How have you BEen?

Posted on March 9, 2009. Filed under: Culture, Health, HowTo, Musings, Philosophy, Spirituality |

I’ve been off for a bit, practicing what I preach, as the saying goes. I’ve felt I haven’t had much to say recently. I thought about writing a post saying I had nothing to say…but then I’d be saying something, wouldn’t I? πŸ˜‰

Seriously, if I were to take an extended blog vacation, I would post a note before I did. It’s never been my intention to do so, at least so far. There are just times when more pours forth from me than other times.

The way I’ve been practicing what I preach is by just being. I’ve been following a teaching, lately, from ancient wisdom and modern best-sellers which tells me that society (whatever that is) has it all backwards. We’re encouraged to get an education or take assessment tests, in order to determine how we’re going to “Make A Living” (!) because then we can earn money, or prestige, or value to the world, or with any luck, all of those. And THEN we can Have Things We Want, whether they are material possessions, or the ability to help others, or what we perceive as financial security. At that point, we can feel free to enjoy life, or choose freely what to do with our time.

This model might be summarized as: Do>Have>Be.

There is a better, easier, and faster model to get what one desires from life, in my opinion, and it turns the first one on its head: Be>Have>Do.

This way, if we want something to change in our current circumstances, such as: “Want a new job”, Want more friends”, or “Want to feel I’m making a difference”, the FIRST step—rather than running around trying to figure out what to DO about that—is to sit quietly, and joyfully imagine how the improved circumstance will feel. This connects us up with all the support the Universe can give.

I think this is why many cultures emphasize meditation as a practice. It clears the mind, and puts the daily clutter away for a while, so we can allow what really matters to emerge. I’m aware that some of the wonderful people who read my blog are not spiritually oriented, and this may sound “airy-fairy” and not at all tenable. But, I must say that I’m interested in practical results before anything else, and the Be>Have>Do model is just faster and more efficient, whether it’s “spiritual” or not.

So many of us think we need to “Do” in order to “Have”. This notion is practically embedded in our universal psyche. I like this saying from the Tao Te Ching:
Do you have the patience to wait till your mud settles and the water is clear? Can you remain unmoving till the right action arises by itself?”
This suggests to me that all the frantic running around that we do in this life is largely wasted effort. Well, not “wasted”, exactly, because I don’t believe anything is wasted, really, but more…inefficient. Sure, we can get things done if we expend effort, and try, and strive…but what if there were an easier way?

Perhaps instead of saying to yourself, “I have to get (do) a job, so I’ll have some money…”, try just sitting for a moment, and imagining how you want to be; how you want to feel. In this moment, most likely you are not starving. You have clothes to wear; you have a place to sit comfortably. You can imagine that with this little tweak, and that little tweak, life can be really good! Just imagine those little tweaks already taken care of, and the wonderful, happy You resulting.

Then—and only then, when you feel confident that all is possible—will you truly have what you desire, which (unless you are very unusual) is a feeling of peace and contentment. That is the only “have” worth “having”. Not to get too preachy, but you know material possessions don’t MAKE you happy, right? They can only enhance the happiness you already have.

After that last step, (and, unless you’ve been practicing this a while, you’ll just have to trust me on this!) the obvious course of ACTION will suggest itself to you. That’s when the “doing” comes into play. We all know it’s best not to make decisions or take actions when we’re stressed. Here’s a way of avoiding those unfortunate decisions, and seeing what actions actually have value.

This is as preachy as I’ve been, for quite a while. I started this post saying I’ve been PRACTICING what I preach. Who do you think I’ve been preaching to? That’s right, me!

Have a good day!

To do is to be. – Socrates

To be is to do. – Plato

DoBeDoBeDo. – Sinatra

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

20 Responses to “How have you BEen?”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

I’m glad you’ve been being. Sometimes being — and being in touch with being — can be sooooo difficult.

Love this:

This model might be summarized as: Do>Have>Be.

I thought of first questions people have asked me over and over. In Washington: What do you do? In NY: Where do you live, followed by How much is your rent/mortgage/maintenance? (and that’s not a rude question there) Visiting LA: What do you drive?

Have fun being!

DoBeDoBeDo. – Sinatra

HAHAHA – love it!!!

i’ve been so busy i hardly have time to think what am i being. so busy that i haven’t noticed you’ve been away being! 😦 that isn’t a very friendly thing to do… anyway, feel like you’re speaking to me in this post, especially the bits about what i want, since i’ve mentioned i want more friends, new job and feeling like i’m making a difference. right now, there has been some good luck in my life and some of the things i want are nearly in my grasp. i’m starting to think sometimes life has a way of happening, when before i use to think that i determine the path of my life. gah, not making much sense here, so to answer the question in your post i’ll say, “i’m getting happier with my life because some things have been happening… ” πŸ™‚

Love Sinatra πŸ™‚ LOL!!!
I know that material possessions not equal to happiness though not quite sure of the philosophy(?) Well, I am not sure of anything at all in life…I just exist! I have started thinking that no expectations no disappointments! πŸ™‚

Hi πŸ™‚

Ah, Muse. Another great post.
Just being…I like that. I closed my eyes and really did think about those tweaks and I get goose bumps.

“Do you have the patience to wait till your mud settles and the water is clear? Can you remain unmoving till the right action arises by itself?” Patience? It’s funny, I have all the patience in the world for some things and others, I have none.

There are so many times I feel what I am doing is wasted energy. How do you come up with these posts? They just speak to everyone like you are inside our heads. LOL!

How is this for sounding airy fairy? My form of Meditating and thinking good things:
I put on my headphones and crank “Utopia” by Alanis Morissette, close my eyes and imagine it to be so.

It is great to ‘hear’ from you again and I hope you are doing well.

Muse, I feel I need to thank you for writing this. For two reasons.

First, this is a concept I have somehow never ever come across or thought of in my entire life before, and I wish I had. It’s just, I don’t know, mind blowing.

Second, you’ve reminded me of how long it is since I listened to Frank Sinatra. It’s high time I dug some of those CDs out again.

So thank you! πŸ™‚

ella, really? I simply cannot imagine someone I don’t know VERY well asking the amount of my rent or mortgage! And your LA example cracked me up. I was at a meeting over the weekend when someone I’ve known for over a year—because we attend the same meetings—asked me “What do you do for a living?” What spontaneously fell from my lips was this: “I don’t relate to my life that way!” Honest, I wasn’t trying to be rude or snarky, it was just my truth in that moment. Here were the two of us, engaged in promoting science and consciousness lectures for over a year, and I thought it was interesting that it took THAT long for this question to come up. She was startled, at first, and then smiled and said, “Cool!” So, I got away with it! πŸ˜› Thanks for your support in being.

I used to have a t-shirt with those philosophers’ quotes, Will, and it never ceased to amuse me! Here’s my favorite recording of Frank letting loose this piece of philosophical wisdom.

Well, it had only been a week, but that can seem a long time in blogland. Sometimes I’ll get busy “doing” and suddenly remember that I haven’t checked in on sulz in three days! I was actually thinking about you when I wrote the post; you inspired some of my thoughts. πŸ™‚ I didn’t consciously realize how appropriate the timing would be, though! Synchronicity in action! I think you have been practicing some of these principles, because you use your experiences to get in touch with what you really want. I will be interested to see how it all unfolds. πŸ˜€

Thanks, Apar! That is a good one, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰ One of the tenets of my personal philosophy is I don’t have a vested interest in other people adopting it. I just like to share ideas. So, if you don’t know about this, it’s fine with me! πŸ™‚ Your last line is provocative. I think the word “expectations” is giving me pause…I think if the word “expectation” means “entitlement” I might agree!

Hello, my Gnome-y friend! πŸ˜€ Good to see you; it’s been a while!

Oh, BD! You really tried it! Thank you, and I share the goosebumps! Ah, yes, patience! My favorite quote about that is from someone who is praying: “God grant me patience—right now!” πŸ˜‰ “…speak to everyone like you are inside our heads” —Wow! I’m truly delighted about that, and I very much appreciate those words. I think your meditation method sounds perfect! πŸ˜€

B0bby! I’m gratified, and it makes me feel wonderful that you’ve found something to think upon in my blog! And from you, a quite well-read person as I’m aware. This truly is a different way of looking at life from what we’re usually taught. And Sinatra is just the coolest. 😎

I love this post! You make a very good point, and the quote at the bottom is funny! I even like the preachyness of it, preach on! πŸ™‚

I have been wondering how you were doing since it has been a little while between your posts, so it’s great to hear from you. Hope you are doing well Muse!

Your Buddha-like formula to happiness is great:-)

‘Thenβ€”and only then, when you feel confident that all is possibleβ€”will you truly have what you desire, which (unless you are very unusual) is a feeling of peace and contentment. That is the only β€œhave” worth β€œhaving”.’
I have just come across a quote:
‘All you need you already possess.’

‘This suggests to me that all the frantic running around that we do in this life is largely wasted effort.’

Btw, I’ve been through this. And when I stop ‘hunting’, what I’m hunting comes to me by itself.

A butterfly will only come to you when you’re not chasing it.

Love it Muse!

I’m still doing the tweaking thing. I like it! It’s something that I can do in off moments and doesn’t take up too much time. It fits in with my attention span. πŸ˜‰

I don’t know how I feel about having someone inside my head. I might just have to start blocking you. LOL!
Nah…dig in. πŸ˜‰ Take care.

No…I think I mean expectations; well might say expectations & entitlement! πŸ™‚ Though it is might hard to follow that – no expectations! 😦

Aw, thanks Shane! Hah! Hear that everyone? I have permission to preach! (Shane, I hope you don’t regret saying that sometime in the future). πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› I’ve liked those philosophy quotes for a long time. πŸ™‚

Thank you very much, poch! It’s amazing. That’s similar to one I just heard today, too: “All you need, you have within.” I appreciate you sharing your insight about the hunting. It seems counter-intuitive, but it works. And, lovely about the butterfly. πŸ™‚

I’m very glad about that, seeing! πŸ˜€

Thanks for reporting back on that, BD, and you add another excellent point. Even 15 seconds at a time really helps to develop and allow this skill. πŸ™‚ Ahhh, but I *like* being in your head, muhahaha! :mrgreen:

Hmmm, I’ll have to think more about this, Apar. When I think of expectations from someone else, I don’t think anyone owes me anything, so I don’t have expectations, there. But I do have general expectations regarding my life, and I do believe the resources are there for that. I’ll have to write some more about that topic. See what you’ve driven me to?!? πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ (Thanks!)

Hi!

I tried to find a way to contact you but this comment was the best way. I just wondered if you could help me spread a pledge I’ve done to raise money for my father who is in economic crisis since he cannot work because of cancer. The situation both medically and economically is gradually worsening. I made a post about it here http://mrgnome.wordpress.com/2009/03/17/please-help-my-father-fight-cancer/ I dont know in what way you can help, but i’m reaching out to my blog-friend here.

God bless,
Mr Gnome

Mr. Gnome, I am truly sorry to read about the sad situation in your family. I have read your post and your pledge, and will be giving some thought to how to proceed. In the meantime, I am sending good thoughts and prayers to you and your family. To those reading this who might wonder, Mr. Gnome is an old friend, and his situation is legit; not spam or anything. Take care, my friend! I’ll email you in a bit.

An Update: to anyone who read the comment from Mr. Gnome; he has since reported that his father passed away a few days ago. My condolences go out to him and his family.

[…] 29, 2009. Filed under: Culture, HowTo, Musings, Philosophy, Spirituality | This is a follow-up to a recent post, as I’ve continued to be, and to think about what I wrote there. The comments of lovely blog […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...