A wedding, a birthday, and a funeral

Posted on April 25, 2009. Filed under: Culture, Musings |

Free Clipart Picture of a Piece of Cake on a Plate. Click Here to Get Free Images at Clipart Guide.com No, this is not a sequel to a popular movie, it’s just my life lately. A few days ago I went to the wedding of some people I didn’t know well. I had been sitting next to the future bride at a meeting when her engagement was announced. She didn’t know her fiance was going to stand up and announce it. She blushed, and giggled, and hugged me—since I was right there!—and we became instant friends. Then she introduced me to her fiance and now we are all friends.

It was a fun wedding; very simple, elegant and beautiful. We had some friends in common, and it was a gorgeous day for an outdoor reception. Then I walked on a beautiful nature trail near the wedding location. Nice day!

Today is my birthday! Yay! I don’t know if I will have had fun yet, because I’m posting this very early, but I expect to. It’s a Saturday, so I’m starting the day with breakfast outdoors at my favorite park/museum/gallery/tea room. It is my tradition to have a meal there; I have done so every birthday since I’ve lived in southern Arizona. After that, I’m going shopping, hiking, and to the library! (I know; but those are fun for me!) Then, out to dinner and a concert with friends.

My dear blog friend, sulz, actually remembered my birthday from last year, AND took the time during her holiday in Thailand to commemorate it! Isn’t that nice of her? πŸ™‚

On Sunday, I’m facilitating a group in the morning, and attending a memorial service in the afternoon. It should be a nice event, actually. I didn’t know the man that passed away very well, but his wife and I have become close in a philosophical discussion group, and I’m attending to support her. She believes, and I fairly well agree, that her husband “has returned to pure, positive energy”, so she intends this to be a celebration of his life, rather than a sad funeral. She will miss him greatly, but she says it feels to her as if he’s gone on a really long trip. They will tell stories about him, and we’ll have cake.

So, it’s an eventful weekend. I didn’t want to end with the “funeral”, so I’ll tell you…

I gave myself a gift for my birthday. I finally (after some kicking and screaming and whining) joined a social network. Well, actually, three. Being me, it took me, like, a YEAR to research the ones I was interested in. I’m still not sure what I’ll do with them, or if I’ll really put in the time required, but I’m jumping in. You can follow me on Twitter, on Library Thing and on Gaia Community.Β  I will follow you, if I can find you! πŸ™‚ I’ll be learning, so thanks for your patience.

Have a nice weekend!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

28 Responses to “A wedding, a birthday, and a funeral”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Happy Birthday.. πŸ™‚

I wish you joy on this day Muse!
Makes me wonder why you’re pondering about my post ‘Extended Self’ when it’s your B-day??
Sounds like multi-tasking.

Happy Birthday Muse! Your day sounds like a truly lovely way to celebrate. In fact, I will go to the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens and, after celebrating Hanami (“Hanami is the Japanese cultural tradition of viewing and cherishing each moment of the cherry blossom season.”) I will also go to the Japanese Hill-and-Pond Garden and send special birthday wishes from there to you.

Enjoy!

Ronnie Ann

I never understood the whole twitter boom. It takes the worst part of facebook (the status messages) and turns it into its own website, pretty much.

Have a nice b-day!

I think twitter should only be used by those who don’t have much pc or internet access.

I guess I should have read your post before e-mailing you!
((((HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!))))

That twitter page is neat. I always thought twitter was this small box on a website. I didn’t know you could have a page.

But the library thing…awesome! How do we find you there? I want to know what you read! That is so cool! Never heard of it. Do you post books that you have read before, or just currently reading?

You joined Gaia! I hope you let us know more about it in time. I’ve looked into it a bit before.

It must have been a neat feeling to be right there when someone proposes marriage!
The memorial sounds like a great way to celebrate someone’s life. I think celebrating the good moments and the fact we got to be a part of that persons life is better than the other option. That’s what I want when it’s my time.

I hope you have a wonderful evening!

Thank you, oorja! It’s very nice of you to pop over and wish me well!

I appreciate your wishes, poch. Well, I’m particularly allowed to do things I like on my birthday, like philosophize. πŸ˜›

Thank you, RA, it is lovely of you to go there and do that! I have received them! Amazing (well, not so much, as it’s you!) you mentioned the Japanese Garden. During my growing-up years in San Francisco, the Japanese Tea Garden was a respite for me when I needed one. It was possible to visit at times when it wasn’t overrun by tourists. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that) πŸ˜‰ Oh, the cherry blossoms! How glorious they are. You have encouraged me to want to visit the Brooklyn Gardens next time I’m on the East Coast. πŸ™‚ I had to laugh because I remember you posted recently about joining Twitter and once I did I hopped over to re-read your post; hoping all your questions got answered and I could learn from you…only to find you decided it wasn’t for you after all! πŸ˜› {wonder if I will like it?}

Yes, but have you actually tried it leap? I spent a lot of time thinking it was…well, any number of adjectives. Then, I read comments by several people I respect saying that changed for them once they started. We’ll see if I agree! Thank you for the b-day wishes! πŸ™‚

And have you tried it, poch? πŸ˜‰ One of my reasons is that there are a couple of people I know (for instance, my sister) who are only comfortable sitting at a computer for a very short time, for health reasons. This way, they can wander over, type a few words, and still stay in touch. πŸ™‚

I’m glad you did email me, BD, it was lovely to hear from you on my birthday! πŸ™‚ Yes, a lot of people have the Twitter feed in their sidebar, and it doesn’t show the whole page or a lot of options. Still, it shows the that there has been action. I’ve just got a few books up on Library Thing so far. I’m planning to put all my books on there, but that will take a while—there are a lot of them! πŸ™‚ It’s a fun community; it shows other members who have read my books, and there are discussion groups one can participate in. I tend to go slowly with things like that. Oh, I thought the link went to my profile page. I’ve fixed it now, try this instead. Thanks for asking! I’m pretty sure I first heard about Gaia from you, dear beadie one! Since then, I’ve seen it around. I’ll let you know how I go on with it, thank you! And thanks—I had a great time at the concert. Jazz, Swing & Show Tunes! πŸ˜€

Funny…I was actually thinking of the wonderful Japanese Tea Garden in San Fancisco when I wrote that and had to edit my own words to use the right name for the one at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden. It’s not quite the same (the one in SF is soooo great for meditation), but as they say…love the one you’re with.

Will be curious what you decide about Twitter. For me it was mostly about trying to spend less time on my PC, but I could change my mind one day. Possibly I just wasn’t approaching it with the right attitude or state of monkey mind. πŸ˜‰

Peace out and in,
Ronnie Ann

Oh…and if you ever do get to my neck o’ the woods, please let me know. It would be my honor to join you at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden or for a nice cup of tea in my own beautiful historic and bloom-filled urban neighborhood.

Enjoy the rest of your birthday week, Muse! (It is never just a day, you know. In fact, as far as I’m concerned, for you it should be the whole year. πŸ™‚ )

RA

Happy Birthday, Muse. A bit belated. Sounds like a lovely day.

I agree you must visit the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens if you ever make it to this coast. And its counterpart in The Bronx. Bliss.

Thanks for fixing the link, Muse. I just joined the library thing. I haven’t listed my books yet.
Most of the books on my shelf are ones I haven’t read yet because I give away the ones I have read (unless they are reference books).

It looks like an awesome site, I’m so glad you told me about it! Well, Im off to get some books… πŸ™‚

Hey, Belated Happy BIrthday..I was not looking into my feeds since weekend so missed it. πŸ™‚

I will follow you on twitter. My page is _alps. πŸ™‚

And the wedding scene is actually straight from a movie.

Happy belated Birthday Muse!! Hope you had a wonderful one!! πŸ™‚

Happy belated birthday, Muse.

Wish you the best and happiness every day of your life.

J

Happy Belated Birthday muse!!!! omg your birthday is just one day ahead of my twin kitties!! They turned 6 yesterday Of course I expect you to be a little older!! :-D)))

A year to research?? I thought _I_ was the fastidious research type… πŸ˜‰ but to be honest with you, until you have created an account and really used them for a while, research is still just research, you won’t know what it is like (or whether you will like em) until you see with your own eyes. No one can know/tell you if YOU will like it.
Speaking from my own experience, seriously.

Thank you very much, RA! I had the feeling you must have been there during your time in SF. My jury is out about Twitter. I feel I’m missing something…but I’m going to give it some time. I’m doubly twitty at the moment; I have one bloggie account and one, gasp! for my real life self, so people like my sister can tweet at me. I would keep that one just for her right now, even if I don’t pursue it all in the future. πŸ™‚ Well, I would love to go to the gardens with you. I will let you know. I have family in NJ, and upstate, but they like me to come in the winter when they are less busy, but I am more cold! And yes, I have managed to extend the BD celebration a bit; now, with your endorsement, I’ll just continue on!!! πŸ˜€

Thank you, ella! I’m happy to have the wishes whenever I get them! Wow, the Bronx, too? I really must investigate! We have the Desert Botanical Gardens here, but it would be nice to look at some fresh flora! πŸ˜‰

You’re welcome, BD, and I’m glad you like Library Thing. I keep mostly reference books, too—but I have over 200 of them! πŸ˜› Me likes me books! πŸ˜€

Thank you, Poonam! I know, many people do not blog on the weekend. That’s what I get for having my birthday on a Saturday! πŸ˜‰ I appreciate the wishes; it means I still get to celebrate. Yay! I found you on Twitter, and I’m following you now, too! …That scene did feel like a movie—very romantic. πŸ™‚

I really appreciate the wishes, Shane, and I did everything I said I was going to do, and had a really good time—even at the memorial service. My friend was in tears some of the time, and in laughter others. πŸ™‚

Thank you so much, Juan! Every day—those are good wishes to have! πŸ™‚

Well, then, happy belated birthday to the kitties, too! Thank you, walking! I am just slightly older than six! (Or else I’m a remarkably articulate six-year-old, heehee.) I agree with you, no matter how it looks from afar, it can be very different actually experiencing a thing. I’ll just ease my way into it, and see what I think. YOU are one of the people that suggested I join Twitter—are you there? πŸ˜‰

bummer, it wasn’t goodreads.com OH WELL! I have yet to Twitter but I might someday. and I don’t know anything about Gala. Happy belated b-day. LOTS of my favorite people have had birthdays this past week… I wonder what’s up with that?

I was trying to see if you would notice it on my right sidebar, but guess my experiment failed… *_^

Just logged on to check mail/ blog posts etc…
Sorry! Sorry!! Sorry!!!
Belated birthday wishes! I feel bad not to have wished you on the day itself 😦 Hope you had a good one. Wishing you the very best in the years to come! πŸ™‚

Following you on Twitter, Muse!

And happy belated birthday!!

Happy Belated Birthday Muse and Welcome to Twitter! I’ve added you as well πŸ™‚ It’s so nice to be back in the blogosphere after such a long break!

Well, that’s because I hadn’t come across it, Care, my dear IdeaJump friend.
“And why is that?”, you ask.
Because I forgot to put your book blog into my feed reader! I was reminded again when I checked your latest post!
So, I took a look around goodreads, and, wow! I may have to add that as well, or use it instead of, or I don’t know yet…I’m thinking of joining BlogCatalog, too, and I will go gagga (er) if I have too many, but, goodreads is very, very interesting. So thanks for the reminder, and you are now in my reader twice! I only have one entry per person in my blogroll.
“And why is that?”, you ask.
Since this has given me an idea for a post, I’ll answer there; then! πŸ˜›

Oh, Ms. Between! I can’t believe I didn’t even notice it. 😳 It makes me realize once again, that I’m just not that visually oriented. Once I visit someone’s blog, I don’t usually notice if they made changes. Sometimes a dramatic new header will catch my eye. In this case, you had even mentioned Twitter to me! Anyway, I’m following you now, and my next post addresses this issue, too! πŸ™‚

Apar, no need to be sorry!!! Lots of people don’t read everyone’s blogs every day! I’m just pleased you took the time to wish me well. That means a lot to me! And I did have a very nice one! πŸ™‚

Way cool, Will! Me, too, you—thank you! πŸ˜€

Kiran! You are back! You must have finished all that studying and traveling (or at least are taking a break!) I’ll pop over and see what you’ve been up to. Thank you for wishes and Twittering. I’ll follow you too.

Happy belated birthday Muse! I’m so sorry I didn’t read this and comment sooner. 😦 It was really rude of me, sorry!

*hugs*

happy belated birthday Mused!!! I’ve been thinking of getting on Twitter as I’ve got a couple of other blog buddies who Tweet but I’m still resisting. Who knows… maybe I will soon. If I do I’ll definitely add you on to follow. muah! (birthday kiss and hug)

β€œAnd why is that?”, I ask.
ha! I experiemented with LT and Shelfari before settling on goodreads.com and am finding it so helpful to track everything – past tense, future, who sug’d a book, notes while reading, etc. I’ll be watching your future post on multiple blog identities! (is that correct?)

Happy Birthday my fellow Taurus–my fellow birthday sharer. Saturdays are fun days for birthdays.

Not at all, B0bby! I’ve not been as frequent a guest here on WordPress lately as I’d like, either. Thank you for your wishes and hugs! I gleefully accept them. πŸ™‚

Thank you, jules, much appreciated! And if you do decide to become a twit, definitely look me up! πŸ˜› (aww, that’s nice) πŸ™‚

You are helping me to broaden my horizons, IdeaJump, and I do appreciate it. The site really does look more comprehensive than LT. Yes, the post after this next one will be about that; thanks for checking back! πŸ™‚

Thank you, seeing, and I wish you a splendid month of Taurus as well. I loved reading and seeing your work before I knew we shared the same B’day. It’s wonderful to know someone in the bloggies that understands why I’m the way I am. (Well, that may be asking a bit much!) πŸ˜›

[…] Filed under: Culture,Musings,Philosophy,Travel | This is the third time I’m celebrating my birthday on my Blog. Happy Birthday to me! I’m much older than three, of course, but it’s still […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...