Blogs and Birthdays…

Posted on April 25, 2010. Filed under: Culture, Musings, Philosophy, Travel |

This is the third time I’m celebrating my birthday on my Blog. Happy Birthday to me! I’m much older than three, of course, but it’s still an anniversary of sorts. My birthday generally coincides with one of the busiest times of year for me. In arts production, at least where I live, the last weekend of April, and the last of November are absolutely PACKED with events. My work is all entwined with these events, and I barely have time to come up for air, let alone celebrate.

Still, I will be going here for high tea with friends (after working Sunday morning at a film and discussion group!) It is a tradition with me to visit this park and tearoom on my birthday, and I’ve had either breakfast, lunch or tea there every birthday since I located my temporal self here in the desert.

I have neglected my blog, and commenting on yours, as I’ve been working so many hours, but May will bring more time and vigor, and I have a project in mind for that month. I have missed blogging as regularly as I once did. When I awaken, having rested from the busyness of April, I hope to bring some renewal and new interests here.

In the meantime, I want to celebrate the birthday of my friend Kate, of seeing is a verb. We share the same birthday, and this photo of hers, representing new life, moves me incredibly. I was speechless when I first saw it. This beautiful baby (really you must click over and see him) and the colors and patterns around him are among the loveliest things I’ve seen. Kate is an amazing visual artist, and her way of “seeing” is unique. Happy Birthday Kate!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “Blogs and Birthdays…”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Happy birthday!

Happy Birthday!!!!!

Thank you so much, Cat! I had a wonderful day; started out busy and then…yummy tea!

I appreciate it, Care! I didn’t have pie, but, there was this blueberry scone… πŸ™‚

Happy Birthday, Mused! Muah!
and now… a song.

Many many happy returns of the day Muse πŸ™‚ Enjoy and have fun!

Ooooh, that ukulele birthday was priceless, jules! Thank you so much!

Kiran, my friend! Great to see you and thank you for the wishes. I had a wonderful day. πŸ™‚

hee hee… glad you liked it Mused. I feel compelled to say that is NOT me in the vid.

I wish it was. That is a good lookin’ kid and he has good hair. Of course with me having only sprigs of hair on the top of my head, pretty much anyone else has good hair compared to me. πŸ™‚

Happy birthday my kindred spirit and birthday sharer!!! I thought of you all day. Shame on me for not telling you so. My son is 2 months old now and amazes me every moment. Seeing is a verb and so is loving and living. I’m so happy to have you be a part of it.

Happy belated Birthday, Muse! I hope you had a great one, and it’s so cool that you have a tradition that you do! πŸ˜€

Oh, I knew that wasn’t you in the vid, Jules; I’ve SEEN pictures of you, muhahaha! And, as far as I can tell, your hair is great! You reminded me that I’d like to take up the ukulele again; I used to play it back in the day. πŸ™‚

I’m pretty sure I felt you thinking about me, my seeing friend! Thank you! I had meant to say also that it’s not just the photos of your son that I admired, but also what you wrote about him. Brilliant!

Thank you, Shane! It is kind of amazing that I’ve been able to get to that garden for a meal each year. I haven’t been traveling in April, and even when I was going elsewhere for the day, they serve breakfast, so I’ve done that a couple of times to get an early start.

You used to play ukulele!!! ok, dork alert coming… I LOVE THE UKE! I’ve been thinking of buying one lately and have been trolling around a little used instrument shop once a month for the past six months looking for a baritone uke.

If i bring home a uke, Emmie will probably kill me.

Anyway, there are quite a few young YouTubers who doing some pretty cool things on the ukulele. I’ve got a couple of faves. You can find Molly Lewis (aka SweetAfton12) doing this original of hers as well as a cover of “creep” by Radiohead here. And a really fun version of “buttercup” covered by Julia Nunes and a few of her friends here.

Thanks for the links, jules. love’em! Doood! Let’s have a virtual jam! πŸ˜€

Yummy tea? Sounds nice!

My birthday was spent being ill. 😦

It WAS nice, Cat, thank you. Sorry you were not well on yours; I hope you were able to take yourself out for a treat when you felt better! πŸ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...