Contentment within Beauty

Posted on December 31, 2009. Filed under: Culture, Health, Music, Philosophy, Spirituality |

The last one of the year! And the penultimate one in the series! I’ve been spending the “Twelve Days of Solstice” (since December 21) in contemplating various aspects of my reality. Only one more daily meditation to go, the one on New Year’s Day.

Day ELEVEN: The Quality of Beauty, the essence of contentment;
the Gift of Harmony.

I never really thought of “Beauty” as the “essence” of contentment. When one contemplates Beauty, it can be incredibly emotionally moving, exciting, or calming. The Navajo tribe of Arizona and New Mexico have a chant:

Beauty before me
Beauty behind me
Above and below me hovers the beautiful.

♦ ♦ ♦
We are surrounded by it
We are immersed in it.

♦ ♦ ♦
In your youth you are aware of it
And in your old age you shall walk quietly
The beautiful trail.

Their way is called “The Beauty Way”. There is much to contemplate here. When I consider the chant; when I softly repeat it to myself, I am in harmony with all that is. I am content. ♥

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...