Simplicity: The bringer of Order

Posted on December 25, 2009. Filed under: Musings, Philosophy |

To those celebrating Christmas Day or Boxing Day when you read this–Good Holidays to You! Today is day five of a self-styled twelve-day Solstice meditation for me, and I decided to write my thoughts about it daily on this blog. I started on Solstice Day, December 21, and will end (at least this series) on New Year’s Day.

Day FIVE: The Quality of Simplicity; the Gift of Order in all Things.

Today is a good day to consider Simplicity. I think giving and receiving gifts is a wonderful thing, particularly if there are children in the family. But it’s OK to simply exchange greetings or cards as well. As we zip along towards the end of the year, I find myself going through the things I already have and either appreciating them anew, or realizing it’s time for them to go. (Something new and shiny once in a while just keeps things interesting!) Even the holiday party I attended on the 24th, lovely though it was, would be too much celebrating for me if it happened more frequently (although I’m willing to endure the homemade tamales and tacos we had at any time of the year; yum!)

And the gift of the day, Order, is probably the one I’m most glad to receive. My life can get quite chaotic; organized I’m not! But when I observe order (simplicity makes that easier), I feel a sense of calm I aspire to. Here’s wishing all is in order for you today.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Simplicity: The bringer of Order”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Thanks for sharing your thoughts while on retreat. May your new year contain all that you need to achieve balance and harmony in your life. 🙂

I appreciate your good wishes, and ongoing friendship, TT! May your New Year bring much light and love.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...