Blogiversary revisited: #3

Posted on July 27, 2010. Filed under: Culture, Games, HowTo, Musings |

On the 27th of July, in 2007, I published my very first blog post. I had “rehearsed” my posts for a number of weeks prior to this, as I was trepidatious about this sort of personal writing. After three years, and having people come and go out of my life, I know that this blogging thing is more than just a fancy pixelated diary. It has become a source, and has led to other sources, of much valued communication between me and me, and me and you.

I like to celebrate both my birthday and my blogiversary on my blog; they’ve both become annual traditions for me. I looked back at my last two July 27 posts, for 2008, and 2009, and I can’t help but feel a little sad. πŸ˜• On the one hand, I’m so grateful for the people I’ve met here, who have enhriched my life in unexpected and wonderful ways. On the other hand, I’ve seen many of my most cherished blogmates either depart from the blogosphere, or greatly lessen their postings for a variety of reasons, as I have myself. But—thankful again am I for new friends which have arrived within the past year.

Of those who have moved on in the past year, I most miss B0bby and ellaella. B0bby was a young student, pre-university when I met him, who started a blog as a class project. I think he was as surprised as anyone that it expanded to something more. He did say on his blog this past year, that the blogging spirit had gone out of him, and he was going to give it a rest. I appreciated his many comments, the chapters of his excellent serial novel he published on his blog for a while, and his unique and charming perspective. I imagine he’s at University in the west of England, or in Wales now, with all that life has to offer. I just wonder if he has—or will—finish that novel πŸ™‚

ellaella is another story. Many of you have read her blog, From Scratch. She is one whose friendship initially surprised me, as, while I’m greatly interested in eating food, I’m not as much in cooking it. And while there are a few political issues I’m passionate about; politics, in general, is not my thing. Nevertheless, she and I formed a strong bond. She always supported my writing, and, when I learned recently that she had been in the media professionally, I was even more humbled by that. I also turned to her when I was called upon to bring a special dish to a holiday potluck…she referred me to simple things I could actually cook; and they were always a hit at the party.

ella’s most recent post was on December 25, 2009. In it, she said she was taking a few days off, and would see us in the new year. In fact, she hasn’t. A few of us bloggers who have been close to her have been trying to investigate what’s happened to her, but so far, we don’t know if she is ill, disabled, or…Β  All of us who have known her recently and in the past are convinced she never would have stopped blogging without notice unless something dire had happened. ella was one of the first people I met here at WordPress. A Real-Life old friend of hers has gotten involved in the search for her, and, if there is any further information, I’ll post it here. It is a bittersweet thing to recall our three-year friendship on this anniversary.

There are a few people who have almost stopped blogging πŸ˜‰ but do pop up occasionally, like my lovely French-Canadian friend Colourful Vision, Randomly Relevant, from Melbourne, Mr. Gnome from Finland, Creative Expressions of South Africa, and walkingbetween from China and now in New York, who would have to really, finally, go away before I would stop checking in with them.

Apar, Bret, Care, Cat, Davidya, Ian, Jules, Kate, Kiran, Poch, Poonam, Shane: you continue to delight me! JoanHarvest went and got herself a grandchild, WillRhodes got himself more politics πŸ™‚ and TheBeadDen got herself more work, and remodeling, and family issues. To those three: I know where to find you; muahaha!

Moonbeam McQueen and Ronnie Ann: you are dear, and erudite, and witty; your posts and comments never fail to bring cheer to my day. πŸ™‚

Newer on my goto list are Dave–seriously entertaining gardening; animals; bike rides; origami: many things, and my newest blog buddy Tricipian’s 3dom, who, in addition to creating new philosophies from ancient truths, enhances my existence in many ways.

There are those few who have exchanged comments, advice, and friendship from almost the first day of my BlogBirth. They all have changed in these years, either in HOW they blog, HOW OFTEN thy blog, or the FOCUS of their blogs, but they are still here! Three years is a long time in any online community, and I feel particularly blessed that you are still in my life:

cjwriter, from down under, has been the most amazingly supportive and informative friend. He helped me out when I was a fledgling, and has supported my growth as a blogger. He has grown, much, as writer as well, inventing a new novel form, and recently has had much interest from publishers! It is a pleasure to read you and know you, cj.

Deirdra Kiai is the blogger who got me to blog. She makes socially relevant games; and has socially relevant comments. Until recently (!) she’s worn Birkenstocks and socks—how can you not trust a person like that? (I may forgive her for the toe shoes, haven’t decided yet.) πŸ˜‰ She’s quirky and kind and plays unusual musical instruments. And she composes the music for her games as well. Deirdra, I thank you for continuing inspiration.

Juan‘s technical wizardry has gotten me out of a couple of scrapes! He and I both have a different way of viewing relationships and social obligations that has been interesting to explore. And, he has offered to make me cookies! Thanks, Juan, for your continuing friendship and support. πŸ™‚

It’s hard to know how to describe raincoaster. She’s been blogging a long time, and teaches blogging in Vancouver. Her topics range from the emotionally moving to the bizarre. Sea creatures are remarkably prevalent, as are obsessions with certain celebrities. Always entertaining, she is a very helpful blogging friend. She wants us to get it right. Thanks, rain, for helping me when I was a newbie, and continuing to add your own unique voice to this world.

Richard, of The Sacred Path, now hails from aloha land. I watched as he made this huge move and change in his life, yet remained the calm, supportive, and wise spiritual friend he always was. We met in the forums, and discovered many things in common. He journeys! I’m on one! Rich, I thank you for your friendship and aloha. πŸ™‚

When I first met sulz, she was a very witty and articulate college student in Malaysia. She blogged about her life and opinions in a way that gave new meaning to “letting it all out”! πŸ˜‰ I found her charming and entertaining, and an odd sort of friend—not because she is odd—but because on the surface, we don’t have much in common. It just shows me what a fantastic medium blogging is: I might not have met someone like sulz in real life, but now that I know her, I’m so grateful I do! I’ve watched her go, and grow, through her first post-college career moves. She has matured, and learned and traveled since then. Her blogging frequency and topics have changed, but she remains as dear to me as she ever has. sulz, your loyalty and stalwart friendship are ever there; evolving over time, perhaps, but never leaving my heart. πŸ™‚

Timethief writes a very well-regarded personal growth blog. She also has a helpful blogging tips and technical blog, and beyond those things is an artist and excellent writer from an island in western Canada. She and I became forum friends early on, and timethief is still very helpful to WordPressers needing assistance. Thank you timethief for supporting this blogger’s whims and emotions, and sharing yours. πŸ™‚

All in all, I feel humbled, blessed and nurtured. Not a bad result for three years of spewing forth! Thank you readers, visitors and friends. β™₯

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

27 Responses to “Blogiversary revisited: #3”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

What a fantastic roundup. Know that just as all these people have touched your life, so you’ve touched theirs, and their audiences’ as well. Here’s to three more!

I’m Facebook friends with Ella, and her last post was in February. I think she just got burned out on social media.

Happy Blogoverary! I am humbled to mentioned here and just LOVE (and am not surprised by your generosity) that you share this celebration of you by celebrating your readers. It IS in the giving and the sharing that we grow. I admire your positiveness and your willingness to explore a slightly different approach to… well to everything. I see you as one of the wise ones on this path and enjoy your blog very very much. Thank you.

Count me among those who have seriously cut back on posting. I find the explosive growth of social media like Twitter and Facebook and their implied expectation to link your blog and, of course, constantly update on all three, franky too daunting. I have shrunk back from it all, withdrawn into an anti-social media state. How long that will last, I don’t know. I’m a bit turned off by it all, quite frankly.

Such a poignant post. I hope we get some news on Ella sooner.

Happy Birthday and Blogiversary dear πŸ™‚ You are a delight yourself πŸ™‚

happy blog anniversary to MusEditions! thank you so much for mentioning me… i’m tearing up a little now in the office. you are one of the few blog friends i know that i would like to meet some day… does that freak you out? haha.

i miss bobby and ellaella too. i don’t comment much on her blog but i love to visit it and see what recipes she would feature.

I just realised how overwhelmingly negative my comment there was… I’m all for blogging and the fun and contact it brings, it just scares me a little how much some people are into social media. I mean, come on, hundreds of tweets a day is just not healthy. One post every few days should be enough for anyone.

Happy, happy blogaversary, dear Muse! This was so lovely to read. Thank you for including me in this esteemed group of bloggers, and thank you for being out there in Blogville, sharing your unique perspective on things. You always give me food for thought (and it’s calorie free!). May you continue to entertain and inspire for many years to come.

What a generous, thoughtful Muse-like tradition. Thanks for including me in such great company. I crumble under pressure Muse… so I will not attempt to be any of those lovely things you called me. πŸ˜‰ Instead, I will simply wish you happy happier happiest Blogiversary!

Hello Muse, Even though I don’t post much, or (apparently) stop by much, I’m still around and still cherish our friendship, and I’m humbled to make your list.

And Happy Birthday!!!

Oh, raincoaster, how nicely put; I’m moved! I accept your toast, and next time I’m in Vancouver (it’s been some years) I’ll buy you one in the bar of your choice. πŸ˜› As for ella, that’s an interesting piece of info., that she did communicate as late as Feb. I’ll pass that on to the investigators. I totally get the social media burn-out, but I really think, as does her long-time RL friend, that she wouldn’t just stop abruptly without even a “goodbye” unless something intervened. Her kindness and our concern would preclude that, I believe. πŸ™‚

Care! your generosity with this comment leads me to realize how lucky am I in my friends-of-the-blog. πŸ™‚ I have to chuckle at: “a slightly different approach to… well to everything” —indeed. That you get that, and share that, is part of the joy of knowing you. And wisdom? You compliment me greatly.

I’ll answer your second comment first, Ian…I didn’t see your first as negative, just, as I am with these things, a bit overwhelmed and medially exhausted. When I started blogging hardly anyone I knew was on Facebook; now it seems it’s about 50/50 between those who love it and those who wish it would go to a cold, dark place. I’m not on there myself, as I do enough stuff online already. What I like about Twitter is that it’s a way to get a quick update on folks I care about, when a blog post might not be forthcoming. But yes, a few tweets a week is enough for me! πŸ™‚ I’m glad it hasn’t scared you away completely, as I do so enjoy your worldly view and your photo essays.

Thank you Kiran! It is a pleasure to continue to connect with you here. Yes, I am concerned about ella; I’m hoping we will know something. I guess it was a little confusing the way I wrote it, but my birthday is in April, I just wanted to mention that I also celebrate it on my blog (bit narcissistic, but..you know bloggers!) πŸ˜›

As you can see I have changed my name – again, basically because this is how people see me, Muse – as a Bolshy person, the description of the word suits me!

I haven’t been posting a lot on my blog, I do try to get something up every now and again, I have looked at what I blogged about, decided I liked it and carried it forward into the hypocrisy and total mash up how politics is. ‘Tis a pity that many readers don’t understand British politics as they do the American version. I find the UK type stereotypical of how polticians are the vermin we believe them to be, well most anyway.

Anyway, thanks for the mention, and you are never forgotten πŸ™‚

All the best from me!!!!!!!!

Awww… thank you Mused for including me in your list. Happy Blogaversary to you! You and I started just about the same time. I started about a month before you. I missed a posting my milestone though.

I’ve kinda pulled back a little myself. Only because I lack the time, not the interest or desire to stay in touch with blog friends like you.

I also have two someones who pulled down there blogs who I met only through the blogosphere. I wonder how they are and what has happened to them. Weird the connection we make to those on our blogrolls isn’t it.

My dearest sulz, you must know I couldn’t possibly do a post like this without mentioning YOU πŸ™‚ As for your question; you know me well enough to know it freaks me out a little, haha, πŸ˜‰ but, seriously, the one RL friend I talk to about blogging asked me about that…and I said that if I was ever in southeast Asia, I would want to meet you! We could go to bookstores, and have lunch! You would tell me what to eat from all the gourmet things you have. And if you ever come to the States, you know which one I’m in. πŸ™‚ Yes, you were close to B0bby, too…I wish he’d come back just once in a while to say hi. And we’re still working on news about ella.

Splendid wishes and greetings from you, Moonbeam; much appreciated. We’ve been through a few blogging dramas together, and I’ve always admired your spirit. Calorie-free food for thought…how nice! πŸ™‚

You need not attempt to be any of those things, Ronnie Ann…you just are! Thank you for using the word “generous” about me; gives me joy! And thanks for the heartfelt wishes! Three years seems like an eternity in the moment! πŸ™‚

Rich, you have always been special to me, you are SO who you are, and not everyone can say that! I think we are both getting back to the blogging a little more, yes? which is wonderful for your readers, I know. I see you have posted about ella, too…a most baffling case. πŸ˜•

Quite honestly, Will, my friend, I like “Bolshy” better than “Cynic”, but then that’s me—relentlessly optimistic. πŸ˜› And of course I still read you…I just don’t always know what to say. I am glad you are there to keep tabs on the British, Canadian, and American systems. You are always with me in blogspirit, too. I still remember when I said the words “flannel lined jeans” to you one winter… lol πŸ™‚

Julian, you of course are “on my list” lol, muahaha! Musician, spiritual theorist and friend, I find you electic and wonderful. It is a phenomenon of online life that people will just disappear, or nearly so…one of the things we have to accept, I guess, in order to be here. πŸ™‚ Happy belated Blogiversary to you! πŸ˜€

Happy Blogiversary Muse!! Such an excellent roundup of readers, visitors, and friends! I have always enjoyed your posts, and appreciate each and every one of them! Between the happenings of work and just the lack of motivation for most anything, I just haven’t been the commentator that I once was, but I do still read each post. But that (lack of commenting) WILL change! πŸ™‚

Take care, and here’s to many many more years of thought provoking, enlightening, and inspiring posts by you!! πŸ˜€

Shane! Thanks for the good wishes! That’s so kind of you to say! I didn’t realize you read every single one; I’m gratified. πŸ™‚ You wandered by one day when I was a fairly new blogger, and we made a nice connection. I enjoy reading your take on things, and about your family too. I know you’ve been working out in the sun, and traveling a bit; don’t worry about commenting, you’re there in spirit, and come by when you can! Your words warm my heart, thank you, my friend! πŸ™‚

Thanks Muse first of all for blogging. And happy blogiversary. I’m always impressed by the depth of thought that you put into your posts, and your comments over on my blog. Thanks for them too. 3rd thank you for mentioning me here, which is an undeserved honor. I only wish that I had more time to surf this immensely interesting blogosphere of ours, and echo your humble gratitude for having had the opportunity to “meet” so many interesting, entertaining, and thoughtful souls at such great distances.

God bless the internet.

Happy belated blogiversary Muse!! I guess I’m guilty as charged in terms of not been posting or following up as much as I should. It’s good to see you on Twitter sometimes, and I am, too, humbled to be mentioned in this post of yours. Know that you’re never forgotten no matter what, I have (and will) always cherished your warmth and friendship.

Wish you many more blogiversaries to come…!!

You are welcome, Dave, and so kind to say I have “depth of thought” – wow. I enjoy commenting on yours; such an interesting, eclectic fellow you are. The time factor is always there, yes, but I am grateful for my blog and those great ones I read (like yours!) which expand my horizons. πŸ™‚

Yes, guilty as charged, walking! πŸ˜€ I know how our priorities shift, and I haven’t been blogging as much as I once did, either. I always treasure you, and even though you were not able to persuade me to go on Facebook, I agree, it’s good to see you on Twitter! πŸ™‚
Particularly, thanks for coming by here and wishing me; means a lot. πŸ˜€

Hey, Muse, thanks for the mention. Glad you continue to enjoy. I was amused to see aspects of others shifts (moves, going quieter) in my own musings. Life can be curious indeed…

Gees..Nice tribute to all these people, Muse…I can’t believe I have been mentioned..Thank u!..I am kind of sad not blogging no more but so much readings and writings in my studies that no energy left for anything else..But always a pleasure to pop up…Congrats for your devote attitude to writings…I am so happy for CJ, too!

I’ll be back..

Take care

Yes, Davidya, lots of musing going on these days! Thanks for the wishes, as a long-time blog companion, they mean a lot to me! πŸ™‚

My dear Colourful! I’m pleased you found your way here, as I don’t know how often you log on these days. You are one I will always mention and think of! I’m glad your studies are going well. I know how much they mean to you. I’m very happy to know you will be back, too! πŸ™‚ …Yes, cj continues to do really well, doesn’t he? πŸ˜€

Happy Blogaversary!! I am so glad I started blogging. I have met so many wonderful people. I wish I had more time to blog but at the end of a 12 day with my little one I have to rest my brain. I’m sure when she is a little older I will have more time. I know I will start blogging regularly at some point. Take care my friend.

Joan! You are doing important things! And Lilah is lucky to have you. I appreciate you taking the time to wish me well, and I always look forwrad to “whatever you think” πŸ™‚

Hi! I’m still here with the occational blog! hehe just stopping in to say hi friend!

Hey, my Gnome-y friend! Thanks for coming by to say hello on this auspicious occasion, lol πŸ™‚ I am still aware of you too, and check in upon occasion.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...