Significant books can change lives

Posted on January 7, 2008. Filed under: Games, Musings |

I was tagged for a book meme by my friend dovelove. I’m pleased to share my thoughts.  Because my interests are so wide-ranging, for this meme I’ll choose books known in the publishing vernacular as “non-fiction”. (I don’t think there is as big a line between “fiction” and “non-fiction” as some do.)  I’ll save “Literature” for another post.
~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~
01. One book that changed your life
I’m OK, You’re OK by Thomas Harris 
02. One book that you’ve read more than once
I do this a lot with novels, but to stick to my category, I’ll choose Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain by Betty Edwards
03. One book you’d want on a desert island
The Nature of Personal Reality by Jane Roberts
04. Two books that made you laugh
This is hard, if I’m not including fiction.  Hmm.  How about Don’t Call it Frisco by Herb Caen and The Peanuts Guide to Life by Charles Schultz 
05. One book that made you cry
Again, challenging with non-fiction.  Wishcraft by Barbara Sher
06. One book that you wish had been written
The ‘Real’ Rules for Joyful Living
07. One book that you wish had never been written
I don’t. Every book has its purpose and audience.
08. Two books you’re currently reading
Modern Physics and Ancient Faith by Stephen Barr; The Astonishing Power of Emotions by Esther & Jerry Hicks
09. One book you’ve been meaning to read
Space, Time and Medicine by Larry Dossey
10. Now tag five (or so) people:
I feel I’ve over-tagged, recently, so I’ll just leave it to you delightful readers to explore this list for yourself.  I found it a thoughtful exercise–thanks, dovelove!
~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

And to make up for not tagging, here’s a meme I stole from my favorite book blog, nylusmilk:

Contemporary, Historical, or Paranormal?   Paranormal, however, What is normal, anyway?

Hardback or Trade Paperback or Mass Market Paperback?   Trade Paperback.

Heyer or Austen?   Austen, definitely.

Amazon or Brick and Mortar?   Brick and Mortar to browse, usually to buy, but sometimes Amazon when I’m buying several at once.

Barnes & Noble or Borders?   Either one is fine.

Woodiwiss or Lindsay?   Have not read either one.

First romance novel you ever remember reading?   Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Alphabetize by author Alphabetize by title or random?   No!  Alphabetize by topic!

Keep, Throw Away or Sell?   Keep, until no more shelf room & piling up on floor.  Then, whine, complain, and grouse until I’ve chosen those to go to the used bookstore (where I get more, anyway).

Read with dust jacket or remove it?   With. Use as bookmark.

Sookie Stackhouse or Anita Blake?  I don’t know who they are, but I think they’re vampires?

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?   At chapter breaks when I’m aware of the clock, but have been known to fall asleep with open book on lap and cup of tea in hand!

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?   Once upon a time!

Crusie or SEP?  I do not know who they are.

Buy or Borrow?   Borrow from library, can therefore consume voraciously.

Buying choice: Book Reviews, Recommendation or Browse?   Browse, and listening to author’s interviews.

Tidy ending or Cliffhanger?   Tidy, please!

Morning reading, Afternoon reading or Nighttime reading?   Yes, yes, and yes.

Series or standalone?   Standalone in most cases.

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?   Radical Reality by McWayne

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “Significant books can change lives”

RSS Feed for MusEditions Comments RSS Feed

Contemporary, Historical, or Paranormal? Paranormal, all the way 😉

Hardback or Trade Paperback or Mass Market Paperback? I don’t judge a book by its cover, heh

Heyer or Austen? Not that well-read 🙂 … Although, I do recall a book report in the 10th grade, and I’m pretty sure the author was Austen. Don’t remember the title, I didn’t read the book. I plucked out the characters, created a greeting card kinda thing with the characters and a “summary” (from scanning) of the book written on one side, and on the other I spent much time drawing a picture I saw in the book. I got a “B” LOL! Only in America 😉

Amazon or Brick and Mortar? Amazon in a heartbeat.

Barnes & Noble or Borders? To wherever I might feel drawn 🙂

Woodiwiss or Lindsay? Dunno.

First romance novel you ever remember reading? I don’t recall ever reading one.

Alphabetize by author Alphabetize by title or random? Topic, absolutely.

Keep, Throw Away or Sell? I used to never get rid of anything, but I’ve thankfully overcome that dis-ease. I keep only what I feel I’ll reference again, or if the book is in some other way significant to me…I often write notes of my experiences in the margins. I sell the rest on eBay or Amazon, or give to Goodwill.

Read with dust jacket or remove it? Why remove it?

Sookie Stackhouse or Anita Blake? Dunno.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? I always wanna read in bed, and invariably “stop” about a minute into it, zzzzzz…. lol 😉

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? Once upon a time! (me too)

Crusie or SEP? Dunno.

Buy or Borrow? I can’t remember the last time I checked out a book, grade school? But I do have a card and plan on going to the libray one day. We actually have a phenomenal libary here, relatively new, state-of-the-art… But I usually purchase, don’t like feeling the pressure of having to hurry up and read.

Buying choice: Book Reviews, Recommendation or Browse? I almost never read the author’s review, I go right to the people 🙂 I actually love Amazon, time and money-saver. I look for number and quality of “regular-people” reviews, number of stars, excerpts from the book and ultimately intuition 🙂 Amazon, yay! 😉

Tidy ending or Cliffhanger? Tidy, please! (me too)

Morning reading, Afternoon reading or Nighttime reading? Yeah, all, this is my dream…with the added joy of living in a beautiful, secluded wooded area, and then read, read, read!

Series or standalone? The first one is usually the jewel anyway.

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? Uh, hmmm. Prolly not un-heard of, but I think I’ll go with my fun one, “Hot Chocolate for the Mystical Lover” by Arielle Ford 🙂

Dove

you can fall asleep holding a cup of tea?? 😮 sounds like you’re really into self-help books. 😉

wow, thank you for the honour of being your favourite bookblog! 😀

dove, wow, what a list. I forgot how much the reviews on Amazon have helped me–you are right they are great. So, you fall asleep reading, too! What a nice way to go. Try the library, it’s awesome! Your hot chocolate book looks yummy… 🙂

nylusmilk,I’ve fallen asleep several times sitting in my favorite easy chair, thinking I’m going to read for an hour or so, and yes, I’ll wake up after, say, 10 minutes still holding my cup of tea! I have no idea why I haven’t dropped it, but I just stare amazedly at it, take a sip, and go on with my life!

As for self-help books, yeah, I tend to go for science and metaphysical books in the non-fiction category, and the books I mentioned here are ones that certainly have helped my Self! 😉

You are welcome. I like your reviews, and the fun book-related items you find.

Nice lists, Muse. I love the sound of The ‘Real’ Rules for Joyful Living; now there’s a book that definitely needs to be written! You really think all books have their purpose, though? I’d never dismiss another genre or audience, but I’m not sure why something like OJ Simpson’s “If I Did It” should have been written, let alone published. Interesting that you fall asleep reading. I do too sometimes, but that’s usually a sign that the book hasn’t gripped me… if it’s a good one I’ll still be up reading at 6am. 😉

I think SEP is a term from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; the Somebody Else’s Problem field, basically an invisibility field because people inside it are deemed to be “someone else’s problem” and not worth noticing. Douglas Adams at his ingenious best! 🙂 Not sure what Crusie means, though.

If you don’t mind I think I’ll steal the meme; it’ll be good for one of those days when I can’t think of much to blog about. So it’ll probably be up some time next week! 😀

Help yourself to the meme, cj–they’re free! Thanks for the heads-up about Hitchhiker. I did read some of the books, and saw the movie. 😀
I understand why you say such books as Mr. Simpson’s may be better off never published. I think, though, that whatever the author’s motives, I just can’t countenance censorship, and the best thing to do is vote with our wallets. I know that’s really a different question than wishing something had never been published, but–here I go with my metaphysical leanings: I think that if a book, or anything else is in my awareness, then it has a message for me. (Thanks, a lot, for putting THAT book back into my awareness, cj! 😉 ). I don’t take any of this TOO seriously, but I also don’t think things happen “out there” without my plugging in somehow.
As for my little teacup naps, I sometimes think I’m “processing” or “digesting” the info. while I’m drifting off…This is different than reading late at night, in which case, I’m like you, I’ll keep going for hours if the book captivates me. 🙂

I love this questionaire!

Contemporary, Historical, or Paranormal? All if they are wrapped up in a memoir or biography

Hardback or Trade Paperback or Mass Market Paperback? cheapest

Heyer or Austen? Austen

Amazon or Brick and Mortar? All including thrift stores, rare and used books and HalfPrice Books

Barnes & Noble or Borders? Closest to my urge

First romance novel you ever remember reading? Hahaha–Flowers In The Attic

Alphabetize by author Alphabetize by title or random? Topic….I’m totally A.D.D.

Keep, Throw Away or Sell? Keep and give away

Read with dust jacket or remove it? Remove

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? Stop when my eyes close. Altho I try to make it to chapter breaks and find I don’t remember what I just read anyway.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? Once upon a time there was a dark and stormy night.

Buy or Borrow? Both—library 1st unless I know I’ll underline and write in the margins. Novels-library.

Tidy ending or Cliffhanger? Tidy and profund.

Morning reading, Afternoon reading or Nighttime reading? Morning and afternoon. Especially saturday—all day if it’s good.

Series or standalone? Stand along. I’m easily bored.

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? mmmmmm. Have to think of this a bit and get back to you.

Some faves thru time? The Little Prince and To Kill a Mockingbird

I’m very glad you liked it, seeing! It does get one to think. You are obviously an intelligent, thoughtful person, as I see that we have many tastes in common. 😀 You know, I never read the Flowers in the Attic series. I picked up the first one and put it down several times. Hmmm, I’ll check it out on my next library visit.

[…] on February 9, 2008. Some weeks back, I participated in a book meme (questionnaire) and chose only non-fiction books. There are so many books I find important, that it […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...