Morning Symphony

Posted on July 6, 2010. Filed under: Culture, Health, HowTo, Musings |

I’ve been keeping various hours for various reasons lately. For one thing, work slows down in the summer, and I’m not out as much as I can be at other times. Generally, unless I have a morning meeting, I’m quite capable of staying in bed until 9:30 or so. (Honestly, there are a couple of days a week I could stay in bed all day if I chose, but one does want to think one has a life!) ;)

Tell that to animals, wild and domestic, that live near me, however! Let’s say I’ve gone to bed around 2 a.m. I’d naturally want to be left alone until at least 9, but it is not to be. At around 5:30 it begins. First up are what I call “The Twitterers” (and I don’t mean those who tweet on Twitter), nasty sweet little birds of several species who think it’s a fine idea to chirp the world into being each day.

After that, there are always one or two quail willing to contribute their opinion. Have you heard a desert quail‘s call? It’s just the most appalling melodious sound, kind of a combination of a duck and a goose and a loon.

I’m just nodding off after this, when My Neighbor’s Dog is let out in the morning, promptly at 6! There is probably higher-level neural processing than this going on, but this is what I imagine him to be thinking:

Janice just let me out into the backyard! This is the most exciting thing that’s happened, ever! (OK, since yesterday afternoon) I must bark for three minutes to celebrate! {5 minute pause; I’m nodding off again} Look! There is a bird! I must bark at it! {another pause} Look! it’s a lizard! I must bark at it! {yet another pause} Look, a rock! (A rock in a suburban desert garden is as common as a grain of sand on the beach, so you see it doesn’t take much.)

The dog gets let back in around 6:30, so I can sleep for another couple of hours, right? …Not quite. This doesn’t happen every day, but often enough: The tale of the woodpecker and the chimney. After that, I’m pretty much awake, or if not, a neighbor has chosen the coolest time of day to use his electric hedge clippers, or they’re cleaning up a construction site down the road and the trucks are intermittently making those back-up noises. In the meantime, the intense summer sun hits the wall of my sleeping room. I have the blinds drawn, but still! All of the above occurred this morning; in fact the woodpecker started up even before the dog!

So, you ask, why don’t I just go to bed earlier, the way my sensible neighbors do? I have tried. Really. But I am a creature of the night; I’m alert, then, and I even do much of my best work in the wee hours.

Lately, I’ve mastered the art of the afternoon nap, when necessary. As long as I don’t have meetings then, it’s a good sleep time for me. Siesta revisited. There are studies indicating that power naps make one more alert and focused. I like the word “power” in the title; makes me feel as if I’m doing something vital and productive, as opposed to a name like…”lazy sloth nap”, for instance.  I’ll leave you with this well-known situation.

As for me; I’ll see you later; it’s time for my nap. :D

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Morning Symphony”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Sounds a lot like my mornings… but i kinda sorta wake up by 7 else my doggie-Floppy will bark his brains right out of his head! :D
atleast no woodpeckers or electric gadgets around here…

Yes your Floppy is a persistent fellow, isn’t he, Aarti? It’s nice of him to take care of you!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers