My Philosophy in a Pie!

Posted on May 30, 2010. Filed under: HowTo, Musings, Philosophy, Science |

…Chart, anyway. I am often asked…well, sometimes asked…OK, almost never asked…what my beliefs are. I like to imagine I am asked this, because I like to answer it. There are several ways to approach the topic of “beliefs”. One is through the door of Philosophy, which is a rewarding door for me. The thing with hypothetical doors is that one doesn’t know where they may lead. This is probably equally true of the door from my office to the hall, but I have more practice in imagining and believing in the hall than I do in philosophical concepts.

This being said, when I imagine my imaginary answer to the philosophical question in traditional western philosophical terms, I wonder if I can speak intelligently about my belief system using classical philosophical stances. “I’m mostly a ‘this’, I say, with some ‘that’ and ‘the other’ thrown in.”

“So why not”, I asked myself, in a whimsical mood, “throw all those philosophical urges at a pie chart, and see what emerges?”  I made a philosophical pie, and here it is!

Actually…it looks more like a cake, doesn’t it? One of those sponge cakes with colorful marzipan frosting? Should I retitle this post “Philosophical Cake”? No? Alright, let’s go on…

If you really, really want to know what each of these points of view means, defined according to “scholars” on the subject, then here’re some links:   Relativism * Pragmatism * Existentialism * Solipsism * Other

If those are not enough for you, then HERE is a list of all the belief systems in the entire Universe! (Well, all those that the authors of a particular Wikipedea article deemed worthy.)

I believe a little bit of each of those as well; some more than others. What, really, IS Philosophy, after all? A point of inquiry, some say. A world view; others. A stance, I say; a starting point. Somewhere to plant my metaphorical feet at points along the journey, always subject to change and revision. We go through life, and try to understand some things about it. That’s all there is!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “My Philosophy in a Pie!”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Philosophy, my friend, is your moral rudder. So when the wind blows, you will know how best to set your sails and cast your nets.
Oh. I am 75% Objectivist.

and 25% Transpersonalist.

I keep my philosophy in a Macadamia Nut shell.
🙂

Poetically (and aptly) put, lstr. Objectivism and Tanspersonalism make an intriguing combination!

Sounds like an excellent place to keep it, Rich! More portable than my pie.🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...