of a few, who supposedly were my FRIENDS!) hehe.
For the last week, or so, I have not been able to get a stable connection to the Internet. At first, I couldn’t get online at ALL. At first, I thought it was “Malware”. At first, I thought I’d fixed that.
Now, I can get on sometimes. It can work fine sometimes. It can be excruciatingly slow sometimes. It can be non-existent sometimes. I do a lot of work on the computer, including maintaining a couple of websites, and sending out bulk emails to large lists, so this is inconvenient. I’ve tried new: Virus Scanners, Firewalls, Registry Cleaners, Disk Defragmenters, lalala.
Being me, of course, I KNOW that nothing is what it seems, and that outside incidents are not isolated from my inner being. So I must be mentally cluttered and morally slow at the mo’. YOU are all carrying on without me; I know you are—it is so strange not to be able to CONNECT with you, on the Internet or in my mind! In my last post, I included a graph showing “what I do when the Internet is being slow.” I think the Internet didn’t like being accused of being slow. Because, before I posted the graph it hardly was ever slow. And now…I hope I can post this…looks like it’s going to work!

Part two: Why I didn’t care

My previous post was titled “I don’t care!” Which was true, at the time. I realize that when overwhelmed I tend to go a little brain-dead, thus not caring. Now, my brain has woken up, a bit, from its cosmic sleep, and here I am caring again. The thing was, one of the non-profit organizations I work for ran out of money, totally and completely. There was a couple hundred dollars in the bank, and we have several thousands in expenses. People reacted to this in various ways. Mine was to run around trying to fix things, explaining “Why This Is Not My Fault”, and then taking brain vacations. Others became depressed, and virtually hid—they did not respond to phone calls and emails. Still others got mad. This is a familiar story in many places. For me it has been a lesson in keeping my equilibrium. I’m privileged to experience many of these kinds of lessons. In the end (of this particular “crisis”, anyway) people came through with donations, corporate sponsorship, and ideas for fund raisers. It looks like things will be alright for the rest of the season, and into next fall where we have a large sponsorship opportunity awaiting us. Whew!

During it all, I reminded myself that “all is well”. I truly believe that this is always so. It is helpful to be grounded in some sort of belief system in “good” times and in “bad”. (I must put those words in quotes, because, ultimately I cannot define any situation with either of those terms.)

Part three: Walk

Last time, I also mentioned the walk I was going to take, in order to clear my mind. I went in the afternoon, and the little snow that was on the ground had cleared. The surrounding mountains, however, were beautiful. They always are, with or without snow, but snow is so rare here, that when it does occur, it’s like a magic fairy land. (Well, that may be a bit romantic, but not much!) Here are the Catalina mountains without snow:

catmtns

Here they are with snow:

catsnow

Every time I go for a long walk near home, these are the mountains I see. They fill my mind and heart with beauty and peace; they are a respite.

Part four: Tubac

It was suggested to me that I accompany a person I’m fond of on a day trip Out of Town. What a good idea! There is a small Artist Colony/Tourist/Mission/Military Fort town just over an hour’s drive from here. I hadn’t been there in over five years, and had been told it had changed and grown. The last time I was there, there were a few nice shops, and the Fort and the old Mission were worth seeing. Now, Tubac is a thriving arts and crafts center, almost like a mini Santa Fe, with beautiful shops, gorgeous and unique art, and several really nice eateries. It was like taking a mini-vacation, without having to travel very far. The weather was perfect; just warm and sunny enough to walk around comfortably. It was a lovely day, and a welcome change.

On the way home, I had the same question I often have when I travel directly south of Tucson. A few miles out of the city the road-distance signs abruptly change from Miles to Kilometers. The signs in Mexico are in kilometers, but at this point, we are still 30 miles (or 48 kilometers) from the Mexican border, well within the United States of America. And, it’s not as if the signs have BOTH miles and kilometers; they don’t!—just kilometers! It makes no sense. I’ve been asking myself “WHY?” for years, so, as I’m writing this, thought I might as well, finally, look it up. The only reason I could come up with on my own was that, as close to the border as this is, perhaps the signs are in kilometers for the convenience of Mexican shoppers. But, that still makes it confusing for all the US residents in the area. πŸ˜• It turns out this is NOT the case. According to Wikipedia, one of my many sources for many things:

Interstate 19 is unique amongst US Interstates, because signed distances are given in meters (hundreds or thousands as distance-to-exit indications) or kilometers (as distance-to-destination indications), and not miles. Speed limit signs give speeds in miles-per-hour, however. According to the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), metric signage was originally placed because of the “metric system push” in the United States at the time of the original construction of the highway.
Recently, the Arizona Department of Transportation announced that they would convert metric signs back to United States customary units in stages, replacing signs in specific areas of the freeway during construction projects in those areas. This is due to the high cost of replacing all the metric signs at once.

Well—what do you know! Not only are the reasons not what I thought, but our little highway is “unique”. I guess when the state gets some money (?) we’ll convert. I do vaguely remember some talk erupting from time to time about the US going on the metric system. This did not go over well. To say the least. I’m still impressed that the Brits managed to convert from sovereigns and farthings, or whatever it was they used to have, and that much of Europe has been able to cope with the Euro.

Another little “factoid” about our area: (This one I did know) The county in which I live is part of a little strip of land in what is now southern Arizona and New Mexico known as the “Gadsden Purchase“, a “purchase” which remains unpopular with Mexico from whom it was “purchased” to this day. For reasons I don’t clearly understand, the Gadsden Purchase was part of the confederacy during the US civil war. (The rest of Arizona were Yanks.) A strange little moment in a strange history. We are all Southwesterners, now.

Part five: The End.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “To the Internet Muses of Speed: “It was just a joke!””

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

so that’s where you’ve been ‘hiding’! or not. πŸ˜› have you got the internet bug fixed then? i hope so. glad to read that the organisation’s woes are all sorted out now. and if i had a view like that i’d enjoy walks like you do too! πŸ™‚

Ma’am Muse, My laptop is like your pc; sometimes slow, sometimes fast with no software problem. When I asked advice from BleepingComputer, the best answer I chose was:
‘clean the inside of your pc’ i.e., dust.

Wow! I didn’t know your neighborhood looks like paradise. That’s why Arizona is my favorite state. I like it’s climate. (I’m just a Filipino)

Wow!! at the view. Glad your PC is up again and we can read ur great insights πŸ™‚

Did you find out what the problem was with your computer? Glad you are back on.
I didn’t know you maintained websites. Very cool. That is awful that the charity ran out of money.
You do live in such a beautiful place. I can just imagine waking up to that every morning. What more could yo want in life with a view like that?
That artist colony would be a nice place to live! I remember reading about one in Saskatchewan, then when I tried to find it again, I couldn’t.
I like the interesting tidbits of info you find about your area.
Hope you are doing well.

Glad you’re back online! And with more interesting facts to share with us as well!

I love those photos! You have such spectacular views of the mountains. Such majestic scenery.

You shouldn’t be impressed with Brits for converting. We might have metric money, but we don’t measure everything else that way. It’s really confusing, because some people use the one system and other people use the other: temperature in metric, distance in imperial, volume in metric unless you’re talking about beer or milk, etc.

Yeah, sulz, more like my computer’s hiding from me. It’s still a bit wobbly; I’m not sure what it is. It’s very prissy and moody and just won’t talk to the Internet when it doesn’t feel like it. Yes, I’m relieved the organization is OK, thank you! πŸ™‚ I’m very lucky to live in such a beautiful place. πŸ˜€

Dust, poch? I hadn’t thought of that. Perhaps I’ll give it a look; I haven’t had the case open for a year. I hope your laptop is speeding along! Thank you, I like the climate too, most of the year…still, it can be very hot in the summer. “Just” a Filipino, poch? As in “only”? I’ve known quite a few people from Philippines, and I would never describe any of them as “just”! πŸ™‚

Thanks, Apar! It is pretty spectacular! Oh, you are sweet! {blushes} πŸ™‚

Hey, BD, I’ve missed visiting you, too. My connection is still kind of temperamental. I’m planning to call the cable company next week, and see if they have anything to suggest (like sell me higher-speed bandwidth! for more money!—after I check for dust, though!) Yes, I do; just two websites for small orgs. And to think, I learned everything I needed to know from blogging! (Well, almost!) Yes, I can tell I like it here, because after nearly nine years I still am blown away by the mountains and the views! πŸ™‚ There are a few little towns around this area like that…you should have seen the handcrafted BEAD shop! Perhaps someday you will! πŸ˜€ Thanks, I live in kind of a quirky place, and I like other people to know that! πŸ˜›

So pleased you do think they’re interesting, B0bby! πŸ™‚ Oh, thank you. I can’t claim credit for taking the photos, they are just ones I found that are particularly representative. I really am so fortunate. Oh, dear. So, it’s not all pounds and pence and everything decimal then? Sounds like a lot to keep track of. And then traveling to other places and having to learn their systems, too! πŸ˜• πŸ˜‰

May you be blessed with only the bestest of stresses, my friend.

Whenever I suspect something is off with my computer, I get some help from cybertechhelp.com. It’s just a forum where you post a log from a program they have you run, and those people run through it and walk you through cleaning anything bad off your computer. It may be worth a shot if you think you may still have some malware around.

Glad to see that the non-profit was able to work things out. Hopefully things will pick back up soon and get better, especially for organizations like those!

You’re lucky to have such a beautiful place to be able to go to and walk! Thanks for sharing the pics!

That’s very interesting about those signs. It’s funny how the whole metric push just kind of faded out. I think if you were raised completely with the metric system it would be easier, but trying to convert all of us that are not is one huge challenge. Your trip looks like it was a neat one! I see lots of things on those sites to take pics of πŸ™‚

Take care Muse!

C, I just love that! The bestest of stresses!!! What a way with words have you. πŸ™‚

I haven’t heard of a site like that, Shane. I’ve downloaded a number of free programs, or free to try, or ones that just scan and then want money to fix me! But this one sounds different, I’m off to try it, and thanks! Yes, arts organizations are needed more than ever in “interesting” times. Thank you for the good wishes. I am so very lucky to live in this place. I’m really glad you liked the pictures. Arizona can be quite varied, as you know from visiting, and the mountains make my area very special. Oh yes there’s a lot to look at and take pictures of. I really should start practicing, shouldn’t I? πŸ™‚

You’re welcome! I’ve cleaned up several computers with their help and no way I could have done it w/o all of their knowledge and help. Good luck when you get a chance to do it!

I think you should, I know I would really enjoy looking at them if you did πŸ™‚

Wow—-those mountains are beautiful. Makes me want to jump into a car and road trip! I can feel the peace and solitude. Oh the longing! We are in the midst of our Feburary blast of Minnesota snow. So beautiful and fluffy and a crisp reminder that we are not yet to the awakening of spring. I enjoy the deep breaths of clean crisp air–grateful to be alive, employed and awakened.

I went to the site, and it’s awesome! The tutorials alone are worth the trip. I’d done a couple of scans before I went there, and she seems to be fine for now. But the moment Xaaron acts up again, it’s off to cybertechhelp! Aw, thanks, Shane! With motivation like that I may just do it! πŸ™‚

Thank you much, seeing. It is incredibly beautiful. Ah snow! You have actual seasons, there. I realize I have never lived anywhere like that, with four distinct seasons. I guess Flagstaff, up in the mountains of Arizona came closest. Here in southern AZ we have the Really Hot Time, and the Fairly Cool Time, with maybe 2-3 weeks “Springish” and the same for “Autumnish” in between them. πŸ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...