Look up…and dance!

Posted on May 3, 2010. Filed under: Culture, Health, HowTo, Music, Philosophy, Spirituality |

This is unusual for me. I went to attend a meditation at a spiritual center (OK, that part is not unusual) and it was a lovely evening, and several people had come early, including myself, and they were dancing on the lawn!

They invited me to come over and join them. We were in a secluded area (yes, this was of importance to me) and so…I did! It was free-form dance, to the sort of ethereal music coming from the center. It was wonderful. I was reminded of such moving meditation practices as Tai Chi Chuan, or Ecstatic Dance. I’m just not generally a body-oriented person, and I dislike couple dancing, although I like line dancing or ethnic dancing.

It’s kind of bizarre to think this, but in moving my body, I became less conscious of it, and almost out of it all together. It is a great practice, and I suggested we have a dance meditation once a month. Me! Suggesting that!

Of course, sacred dance has been part of spiritual practice for many centuries. When I lived in the “hippie commune” ;) some years ago, I was introduced to the film Meetings with Remarkable Men, about the life and quest of Gurdjieff. Although dated, and, well, “Man”-centered, it still is a remarkable film, and changed my viewpoint profoundly at the time. Here is a short clip of one of the dance sequences:

I was just always kind of shy, dancing this way, and until tonight, I no longer had anyone to dance with. I will leap about in my living room from time to time, but it’s not the same. ;) If the clip intrigues you, the entire film can be found here. It’s about more than dancing; it’s a deeply personal and fascinating spiritual journey through rather remote and esoteric mystical communities.

I looked up, looked beyond…and danced! :D National Blog Posting Month

Image from EDHawaii
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Look up…and dance!”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

It’s sad that religious extremists see dancing as evil . I think your video refutes that Muse -dancing can be spiritual worship though I only dance when playing music with a band lol.
Hey, thanks for NaBloPoMo. I’m in. Happy dancing!

Thanks, poch. I’m not one to rain on other people’s spiritual practice; if it enhances their lives, then more power to them. The thought that a certain activity such as dancing can lead to “sin”, though, and therefore must be avoided, doesn’t work for me! :D


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers