Remembering Unity; Forgetting Divisiveness

Posted on September 11, 2009. Filed under: Culture, Health, HowTo, Philosophy, Spirituality |

On Thursday evening I attended an event in conjunction with World Day of Unity. My local event was held in a large sanctuary with all the known flags of the world posted around the room:

flags

There were several different spiritual groups there, plus secular leaders. Several participants shared readings, and the Bahá’í Singers sang. The theme this year was “Reach In; Reach Out“.  The stated objectives were these:

We’re uniting as a world community. Any action—big or small—can make a difference.

Reach in. What will you do? Now’s the time to reach in through prayer & meditation and let Spirit guide you.

Reach out. Share your intention with the world.

We can change the world. Work on your Spiritual Action Plan, update us on how you’re putting your plan into action, and your results.

In my community, this event also acknowledges the 8th anniversary of the events of September 11, 2001. This anniversary has always been poignant and deeply emotional for me, as I reported in my post from last year on this date. What’s different for me, and many I have observed, is that the immediacy of the feelings are dissipating. I think that is a good thing. It may seem callous to some to overhear comments like “Oh, yeah, 9/11 anniversary again. Almost forgot about it.” This doesn’t bother me. I think it is helpful to move on. We live in interesting and potent, changing times, and I believe the 9/11 events initiated a course change in consciousness. The shock and amazement woke up a part of us that is working towards real, essential change, mostly in positive ways, in spite of how it looks sometimes.

A phrase that is still chanted, often, is “Never forget; never forget.” This is not from people remembering 9/11, but the Holocaust of World War II. People say similar things about 9/11, though. I think it’s time, not to forget, exactly, but to move on, with feelings of peace, instead of anger and fear. So, the seeming apathy in some is, I believe a natural progression towards integrating the lessons in consciousness learned from the events, and hopefully implementing a plan of personal peace. This is the meaning I give the celebration I attended, and I am pleased to follow the three steps outlined there.

Reach in: I take this seriously, and I am meditating on the essences of unity and peace this week. I don’t normally engage in prayer, but meditation is something I can and will do.

Reach out: At the end of the week, I trust I will know what it is I want to tell the world about this. I’ll tell those I know, and share it here on the blog.

I’m not sure about Step Three. I don’t see the World as a “place” which needs “change”. It is what it is; we can, however initiate change within ourselves; we are seeds of the world. I’m also not at all sure that “action” is the way to change anything; I think action is the result of change, not the cause of it. But, in the spirit of the exercise, I’ll certainly share, if not “results”, then “observances”.

For those contemplating the meaning of life on this day, and in these times, I offer support, and thanks.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “Remembering Unity; Forgetting Divisiveness”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

‘I think action is the result of change, not the cause of it.’

Me too Muse.
And I think this is your wisest post so far.

‘A phrase that is still chanted, often, is “Never forget; never forget.” This is not from people remembering 9/11, but the Holocaust of World War II. People say similar things about 9/11, though. I think it’s time, not to forget, exactly, but to move on, with feelings of peace, instead of anger and fear.’

I’m beginning to doubt this chant too though I am definitely not anti-US, I’m posting articles from pakalert.wordpress which
relates to this your post very soon. Definitely shocking 🙂

Much like people remember where they were on 9/11, I remember commenting on a post here on this blog on 9/11 of last year. It’s amazing how far I’ve come since then as a person. Truly mind-blowing.

I totally agree with the perception of the world as not a “place” but as some abstract representation of all of us, much like “society”. And how change begins within ourselves, and then we may inspire others to do the same.

But why is change always so necessary? Why do people always seek to “change” the world? Why do we not substitute the word “improve” in for “change”? Too many people speak of some overarching, grandiose “change” because of their resistance to what is.

Related to my Deleted Scenes #1 and #2, we need to realize that the world begins and ends with us as individual people. We, as individuals, are microcosms of the world; there is a little divinity in all of us and we need to realize our own power in our spheres of influence. “Change”, nay, “improvement”, begins with us, and ends with us.

Ghandi is often quoted as saying, “Be the change you want to see in the world.” He’s right, to an extent. But, as I mentioned above, I’ll take improvement over change any day.

So, here’s my take-home quote for all you note takers out there:

BE THE IMPROVEMENT YOU WANT TO SEE IN THE WORLD

It sounds like a wonderful event you attended, Muse. I can’t wait to read your ‘Reach Out’ blog post.

I am starting to realize how important it is to be an example of what good there is (and still can be on a large scale) in the world. Each of us can lead by example.

Very interesting post, Muse…On a personal note, I can’t never forget Sept 11th…the day my mom past away 20 years ago and 12 years later…many others..

I agree with u in regards to ”action”…For me change is more in a sense of improvement, progress within, of course!

Thank you, Poch. I just don’t think it does us much goof to keep remembering and reiterating what we DON’T want. I’ll check in for your post.

I remember, too, Leap. In fact, I had to take a few deep breaths before responding to that comment. 😉 I guess you’ve changed…or improved? {hehe} I take your point about change for change’s sake, and I’m not a proponent for that. Still, I think change is inevitable. We humans are always moving around and stirring things up. I guess I’d just as soon experiment with directing the flow of change, since it’s swirling around, anyway. If by “improvement” you mean a more fulfilling and congruent life, I’m surely with you there. Peace, my friend.

It was a wonderful event, thanks, BD! I’ve been doing that “reaching in”. It’s a bit of a mess in there sometimes, but I’m discovering some things to post about, too. Got a couple lined up for before that, but, soon! I agree with you: being a great example changes everything.

If it’s a personal memory to you, CV, I can certainly understand how it would stay with you. I think the pain and the immediacy can lessen over time, until we can feel more appreciation than sadness. But there is always a tender spot in our hearts for those we love. I like your words “progress within”!

Your event sounds like a wonderful experience. I especially like the inclusiveness of all the flags. Unity!

As for 9/11, I totally understand your point and respect every word, but those of us who lost friends and loved ones that day (6 in my case, 5 at the WTC, 1 on the Pentagon plane) are not able or willing to forget or feel peaceful. It’s still infuriating. It still hurts like hell.

Oh, ella! So much loss. I would never presume to tell someone how to grieve, particularly those who lost people on that shocking day. I didn’t know anyone who died there, but I have known two people who were killed; one a child. The shock and disbelief is still there; I just have to believe in a higher (and therefore more peaceful) purpose for it all.
Thank you so much for dropping by—I know you are really busy and movey right now! {{{Hugs}}}

[…] Remembering Unity; Forgetting Divisiveness (museditions.wordpress.com) […]

[…] these anniversaries every year. I realize I started moving toward this point two years ago, here. Last year, I was already wondering what and/or if I would post on this topic this year, as I am […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...