The dark time: El día de los Muertos

Posted on November 3, 2009. Filed under: Culture, Games, Philosophy, Travel |

DIA I’ve written about el día before, but this year I found the best synopsis online at the Smithsonian Latino Museum for a holiday that can be difficult to define. Here is what they say:

El Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) on November 2 is a day of celebration for the people of Mexico, Central America, and for Mexican Americans in the United States. It is a day to honor and commemorate the lives of the dearly departed and to welcome the return of their spirits.

I also visited the Smithsonian’s virtual exhibit online. It is excellent; I recommend a look around, or visit the real Smithsonian if you are near.

Where I live, the “Day of the Dead” holiday often gets mixed up with Halloween celebrations, or else with “All Saints Day” in the church. Here in Tucson, a week of holiday will culminate in the All Souls Procession on November 8th. This is quite an event, as we are on the border of Mexico, and rich in its culture. Take a look at this link; there are some amazing things to see and history to read.

If you celebrate it, did you have a nice Halloween? I didn’t go to a “live” party this year; but I enjoyed giving treats to the small ones—so cute! After the treating and tweeting, I did attend several parties online. They were pretty fun, actually. In real life I’ve been a butterfly, ice cream cone, gypsy fortune-teller, and a Highlander, complete with sword. I liked the sword, so I chose a costume that could include it, and since I’d never been a pirate before, there it was:

SL 4 Halloween_001

I know it’s traditional for a pirate to have a parrot on her/his shoulder, but I felt a cat was more appropriate for Halloween. Doesn’t look very menacing, though, does she?😉

Anyway, as I contemplate the dark time, a time of renewal when one integrates the lessons of the past year, I wish you happy journeying.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “The dark time: El día de los Muertos”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Happy journeying to you, too!

Thank you, IJ! I am. I did. I do.🙂

Oh Muse. The costume doesn’t become you
but it looks cool😀

Don’t think I’m the Pirate type, poch? Hehe. It was very cool to be this person—for a couple of hours!

[…] I’ve written before about Dia de los Muertos, here and here. […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...