treks, stars, angels, demons, colliders

Posted on May 13, 2009. Filed under: Culture, Philosophy, Science |

Each of the words in the title of this post has at least a double meaning in my life this week. I have called the last week—from last Thursday until now—the busiest week I’ve had so far. I don’t know if this is strictly true, but, certainly a lot of things came together at once. First there was work. A lot of it. I’ll talk about that and brag about my accomplishments in a minute, but while it’s fresh I want to tell you about my day.

On Wednesday, I finally had a day off; a day where I wasn’t expected to be anywhere, and had only small or upcoming projects I could safely ignore—for a day, anyway.

Did I spend the day catching up on my blog friends’ blogs? On posts and stories and lives I’ve sadly neglected? Although I’ve missed you, and haven’t been around, and haven’t expressed concern for some things I know some of you are going through—No. I. didn’t.

I spent the day with Science Fiction, Reality, and Fun. I really needed the break, so please forgive me. I went to see a movie (guess which one), went out to lunch, and then went to a science lecture in the evening. I know the movie and lunch might sound like fun to most of you, but, a lecture? That’s more like work, or a class, or something. For some. For me it’s fun, stimulating, and relaxing all at the same time. This particular lecture was exhilarating! It was called Angels & Demons: The Science of Antimatter and the Large Hadron Collider. I haven’t seen the movie Angels & Demons yet, as it doesn’t open for a couple of days, but apparently, in honor of The Year of Science, many universities throughout the USA were presenting similar lectures this week.

atom3The talk was wonderfully entertaining. There’s nothing like a funny physicist to capture my attention. He was able to address the science in the upcoming movie in way that educated and enlightened scientists and non-scientists alike. I learned that much of the science discussed in the film is true; real; something that I wasn’t expecting. The Large Hadron Collider, which is planned to be activated later this year, plays an important role in Angels & Demons, and several of the physicists who’ve worked on the Collider teach at the University of Arizona, where I attended the lecture, and were present there. All the images and properties of the collider discussed in the film are accurate, we were told. The only s-t-r-e-t-c-h, perhaps, was the potential of the bomb which is the major threat in the movie. I’m impressed that so many of the highly-scrutinized science premises are well presented.

Six hours earlier, I was delighted with Star Trek, as well. Awesome; Credible; Very-Nearly-Perfect. I’ve seen every episode of The Original Series at least six times, and I thought the way the characters were handled in this film was surprising, but fit with the physics we know, without losing any credibility or violating the history of the franchise. There have been some viewers who feel the JJ Abrams film didn’t adhere to the Star Trek we know and love—I disagree, I think the story was handled in a consistent way with physics we entertain today. As I said; surprising. I’m not giving it away though! Go see it, even if you are not a particular Star Trek fan. (Do I know such people?) ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s a great space adventure whether you’ve heard of Kirk or Spock, or not. I, and my geeky, Trekker fans waited a long time for this film. I’m looking forward to the continuing voyages.

Here’s what I needed a break from: Two major events for two of the organizations I work for in ONE weekend. And all the buildup to them, and fallout afterward, including me getting promoted, or voted-into, really, the directorship of one of the groups. (Good for me! Yay!) I’m going to have a very busy year, but I have a little breathing room for a couple of weeks to catch up with my online reading.

All the science was a refreshing change for me, after being up to my ears in arts and cultural groups (even if one of them has its scientific elements). Tomorrow is my day to clean house, read blogs (alternatively blog-clean-blog-clean; it works better for me that way) and plan to move forward in my new role. Cheers, and thanks for your patience! ๐Ÿ˜€

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

17 Responses to “treks, stars, angels, demons, colliders”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

congrats on your promotion! i understand that when life takes over blogging sometimes takes the back seat. but hopefully not forgotten in the trunk! ๐Ÿ™‚

i’ve read dan brown’s angels and demons and it was quite a good read. can’t wait to catch the movie… i hope i can find the time!

My kids took me to see Star Trek for Mother’s Day. As you know I adore science fiction and real science (especially astronomy). I really liked Star Trek. I thought it was exciting and fun. I have seen every episode of the original series and the Generations series more than once I’m sure.

I hope you have a good day tomorrow blogging and cleaning.

Thank you sulz! I appreciate that. I haven’t been ignoring you; in fact I’ve been itching vicariously! ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Poor sulz has hives!) ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I read A & D, too, and the film is supposed to be better than the last one, and better than the book, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Indeed, I do know this about you, Joan. I’m glad you liked ST! I thought they updated it brilliantly! And thanks, I didn’t get quite as much of either one done as I hoped, but I will catch up; really I will. ๐Ÿ˜€

Hopefully I will get to see ST this weekend. And congratulations on the directorship!

As for Science fiction I think that the world should look at it in a different way – something like Science yet to come.

If you look at the science of the OS and TNG then you can see that many of the devices that are on those shows are, in reality, real today.

We cannot travel faster than light, yet – nor just beam from one place to another – but they are working on that.

The collider will open up so much it will blow peoples minds. I, for one, cannot wait.

Glad to hear Star Trek was good—looking forward to checking it out.

What a week, Muse. I am happy that you enjoyed yourself amongst all that work. I wish I knew more about science so I could understand more about that Collider thing. Maybe it wouldn’t scare me so much. ;)Even having Collider in the name freaks me out. But I guess that is what happens when you just don’t understand the whole concept of it.

I used to watch Star Trek with my brother when I was young. He was a huge fan and had all those dolls and I cut the hair off the woman! He very nearly killed me over that one. I was such a brat! I promise to watch the DVD when it comes out.

I hope you let us know all about your goings on with your work and organizations. I am so curious it just keeps me wondering about all the stuff you know and do. I can’t help it. Even though half of it would probably just fly over my head. LOL! That’s the joy of being able to meet people who know things you don’t!

A lot of people are talking about Angels and Demons. I haven’t read the book or watched anything. But it is creating quite the buzz.

Hope all is going well with you. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hey Muse! Congrats on the Directorship, but even bigger congrats on treating yourself to a science day. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Besides being tuned in to so many other things I love, you help feed the geeky side of me. I’m a big fan of science of all kinds (not that I have the depth of understanding you’ve accumulated) and of course I am a fan of (need it be added?) Star Trek.

Sometimes I think you’re living the life I chose not to live but would have wanted to so I could pursue other stuff. If so, thank you. Or are our worlds colliding? (Hope that doesn’t leave you with a bad Hadron-ache.)

Ok. That was terrible even for me. My apologies. Thanks for sharing your geeky day with us. Good luck on having a less busy but equally-as-good week next week. Will now do some munching on those tasty links.

Peace out and in, ME!

RA

Star Trek – excellent film!

Couple of plot falls (Time line of Spock’s life, how interaction works when two of the same person should meet each other in the same time line (see NG Data, Spock and Kirk in the OS)- but it is the movies after all. But all in all, very, very good film.

It appears that you did, Will! Indeed, about “Science-yet-to-come”. I’m so excited to see what happens with the Collider. And if it does blow up the whole universe, well…it’s been nice knowing you! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜›

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did, seeing. The physics theories demonstrated are changing everything! ๐Ÿ™‚

Whew, I’ll say, BD! Thanks! The Collider is very scary, and also very exciting! Things actually do collide! Wheee! (Just itty-bitty particles, though, how frightening can that be?) ๐Ÿ˜‰ Haha, you cut the Star Trek dolls hair?!?!? Oooh, I might not have made friends with you if I’d known that! ๐Ÿ˜› Oh, thanks for your interest! The truth is I have several “little” jobs, and I like this, as I’m not beholden too much to any one of them. The directorship is more responsibility, and more work!, but in reality it’s about 10 hours a week…although I tend to give it more. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have mixed feelings about A&D, but of course I’ll have to see it! Thanks, it’s all good! ๐Ÿ™‚

Aw, thanks, RA! I did enjoy my science day. I plan to have several more during the summer. Yay! Geeks of the world, um, not unite, exactly, as geeks don’t really do that, but, um, how ’bout…accept themselves?!?! ๐Ÿ˜› Hadron-ache! Yah, terrible, but funny! {snicker} One of my favorite scientific notions is the “many worlds theory”, so I just put myself in there with it and say I’m practising the “many minds theory”. I often even get away with that! (I count as “getting away with it” when others stop questioning, look at me strangely, and then back slowly away.) ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yum! Let me know how you liked the links! ๐Ÿ˜€

Yes, wonderful film, Willagain! I must respectfully disagree, however with what you describe as “plot falls”, although your POV is perfectly valid. Not to give too much away, but I believe the film reflects current theories, such as the Many Worlds Interpretation, when one need not consider the Grandfather Paradox. Spock’s timeline—and ultimately every other character’s—IS irrevocably changed by events from the future, AND he can co-exist with another version of himself because of those events. The original timeline remains unaltered, and goes on in its own universe! The new timeline need not honor the quantum theories of the original, because they are subject to interpretation and observation. I can hardly stand it, this is sooo cool! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Congrats Muse on your promotion!
I have read A&D, liked it better than Da Vinci code as a book. I did hear that the movie is better than the other movie too ๐Ÿ™‚ Will have to wait till it gets released here in India. I hope I don’t feel like I felt at the end of Da Vinci code the movie – I should have just stopped at reading the book ๐Ÿ™‚

Hi again Muse! Enjoyed all links, but especially got lost in (head) space on the Year Of Science links. Had fun wandering to and reading various takes on why science matters: http://whyscience.co.uk/

Jolly good fun.

RA

I think you have to be one of the very coolest people I (sort of) ‘know’! I do want to see the Star Trek movie and am very excited about it. Congrats on the great work going forward as Director…

Some people think Sci-Fi people are crazy . . . what about protesters?

Star Trek was awesome, especially when Kirk gets beaten up by Spock. Good stuff!

Thank you, Apar! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m planning on seeing A&D later this week. I hope I like the ending, too! We can compare notes, later. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m thrilled you reported this and shared the link, RA! That is one very engaging film. And if science isn’t FUN, to heck with it, anyway!!! ๐Ÿ˜›

Well, that has to be one of the nicest compliments I can imagine, IdeaJump. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m terrifically glad I sort of know you, too, Care!!! Thank you for your good wishes, and I hope you enjoy Star Trek as much as I did!

Hi, keoki! Well, there may be some merit in sending cows to…(I won’t spoil it for the others) particularly for those of us who could easily do without eating them. Too funny!!! But with a great message at the end. I appreciate you sharing it.

Much entertainment to be had, there, V S. I liked the scene where Kirk calls the guy in the bar “cupcake”. (And the aftermath). ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m sorry you’ll be absent more because of socializing but hey, CONGRATS on the promotion!!

Something a bit similar happened to me the past few days or weeks- two of the biggest techie WP blogs got me into their blogrolls. Names: Computer Savvy Weblog (CSW) and Whatsonmypc.
CSW even took me as a writing member.

Did I say “socializing”, poch? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Oh, it’s because I talked about “events”, right? Should have been clearer. Actually I was involved in producing or facilitating them. Part of my job! ๐Ÿ˜‰
Wow, that’s fantastic; congratulations! I’ll have to check them out!!! ๐Ÿ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...